We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Well rounded" and beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"Well rounded" and beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

We loved this hotel. It is on a beautiful hillside setting and every sutie/room has a view of the ocean. We were in a one bedroom jr suite, and it was a corner unit so we had an extra great view. Ask for a corner unit availability! The grounds are suprisingly well manicured and lush for a desert setting. Because it is spread out on a hillside they have a "fleet" of mini-open air busses that will take you to your room, the pool, lobby etc. We walked once, it was quite a treck up the hill!

Of the three restaurants, we ate at The Bistro, which is very reasonably priced and has a diverse menu with American and Mexican speciaties (we had French Onion Soup and Seafood Enchiladas)including burgers, pizzas and fresh fish. We also at Nao restaurant which also over looks the water and is more upscale but still reasonable. Lunch prices and food are good, but typical of an upscale resort, expensive- 12-14$ sandwiches and burgers. They also have two mini- markets which offer a wide selection of American branded groceries, beer, wine and liquor, also at reasonable prices (cheaper than mini- bar but not as cheap as grocery store or shopping in town)). Cab ride is short and $10 into downtown Cabo. We found the resort so relaxing and peaceful, we spent less time in town than we had planned. Definately suggest going to Medano Beach and taking a Water Taxi ride, for $10 per person they give you a great tour of The Arch, Lovers Beach etc.
The only thing that disappointed me was that they don't do a lot of "advertising" or announcing of their special theme nights or entertainment. They have lots of boith but we never heard much about them other than a small sign in lobby, so be sure to ask when you check in! Happy hour is at poll bars from 3-5 pm and in lobby bar at 6pm.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    759
    301
    183
    134
See reviews for
948
1,223
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

I just got back from the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort yesterday. Our trip was really nice. We rented a timeshare unit from its owner through a time share property that we have with ILX so for a one bedroom (2 double beds, 2 bathrooms, pull out full size sofa bed) we paid $1200. The sofa bed was more like a hard futon than a traditional mattress with springs. They were charging lots more for their hotel rooms but either way it's a nice hotel. It's a very very big property, it has a grandious feeling in the lobby. They have 4 restaurants including the one at the pool. The brunch was great and by far the only real deal at the place as far as eating goes ($16 per person for a buffet). The Bistro had good food, we didn't try dining at the fancier restaurant but it looked nice. We did get slightly hasseled with the timeshare salespeople. They have sales people at the hotel restaurants that approach you as you are eating to ask how your stay is and then after some small talk they try to sell you on the timeshare tour if you fit their qualifications (married, over 30, not a single male, single females are okay if you are over 30...). That was annoying but it was painless once we told them we weren't interested. The hotel is built into a mountain so to get to our room we had to take a 7 seater golf cart (or walk down a mountain). This was slightly annoying but it could be more difficult for families traveling with babies or elderly people. We were a family of 5 fit adults so it didn't bother us. The carts came fairly quickly so it wasn't so bad. They had a number of pools but we hung out at the main pool by the beach. You can't swim or walk along the shoreline at the beach since it's the Pacific Ocean and the riptides are very strong. It has soft sand though unlike the beaches on the Sea of Cortez. Our room was spacious, the beds were soft since they had pillowtops on them. The shower pressure was okay, not great, and the temperature of the water was fine. The only real complaint I had was the maid service wasn't up to par with the 5 star quality of the rest of the hotel. They don't change your sheets every day or at all during your stay unless you request it. They don't sweep or mop the floors in the main rooms unless you ask and that was annoying since it's a beach resort we were constantly bringing sand into the unit. But it's a newer resort and it has a fancy feel to it. We are used to staying at 5 star hotels like the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton and the lowest hotel we would stay at is a Courtyard Marriott just to give you an idea of our expectations. We really had no expectations for this hotel since we were staying as a time share customer but it was far far better and nicer than any timeshare I've ever stayed at and I would definitely consider staying there again even as a hotel guest. One word of advice, make any reservations for dinner or activities in advance of your stay through the conceirge via email so you don't have to wait in line for a long time during your stay to talk with the conceirge. There is internet access only at the deli so don't be disappointed when your laptop doesn't work in the room. It's around $9 for an hour I think. We rented a car so the location wasn't a problem for us. It's somewhat secluded 10-15 minutes drive from town but it will cost $60 to get to the airport and $10 to get to downtown Cabo per taxi (not per person). I thought it was nice to be outside the town since Cabo is kind of a hectic atmosphere, it's a fun place to party but I wouldn't want to stay in the middle of the town. The restaurants in town were excellent. We loved Nick San, Alexander's, Lorenzillos, Edith's and the Office on the Beach, all in Cabo. We also enjoyed The Restaurant at Las Ventanas and C. at the Palmilla Resort, both in the Corridor, for our more upscale fine dining experiences. The water at the hotel is filtered and none of us had a problem with that. Overall we had a great trip and fully enjoyed staying at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. If you are looking for a more peaceful exclusive hotel this isn't for you, try the Pueblo Bonito Pacifica or another hotel in the Tourist Corridor. I would recommend it to a traveler who wants a big bustling hotel with lots of people that still has a high level of class and sophistication.

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

We made reservations for a family vacation in October for 3 rooms. Upon our 12-26 arrival we were told we had three totally different locations. The hotel/timeshare complex is HUGE and the rooms were a 10 minute walk from each other. Golf carts (when you can catch one) transport people up and down the steep inclines. We were not at all happy…but that didn't stop the eager "time shellers" from making their pitch. The next day they moved our daughters to our building but for the entire 7 day stay our son was 10 minutes away. Coordinating family activities shouldn't have been as hard as it was. We found the pool food and service to be generally OK. The Bistro really was awful and the Nao had problems with food and service throughout our 7 night stay. We went to the Bistro our first night and decided to just keep ordering food until we found something edible. Here's a clue…Calzone. We couldn't believe they actually published a cookbook to duplicate the food they were serving! The business center is 6 computers up against the wall in a hot and stuffy drugstore. One website said PB had wireless. They don't. And they no longer have reception for ABC, NBC, or CBS so watching the Alamo Bowl was out. Maid service happened sometime during the day (usually). There was no evening "turn down" …..they did the "turn down" whenever it was they were in the room. The spread was never on the bed except when we arrived and the toilet paper was never put in the dispenser. They do a very nice job of folding towels though. Room décor is "upscale Motel 6." Several reminders are sent to remember to tip the maids...and we did. Management is not their fault.

We arranged a fishing trip through concierge….$850 for a 33' boat, bait, round trip transportation, 2 guides etc. The" round trip" transportation was one way, we had to buy more bait less than 2 hours out, the guides (who spoke NO English) spent most of their time on the bridge talking and there was ONE fishing chair. We had been told there would be two. The concierge said he would "check on it" but we never heard from him again. The lobby of the hotel is freshly minted "Mexican Baroque"…dark and foreboding. The smell in the space may have seemed festive to someone; we thought it smelled like a funeral home. The sunsets are magnificent and the spa is nice. Expensive but nice. If you encounter the snares and disappointments we did you really need to indulge in the $200 hot stone massage. Just remember they have already added the gratuity!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

The resort is incredible. The atmosphere is the best part. It is very quiet and beautiful. If you want to party, you might want to choose a different place or plan on going into town for that. The cab ride is $12 or you can take the free shuttle to the sister property Rose and walk about 15-20 minutes into town. The food and service was great at the hotel. They would take you around the property on golf carts since it is built on a mountain. They run day and night, however, the noise did not bother us at all. Sometimes you don't want to wait for cart and will walk. We definitely would stay there again. Word of advice, if you don't want to do the time share, just tell them no. We were asked 3 times but no hard sell and that was it. If you go in town, definitely stop at the marina. It is beautiful, plus there is a place called Senior Sweets which serves food and ice cream. It is out of this world. At the hotel, the Bistro had great food and was reasonably priced. We ate at all of the restaurants at the hotel. All were good. However, if we go back we will pass on the Mexican buffet at La Nao. Room service was really good. If you order at the main pool, know that it will take about 45 minutes. The food is good, but you are definitely on Mexico's time. The main pool is crowded, so go before 10 to get a good spot. We basically stayed at the other 2 pools. The Swan Pool was the least crowded. The beach is pretty, but you can't swim there because of dangerous tides. We did a snorkel cruise on Oceanus. It was okay, but not great. There were not that many fish and it was crowded. Do not get the Los Cabo guide book by Fodor. It really is not helpful at all. We loved our trip. It was so beautiful and peaceful. Our favorite part was just veggin at the hotel at the pool. We had a great time and would recommend it!!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, IN
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2005

We (spouse + 2 teenage girls) have just returned from a Christmas 2005 stay at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach in Cabo San Lucas. We were very impressed with the quality of the resort, the friendly service and the spectacular weather. This is a great but quite expensive get-away spot, probably not for lovers of nightlife or lots of beach activities etc. (It's quiet and secluded 15 minutes away from Cabo; the beach is very pretty but you're not allowed in the water because of dangerous currents). However, if you want to just get away, relax and be pampered, idle by the pool and enjoy the spa and facilities, it is perfect. We found the golfcart "commuting" through the hillside resort to be convenient and fun.

The restaurant food was generally OK (like most Mex/Caribbean resorts) but the 3 restaurants had nice ambiance. But Sunday brunch at La Nao was spectacular. Our presidential master suite (an upgrade from the requested 2 regular master suites) was spacious with a gorgeous view of the Pacific (with views of passing whales), it was clean and fresh (but expensive!). Service throughout was excellent from maids to maitre d's.

We liked the desert climate (no humidity!) with warm days and cool nights (we saw essentially no clouds in 7 days). Ladies loved the spa treatments! Pools were nice and poolside service was very good (but expensive!). Exercise facility is very well equipped (but $15 per day for non-owners). Internet accessible via 4 terminals in the small drugstore. No problem with timeshare hasslers, we just politely ignored 'em! You won't save money at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach but we didn't feel "short-changed" as in some other resorts. Recommended if you want to kick back and relax in the sun. We generally like to visit different vacation spots but this is one we would definitely return to. Fishing & whale-watching look like fun for next time!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2005

First, I just want to say that this was my wife and I first vacation together since we have been together (13 years) without our (2) kids.

Now about my fantastic stay at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort & Spa. From day one when we arrive until we left the service from the bell boy Aldolfo to Jorge who work for Avis rental cars and last but not lest Camlitta our maid server was excellent all around. I have never had such awesome treatment by an entire workforce/staff. All I can say is I'm grateful to everyone, from the owner to the person who allow us to be guest and the drivers of the golf carts.

There are great view of the Pacific ocean from almost every square inch of the resort and if you happen to be sitting out on your balcony while the sun is setting you will truly be amazed.

Finally, I must say that I'm sold that the owner(s), members, and staff really see the vision of running a swank Resort & Spa facility and really catering to the needs of the guest weather you are a member or not. I really don't think I can say enough about how great my stay was except I have over 200 photos that says I've had fabulous stay at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2005

One of the most beautiful resorts we have visited and we travel the world a lot ! However warning - the food and service in the hotel rstaurants is absolutely terrible...such a shame as the resort deserves a lot more than this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.