We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ahhhh....Pacific Ocean - Check
Nice Resort - Check
Tequilla - Check
More drinks - Check

That said, the resort is massive. While they have Golf Carts that transport you from point A to Point B. I have to say that became the one con (and ultimately the star deduction) for this place. The room we had was at the very top of the hill (building 24) so everyday we were greeted with a magnificent view of the ocean. While the water is WAY too choppy to actually swim in, it's still a great look.

The Bistro restaurant at the hotel had really good breakfast but I found lunch and dinner at La Nao to be pretty underwhelming. Then when you factor in the prices....let's just say if it weren't for the rooms being so damn nice, I would have deducted another star and called the police for this robbery. This became even more apparent when we went into town (10 minutes away) and found MUCH better deals without any sacrifice of food quality.

Overall, the room we stayed in was marvelous and the service at the hotel was pretty good which is why I would recommend this place.

Suggestion: Make a 7 reservation for Sunset at Mona Lisa Restaurant....BEAUTIFUL view of the Arcs and the sunset and a complete photo ops.

If you're looking for a good party, mos def go to Squid Roe...and drinks lots of water because if you don't you'll have a hangover the next day.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us.
Hope to welcome you to Sunset Beach anytime soon.

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    724
    286
    172
    126
See reviews for
899
1,144
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A few thoughts:

Positives:
Beautiful resort, 4-5 great pools, curious staff always willing to help
The rooms were great, spacious and very comfortable

Negatives:
Restaurants are not great to say the least, the food is pretty mediocre outside the pizza/burrito realm
It takes a long time to get a golf cart (and you really need it to get from place to place)
Pretty far from downtown Cabo and a cab is $12-15 each direction

Overall, very good experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view rooms, Villa 8 (where we stayed is close enough to all the restaurants and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wife & I are owners, bought in 2009 - Executive suite which has 2 bathrooms. Arrived April 8 after a week at PB Rose. Sunny but cool and windy. After staying at the top of the cliff, closest to the Sky Pool our first few years, last year we stayed in Building 11, closer to the beach, and we loved it. We stayed in Building 12, next door, room 1223 this year, and love this location as opposed to the hilltop. We walk everywhere so cart service is not an issue for us - the only time we got in a cart was when we arrived, and to leave with our luggage. This resort is much newer than Rose and Blanca, and is a completely different vibe - quieter, with generally an older crowd. We still love Medano beach so we catch the 10 AM shuttle every morning. Since Wife gets motion sickness, we are always at the front of the line so she can see out the windshield which helps keep her from barfing. This has the added advantage of getting to Rose's beach first to see if there are any decent spots left (at this time of year, there were). The shuttle now leaves from the new deli, and not from the main entrance. It can also get crowded and if you don't get your shuttle ticket early, you don't get a seat. The taxi union prevents (according to Sunset staff), the addition of another shuttle, and an earlier shuttle. So if you don't get your ticket, or want to get to the beach early, pay the taxi man. Last year we did three days of the all-inclusive (the minimum) and it was nice but expensive if you're not tanking down drinks, and we don't drink enough to make it worthwhile. The all-inclusive works at most restaurants of the BP resorts, but there is a premium for the high end ones like La Frida at SB. We cooked some pasta in the suite a couple nights, and ate in town a few times. We have always found the service and cleanliness to be outstanding at SB, Rose, and Blanca. If you are not an owner, you will be pressured for a time share presentation, but you can bargain for cash, golf, and other goodies. If you are headed to Cabo for the first time, (or the first time since they remodeled the airport) be aware that you will go through a gauntlet of extremely aggressive, lying time-share hustlers. Although we are experienced Cabo visitors, we got lied to about where to pick up our hotel transportation, and had to listen to a couple of time share appointment pitches. Arrange your transportation ahead of time, and just blow past the hucksters and get outside, no matter what they say. We use Cape Travel, which you can book and pay for on-line. Airport to PB Rose was $22 per person (reasonable, but up from $17 last year). It's the same price by shuttle back to the airport. All-in-all, PB Sunset Beach is a great resort with stunning views of the Pacific including whales and we look forward to our annual trip.

Room Tip: We love buildings 11 and 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We traded a two-bedroom week at Moritt’s Tortuga Club in Grand Cayman for a week at PSSB. It was quite the upgrade! We were given the two bedroom presidential suite with a Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. We had booked about 8 months in advance and had been in email contact to ensure we were given the type of room we requested.
I was very nervous about check-in, as I had read previous reviews about long lines, lost reservations and over-booking. My fears were quickly dispelled! There was absolutely no one in line (we arrived at about 4:20 PM). The woman checking us in was extremely polite and quickly informed us they were upgrading us to a suite with a hot tub on the deck for no extra charge! The whole process took about five minutes. She gave us a map and showed us where room 2351 was. She told us to get our “welcome gift” from the woman sitting by the door. The time share woman approached us and my Fiance let her know that we were only 24 (under the age limit to buy a timeshare). Even though he is 32 and I am 25 she immediately crossed our names off of her clip board and were not bothered for the duration of our trip.
Our room was absolutely beautiful and huge! Perfectly clean and with a gorgeous view of sunset beach. We liked being in walking distance to the sky pool. Sky Pool opens at 8 AM each day and we were there with towels when it opened. You must stay with your belongings or the sky pool manager will remove them! Sky pool was great because it was mostly adults. Very peaceful in the mornings and then it gets more loud and fun during the afternoon.
We spent one day at the Pacifica Pool and one at Rose’ using the free shuttle. We enjoyed both and loved that we could charge drinks/food to the room.
Angel at the main pool is such a wonderful server! He was so gracious and works so hard. I had no problems with the food at the pool or the bistro. We went to Walmart and purchased alcohol and food for all of our breakfasts/lunches. Then we took a cab to town each night for dinner. It was always $12 per way.
The maintenance and cleaning staff are wonderful. We were having issues with our safe and they arrived at our room in about ten minutes. After it was fixed we received a call from the concierge confirming that they had dealt with our issue. The cart drivers are wonderful but they definitely aren’t necessary if you like to exercise. We loved walking up the hill to burn off some of our food and alcohol.
Don’t waste your money on the internet, it doesn’t work in the rooms. Our friends could sort of get it at the sky pool.
This is the nicest resort I have ever stayed at and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Nikko Courtney,

We feel pleased after reading such a nice and friendly review, we are glad that you had the time to enjoy all of our facilities and that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

To sum it up in one word – excellence. We checked in on Saturday. Yes there was a line but they had plenty of people on the desk and the line moved quickly. We were given a room in bldg 24, almost at the top. We had hoped for something a little closer to the beach, with a more direct view. We asked the front desk if they had anything else available and the next morning we were moved to 311, right on the beach. The view was fantastic!

Room – very nice, well appointed. We did not use the kitchenette at all except for our morning coffee. The mattress was comfortable, the pillows slightly hard. My wife called housekeeping and within 15 minutes 2 softer pillows were delivered. As for the previous comments regarding bugs, I saw one bug no bigger than a nail head in our room during the week. Come to think of it, I saw very few bugs the entire week, inside and out.

Housekeeping – excellent. Our housekeeper was Blanca and she did a fantastic job. Every afternoon when we got back the room was spotless. Plenty of towels, washcloths, soap, etc…. They do a great job!

Restaurants – We ate in all three and La Freda is the best. Their margarita la Freda is the best drink I have ever had. Its expensive, but well worth it. Our server Yolanda was excellent as well as all the staff and the food was great. In addition, we went to 2 theme nights – Italian in La Nao and the retro barbeque nite which was great. The show was fun and the food was plentiful. Overall I thought the food was good and the service was always great.

We did the all inclusive. I’m not sure who made out better, but I like the convenience of not having to worry about the final bill at checkout. Everything is paid for up front. I did not find the drinks “watered down” and I did not see servers treat the AI guests any different from the other guests. I would like to point out that the AI does not include the tip, please remember to add the gratuity.

The staff is amazing. Everyone goes out of their way to provide great service and make you feel welcomed. I need to mention Victor and Rodolfo at the main pool. These guys are incredible and really go out of their way to make sure your taken care off.

This was our first trip to Cabo and we loved it. We will be back and will stay at PBSB again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

So, let me just preface this review with the fact that we DO own here. We have been visiting since 2006 and didn't buy until 2012. There are some service inconsistencies, however, as people that visit at least once per year, we kind of just work around them. For example, we have had a couple of issues with the rooms, but they always come and correct them right away. Also, the pool service at the 17 pool is ALWAYS is awful... so we just tend not to visit that pool. As far as the food, we were worried that it would suffer as a result of the all-inclusive option. As a rule, the food is still great, but the buffet at La Nao is not what it once was. This is still our home resort, we still love it, and we still love visiting Cabo. We always have a great time, so I have to recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Obiawhat,

We would like to thank for being such a loyal guest to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, we are very happy to hear that you had a really nice time during your stay with us, we appreciate your positive attitude and we apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you. We're already waiting to welcome you next year.

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverta, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I bought into PB last year and were very excited to return this year. We invited guests to join us. As we had remembered, the resort was beautiful and very well maintained. The grounds and pools just shine. The staff at the front desk very helpful and friendly. Our room was was spotless thanks to our housekeeper Laura. She couldn't do enough for us. Our main complaint is with the food and service at The Bistro. Most guys like a good breakfast and toast served with it. On three different occasions and including the last day toast was not served until the meal was over and had been asked for 2-3 times. The hash browns are served from an ice cream scoop type of spoon and are mushy. We always choose to sit on the balcony because of the beautiful view. Bad choice, never got a 2nd cup of coffee. After three bad breakfasts we choose to take the free shuttle to town and have breakfast, we had a two week stay. We also ate dinner in town 99% of the time because of the poor food and high prices at the resort. I am not sure if the management of The Bistro has changed or they are cutting corners, but not the excellent food and service we received last year.
We attended the owners lunch. Our salesperson was as nice as could be until he found out we were not going to buy additional points and then he couldn't get rid of us fast enough. Not good customer service in my eyes.

The most disappointing part of our trip is our close friends that joined us. They attended the timeshare presentation with a big thank you to Blanca who kept them fully informed as to what to expect. They got a very nice and professional salesperson. They did have some questions as they had discovered cockroaches and spiders in their room. Needless to say they fell in love with the resort and bought. Two weeks after we all returned home they discovered their credit card number had been compromised and used in Cabo. The only time the card was used was when we checked in, they rented a car with Avis, used the card for their down payment and then again for breakfast the last day. It appears to me there is a dishonest employee working at PB, this is very scary to me as an owner. My new timeshare owner friend will be contacting the resort to see if they can get to the bottom of this.
We have made our reservations for next year to return to PBSB and looking forward to better food and service at The Bistro and that no one compromises my credit card number.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.