We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except for La Freda Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent except for La Freda Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Currently we are staying at this resort in May. We have found the room to be excellent with a great view. The staff have been very friendly and willing to help in any way. The food quality has been excellent however we were very disappointed in La Freda. These are the things that this restaurant needs to learn to be a top notch 4 star location:

1)Wine lists must be updated daily or (like with myself) it seems like they are trying to bate and switch to a more expensive wine. Vintage years do not seem to matter to them.

2)Interrupting a conversation or asking a question of a guest when your mouth is full is not the professional attributes of a good waiter. Also removing finished plates from one party while the other party is still eating is rude. It make the slower eater feel rushed and cannot truly enjoy finishing the meal or enjoy the atmosphere.

3) I ordered the Pork Chops as Mexico is known for it's great pork dishes. It arrived as a huge double hunk of meat. I had asked for well done however due to the size, it came medium. There was no seasoning nor sauce. My children could have cooked this. The spinach pie was good however. My wife had the Tuna Entrée. She liked it however it arrived with literally no vegetables on the plate. Just a tiny piece of Tuna and soya sauce in a little bowl. This certainly confirmed that this is not a four star restaurant.

4) The slight extra cost of $20 each for La Freda was not worth it. Much better to go to Fillini Italian Restaurant in Pueblo Bonito Rose as food was very good however the same issues around service above seems to be everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,606
    691
    268
    164
    121
See reviews for
852
1113
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh/ Wilmington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the check in it began.. I asked for a King room, none were available. We had to stay in another room for 3 days. Staying those 3 days was a nightmare as the people in the next room drank heavily and shouted through the night. Security tried to help.
Finally day 3 came, room was great until the wind kicked up we reported this loud rattling on the roof, it was never fixed , lost much sleep.
Backing up a bit, when we turned from the counter after checking in, they tried to get us into the time share. The woman was rude then angry as we said were all set, tired from our long day of travel. She was unkind.
When we finally did the timeshare ( long before we saw the resort, had a dip in the pool, or done anything )they want us to buy! How would one know at that point ? They said 90 min, how about the truth 3 1/2 more like it, on your first day of holiday? This needs to be worked on seriously, we went through 3 different persons. The guy from Israel was quite rude, stating "you must have some kind of monies or you would t be staying here" not your concern sir perhaps it was a gift.
Two people I would love to recognize Suzie the activities gal at the main pool ! What a personality! She's in the perfect job! I looked forward to seeing her each day, and missed her when she went for training. The other person who went above and beyond was Pablo,At the main pool. He is amazing, cheerful servants heart! All genuine With a smile and cheerful . He moved chairs, brought "good drinks"and would do about anything to make us happy!! These two deserve a raise ! Top notch. There was another young waiter at the upper restaurant with the balconys he is actually leaving to go get further training in Canada! I would try to get him back! Excellent! Anna at the ck in desk for Le Pae? restaurant was very accommodating . Speaking of restaurants we tried the Manilla one night- server and food awful! We were there for two weeks and would not enter there again . What a shame to have such Inconsistent service. Pablo at the main pool wouldn't dream of putting fake banana flavoring in my drink, but at sky pool they didn't mind.
One more thing.. We were encouraged to do the all inclusive, this seemed to some a curse and getting even one drink could be difficult. Not sure we would ever do it again or for that matter ever return.
While the faculty was beautiful, well manicured and spacious, the service is more important. Many are the things we expected in a luxury resort, however very few things "Wowed"

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Thomas, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

we stayed there for two weeks in March. The weather was a little on the cool side but it was very sunny. The resort sits on the side of a mountain. They have a golf cart bus type system to get you around the resort. you never have to wait more than two minutes for them and they are very efficient at getting you up and down the mountain. We had a two bedroom suit with two bathrooms. Was very spacious and very comfortable for four people. There was loads of room for entertaining with the large galery overlooking the ocean. The service just like other Pueblo Bonito resorts, was impeccable. The beach was not swimmable and hard to walk the sand. We enjoyed the view of the ocean where we could watch the cruise ships go by and the whale watching tours and of course the spectacular Pacific sunset. There are several swimming pools to choose from and restaurants at each. Only if they try to sell you the all inclusive it is very pricey and we saved more money just buying some food at the store on the resort and mostly paying as we go at the restaurant. The only drawback is that it is far from town and the bus has to be arranged in advance it is full quite often cab fare is a little pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We love Cabo and Sunset Beach is the BEST!!! Sometimes the Line to check in is Long-Because a lot of people come here!!! You are on Vacation so grab a drink and RELAX !!!! The Front Desk tries very hard to meet your requests and the grounds and the views are awesome! The food and Wine at La Frida is world Class-Hector is the Best Sommelier in Cabo! There is always a Party at the Main pool and the sunsets at the Skypool is how they got their name. If you have a problem-Tell the front desk and they will try to fix It. We have come here twice a year for ten years and always have a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear BillandCarol2000,

We would like to thank for being such a loyal guest to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, we are very happy to hear that you had a really nice time during your stay with us, we appreciate your positive attitude and we're already waiting to welcome you next time!

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been trying for OVER A MONTH to send some champagne and roses to my parents who are celebrating their 30th wedding Anniversary at the Resort. I have been told that they are having trouble with their email. I get that can happen for a day or two, but for three weeks? I got passed from person to person: Gerardo then Ramon then Olga. At this point I am over the roses, but champagne should not be a big deal, right? Wrong. It took Olga four days to send me a list of options to choose from (of course she was able to get me the credit card form within hours). I sent her back my selections, and credit card information, and never heard back!!! I called the 1-800 number and they told me that they cannot transfer me to the concierge. Funny, because they did it just the other day.

If this is how they treat people before they arrive I can only imagine what it must be like to stay there. They call themselves a resort, I would call them a sloppy Motel 6.

Save yourself a headache and stay somewhere where they actually care about their guests!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Please check your personal messages for further information.

Best,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from trading our Hilton Grand Vacation Club one bedroom unit through RCI to an Executive Suite at the PBRSB. Took the timeshare presentation and received All-Inclusive for 4 days at $64 PP and a $200 spa credit. It was well worth it. This resort offers you the option of staying there during the day where it is peaceful, breathtaking views of the Pacific, or, jumping on the shuttle bus, which is quite nice and runs every hour on the hour, down to the sister resorts on Medano Beach for the city or party scene. The bus is free by the way. Our room was at the top of the mountainside in building 21. We were a quick walk up to the Sky Pool. The resort offers golf carts anywhere you wish to go on the resort, and, it is quite spread out. However, my wife and I are in great shape so we just walked everywhere we needed to go on the golf cart pathways. Keep in mind, this is not for the faint of heart as it is a lot of hard up and down walking. There isn't a flat spot in the whole resort, which is what makes it so beautiful. The food was good and the drinks Ice Cold! The service we received was very good. I have seen some reviews that knock the service. We had great wait staff at all meals, pool bars, etc. I give the resort 5 stars for its cleanliness, quality of people working there, and the story of the owners, the Coppel Family, who have made such a difference in the lives of the people of Mexico with their programs for employment and education.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms or views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Glen C,

We feel flattered after reading such a nice review, we really enjoy welcoming people with positive attitude like you. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable and fun stay at Sunset Beach, guests like you are what make us feel satisfied for the quality of the service we strive to provide each day.
Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved our week at PB at Sunset Beach. We stayed in the Presidential Suite with around 1700 square feet, 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms, a kitchen, living room, dining area, and three patios. The resort is gorgeous with lots of flowers in bloom. There are many pools and restaurants from which to choose. The servers at Pool 30 were outstanding with delicious food and yummy drinks. Omar and Fernandez were great. At La Nao restaurant, Benito was our Sunday Champagne Brunch server....great smile and friendly. At The Bistro, we enjoyed the service of Juan from Ixtapa. The most helpful and friendly front desk employee was Luis Jaime. We never had to wait for a cart, but found walking around the grounds to be good exercise. WiFi was available at Sunset Cafe or at the Manila Bar. Make sure to read the newsletter for important info. We purchased the All Inclusive and boy did we save a lot of money as food and drinks were expensive. We saw whales a couple times. This is a beautiful resort with friendly and hard-working staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear TravelbugJani,

We feel pleased after reading such a nice and friendly review, we are glad that you had the time to enjoy all of our facilities and that you had a wonderful stay with us, we'll make sure to pass your recognition to every staff member you mentioned above.
Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.