We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Slightly inaccessable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Slightly inaccessable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I say inaccessible because it is built on a steep hillside and you are driven around by golf cart, which in itself is not an issue(bring US $1.00 for tips). I am the type that would walk before I'd call and then feel like the walk might kill me. The staff were great. Check in was slow. We did not eat or drink on site. The cooking facilities in the rooms was ample. The rooms were well appointed, clean, and comfortable(except the fold out couch). The property is beautiful and the pools well kept. Wi-Fi available at the café only.

I found the Cabo area to be full of activities. We had a rental car which meant we could come and go as needed. We took our own snorkelling gear and found many drive up to the beach areas that were beautiful and full of colourful fish. Cabo the town itself is not much to look at. Zip lining and ATVing and a boat to the Arch made our trip complete.

If you like all the bells and whistles (spa, all inclusive, pools) Pueblo Bonito Sunset Resort and Spa fits the bill in a very luxurious and comfortable manner. Enjoy:)

Room Tip: I would stay away from the entrances as the pollution from the currently gas Golf Carts is awful. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,975
    866
    354
    215
    154
See reviews for
1,093
1,350
31
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach offers adequate facitilites for a very relaxing vacation. The entire staff is friendly, willing to assist in any way, and helps make your time on their premises so enjoyable. The whole resort is beautiful with the architecture, fountains, flowering bushes, green ground cover, and a variety of birds on the premises. There are several different pools that offer a variety of activties. One of the highlights is the pottery painting at the main pool which provides socialization with other guests and the opportunity to express your artist abilities.

Room Tip: The higher floors in the buildings higher on the hill offer awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We returned yesterday from a lovely stay at the Sunset. This was our second trip there. We went all-invclusive this time. It's a good price for the value. We ate all our meals at on the resort or one of the sister resorts. Of course the Bistro, as always, is wonderful. The theme nights were pretty good at the La Nao, and the pizza and bar menu at the main pool bar was outstanding. As always there is no friendlier, more helpful staff than at this resort. Pablo at the pool behind our building, 39, was fabulous. Lovely presidental suite in building 39. As I put in my original review of this property, just understand the logistics of getting around before you book. Sometimes getting from point A to point B makes you want to scream. On this trip as we were in building 39 we were perfectly suited to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go! The cart driver that picks you up to leave is great, he actually goes over a list of things you may have forgotten so you don't get to the airport and say oh no my passports still in the safe! Mine wasn't but it could happen.

Now what needs to be worked out. First, the theme nights require reservations. I understand that. The La Nao even on a nontheme night requires a reservation. I do not understand that. The worst part of that was we made all our reservation on the day we arrived 5/13 at the concieres desk and received a printout of said reservations; however, when we arrived for said reservation EACH night we were told that they did not have our reservations and that they should have been made directly with the resturante and that they could not seat us even though we clearly had made the reservation and even though they clearly had empty table.s That became particularly annoying the night the bistro was closed. I understand one reservation being messed up but not everyone.

The time share tour. Yes, at the end of your 90 minutes the saleman gets annoyed if you don't purchase even though you clearly told him upfront you were not and you were only there at the girl at the desk at check in harrassed you. You suffer through the annoyed salesman long enough to get your $100 resort credit. During the week when you charge things to your room you ask, will I be able to use my resort credit on this, you are always told yes and not one item qualifies for the credit. If it's an educational issue for the staff then the credit's allowable purchares should be clearly revealed before you waste 90 minutes of your vacation.

I don't mean to sound as if it was a bad trip, it wasn't it was great at an outstanding property and I can't wait to go again, hopefully during whale watching season next year.

Room Tip: From what I can see there aren't any bad ones. The lower rooms require you take less transporta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've been to Mexico every year since 1972, sometimes twice a year. Mexico has lost its charm and original beauty.

The Pueblo Bonito Sunset is a beautiful hotel. However, the prices are outrageous, and the staff isn't friendly. It's not only at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset, it's all of Cabo. What once was a beautiful place to visit has been replaced by tourism at it's worst.

Mexico used to provide a relaxing environment in the sun. Now it provides people/places/things at prices higher than at home. I didn't come home relaxed, but broke and exhausted. I felt taken advantage of the entire trip.

They are building more resorts in the Cabo area. This surely will make vacationing there worse. It's too bad that they've gone overboard with tourism and building. Cabo has lost the charm it once had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've just returned from our week at the Sunset - back to reality. We traveled with our son and his wife - we had two executives units. The moment you arrive at the resort you are treated as very special visitors. Our check-in person Ivon did everything she could to honor our request for a unit in buildings on the mid level. We ended up with units in building 16 and 20 - both units were fantastic. The units are very well maintained - very,very clean, beds are comfortable, kitchens have everything you need. The grounds are spectacular - the buildings, lighting, flowers, greenery, birds, the views - everything was beautiful. The service at the pool (17) was fantastic. We didn't plan on doing the inclusive meal plan but changed our mind and we are so happy that we did. The food at the LaNao, Bistro, pool side, and room service was excellent. I think that the treatment that we received from every server was what made our stay so memorable - we felt we were treated like it was important to them that we were happy with our meal -service - everything was perfect. We enjoyed the theme nights entertainment and were pleased that there were venders - we ended up buying jewerly, bowls, and paintings. It was nice to buy some gifts and not have to go into town. We vacation at Sunset every other year and every visit is fantastic - we love the facitlity, the staff and truly appreciate the treatment that we receive.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our room #1633 - you can hear the ocean at nite and the view was outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Vickie M,
Thank you very much for writing such a nice review, and also for taking the time to review us. We feel very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay at Sunset Beach.
Hope to welcome you anytime soon.

Best Regards,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are new owners at Sunset Beach, having purchased on resale. I've been reading the reviews consistently and agree with many of the sentiments.

Sunset Beach is a beautiful property with stunning views. We stayed in Building 16, and could hear the roar of the ocean. We'd open the sliding back doors every night and fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on shore. Fabulous!

The pools were great and we never had trouble finding a spot. We loved the adult pool and the sky pool. We really felt like the adult pool should have had a swim up bar though. Instead the kids pool had the swim up bar.

Our housekeeping staff were the friendliest people we encountered working at Sunset Beach. While no staff were rude, many of them did not seem happy to be at work. Occasionally we had a cart driver who seemed happy and having fun, but for the most part they were fairly quiet.

We did have one issue with ants, which is evidently common in Mexico. A friend of ours says no matter where she stays she puts all food in the refrigerator to prevent this from occuring. Next time we will do this. The hotel sent people to fumigate after two phone calls, but we still had ants.

We did not participate in the all inclusive and were glad we didn't. We had a couple dinners at the resort, but they were among our poorest quality meals, and were priced high based on the quality of the food. The food in town was much better. Not a bad meal in town the entire week. The drinks and other food options were pretty expensive, so I can see why the all inclusive option could be a cost savings if you visit the bar often and eat the majority of the meals on site. A vodka soda at any of the bars was $11.50 per cocktail. Happy hour was the best price with two for one drinks, but the happy hours were pretty limited.

With respect to the wifi connection, it really should have been free. We ended up paying for it, and it was quite slow. I travel quite a bit and this is the first time I can remember not having complimentary wifi. Maybe someday they will change their policy.

Overall everything at the resort seemed overpriced and we felt a little nickel and dimed. For example, they charged $5 per tennis racket if you wanted to borrow one while there. They also provided tennis balls that were very flat.

The food in the market on site was overpriced as well, but unfortunately we didn't realize how overpriced until we checked out. Most of the items in the store didn't have any prices on them. We paid $7 for a small coffee creamer.

If you decide against the meal plan, I would recommend visiting Wal-Mart or Mega for your grocery needs.

Overall we had a great time at this resort, but felt the prices needed some adjusting and wifi, and tennis racket use should have been complementary.

Room Tip: Aim for the middle of the resort so you can hear the roar of the ocean. The rooms up by the sky poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks over the 2012/2013 holidays. Upon arrival, we discovered that our bookings had been completely messed up, even though we had an email confirmation from the hotel and from one of the owners of a property, who had asked that we be taken care of as his guests. After much hassle, and with great apologies, they found us a single room, that my husband and I had to share with our two teenage children. They said that they did not have any double rooms available, but that that they would have a second single room for us beginning the next evening. We were told that this room would be $187 per night.

Upon leaving the hotel two weeks later, we discovered that we had been billed $498 per night for the second room. My husband of course went to clear up the confusion at the front desk, and dealt with a man named Zoar. This man became very threatening and nearly violent. He refused to get a manager for us and we ended up having to pay this bill, which was nearly $5,000 more than we had agreed upon.

We have spent several months now trying to get this situation corrected. We have made phone calls, and sent emails and letters on several occasions. We were told by a woman named Norma on one occasion that she had not read any of our emails, nor was she going to and that we were not going to get any refund, so we should stop trying. More recently we emailed the hotel managers, Mr. Coppel and Mr. Medina, and explained the situation in great detail. This was now a month ago. We have heard nothing.

This hotel has extorted nearly $5,000 from us, and have been nothing but rude, threatening and completely uncaring about it. Do not stay in this hotel under any circumstances, you could be the next victim. There are several beautiful hotels in Cabo. Stay in one that is not a criminal scam set up to steal and extort from their guests.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.