We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing despite a few bumps....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing despite a few bumps....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach is absolutely stunning. The scenery, grounds, attention to detail and friendly staff was amazing. Check in was painfully slow. The lady who checked us in did not inform us of the details of the "all inclusive plan." We did not get a newsletter informing us of the shuttle reservations or the activities at the resort. Although they state it is an all inclusive resort it does not cover room service ($5.00 service fee), La Frida, the coffee shop as well as the deli. The food was at the resort was good but the service was slow. We often had to wait to be served or get our order taken. We were disappointed because La Frida was sold out the entire week and nobody informed us in the beginning to make reservations for any restaurants. The spa service was great and relaxing! The lady at the "welcome desk" slightly harassed us to participate in the time share presentation but we kindly declined....which appeared to agitate her. We were confronted three different times from various employees to attend the presentation...which was kind of annoying. The location is about a 10-20 minute ride room the resort- if you are looking to relax or have a romantic getaway the location is perfect. If you are looking for a party scene not so perfect. Overall, I would give this resort a 4 out of 5 and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sorayacleary,

We really appreciate your kind remarks and the time you took to review us, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you but we assure you that we'll discuss this issues for future matters.

Looking forward to welcome you to Sunset Beach anytime!

Best Regards,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    928
    372
    223
    158
See reviews for
1,246
1,455
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

UPs:
- Property is vast and spacious, 15 min taxi ride from the city center. Beautiful architecture with nice interior deocos. Other reviewers describe it in detail..enough said by me. Sitting in the balcony and watching Whales is truly magical
- Friendly staff and accommodating even when handling dinner rush hour
- Excellent food in couple of Restaurants - Bistro & La Frieda, Strong drinks and numerous tippling options
- Nice Gym with excellent personal trainer ( Shout out to Alex) offering bootcamp, yoga & conditioning class. Must need in an all inclusive food & drinks resort
- Lot of swimming pool to choose from with decent food & drinks service
- Access to other sister properties in the city is a great option -especially the Cilantro restaurant in Blanco resort & Fellini restaurant in Rose'

Downs
- Avoid the buffets: La Nao was a hit or miss. The breakfast buffet was unimaginative and repetitive everyday. Theme night food was usually cold and mass produced
- Being accosted by timeshare sales people everyday during your 7 day stay is annoying
- Need more restaurant options like a 24hr coffee shop or sandwich place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's hotel and resort is amazing!!! It is gorgeous! We stayed in a two bedroom with balcony, kitchen and sofa bed that is a real bed that pushes into the wall. The food is great. Close to downtown. The scenery is amazing. The only negative is you can't swim in the ocean at this resort but they shuttle you to their other hotels, pueblo Bonita Rosa and u can swim there. There are several pools. It is a large place , you can either walk or they will pick you up in a golf cart. They also have tennis courts. Another great thing is that there is a Costco within a 30 min drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nancy,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review, and also for taking the time to review us. We feel very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay at Sunset Beach.

Hope to welcome you anytime soon.

Best Regards,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Pueblo Bonito. Beautiful property in an amazing location. We went down over for a 4 day trip and got the all inclusive deal. After making it through the gauntlet of timeshare shucksters at the airport, Cape Travel shuttled us to the resort. Then came the first road bump to a perfect start to vacation... Sunset Beach has about the worst check in process I've ever seen at a hotel. When you are waiting to start your vacation, you don't want to be standing in line. We probably waited 45 minutes to get checked in and there were probably only 4-5 people in front of us. It was ridiculous. We also were informed by the check-in person that "All Inclusive" is not completely all-inclusive. (Extra charges for coffee shop, La Frida restaurant, etc.) Then we were carted off to our room to find that our room with a king bed was actually two full size beds. We tried to call the front desk from our room and nobody picked up four different times. We eventually got through and were told that there were no rooms, but perhaps tomorrow. (That evening we went to the front desk and Luis, who was amazing, actually was able to move us three doors down. Voila! Problem fixed.)

So after a slow start... we finally were able to enjoy. A couple of quick recommendations:
- read the paperwork at the hotel (newsletter) so you know about all the restaurants, activities, the different pools, other details. We didn't and it took us two days to figure it out when we could have read it in 10 minutes.
- Each pool has its own vibe - one by beach seemed full of kids, sky pool had a lot of the partiers, etc.
- We stayed at 30 which was great because we were not reliant on the carts to get around. Easy to walk up to main building, but also get down to beach. And we had a pool right behind our building. (Omar and Federico ran the bar at the pool and they were good fun. Get the Fish Tacos... amazing!!)

We took the shuttle over to Rose one day. That was very smooth. (Make sure to get tickets in advance.) It was nice to be on the beach for a day. Hard to get seats, so get there early. We wouldn't go there for the pool scene. It was better at Sunset. We also ate at Fellini's. Pretty setting, but it was not amazing food. (Perhaps Italian in Mexico isn't the smartest thing!) Also note that the all inclusive at Rose has a different set of alcohol included. Not the comprehensive offering that you get at Sunset Beach.

Our final night, we ate at La Frida. Definitely the best food we had on our trip. It really was a great dining experience and worth the additional cost to the all inclusive.

As the resort is a ways out of town, the all inclusive worked well for us. But we were only there for 4 days as well. Not sure how many more times we would have wanted to eat at the bistro/la nao. Something to consider depending on your length of stay (and how many cocktails you imbibe...)

Final note... we found the concierge to be the most helpful (vs going to the front desk). Whether it was making reservations, helping with shuttle tickets, changing tickets, etc. They got it done and quickly.

It was an enjoyable stay and all of the staff was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Ask where it is on the property. The further it is from the center, the more reliant you will be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Paid for all inclusive for food and drinks. Great deal for my three sons, wife and I. Service was great.
My wife and I, and Jim and Adrian enjoyed dinner at the Bistro restaurant located in the lobby building on lower floor. Previous service here has been very slow but we had a great waiter who knew how to take care of us. Fantastic food and the coconut cake is the best desert. Really, it was the best service we have had in the Bistro in 8 yrs coming here! A great evening.

The pool food was fresh and tasty with the best fish tacos I have ever had anywhere! They use sea bass either, fried or char broiled, with a chipotle sauce and cabbage and onions. Yum!
As with any vacation you will get great service with tipping the servers. Even though it is an all- inclusive they get 0.01%, that's right, one percent of the all-inclusive fee for tips, which is not much. So, to the wise, tip them and they will provide you with prompt service.

BEEFS or, THE bottlenecks at Sunset Beach are at checkin. I do not believe they have any idea how to expedite people at check in or, at checkout. They need to improve this area of their operation.
Also the entire sunset beach development is built on the side of a steep hill so they move people around in golf carts. Unless you are a mountain goat you will be happy the carts are there. I have seen it take longer and longer to get a cart with management cutting back on staff, especially the total number of carts available. I waited 45" for a cart and finally walked back to my villa. I was very unhappy about that.
I do not see any of the original staff that was there for the first 5-6 yrs, so they have moved on to greener pastures. This correlates with Sunset Beach offering an option for all-inclusive food and drink.
However, all the staff was very polite, attentive, and even when they seem to drop the ball on minor repairs in our villa, like what happened to the jacuzzi pool cover top? They are always polite and attempt to reassure the guests it will be taken care of right away.
A beautiful place to stay, landscaping is fantastic, Pacific Ocean views are spectacular and whale watching can be done from any of the villa building patios or, at one of the five pools.

It is great to leave northern Virginia and the winter weather and come to warm Mexico! That is why we keep returning every year.

Room Tip: Bring suntan lotion and sunblock and sunglasses because these items are expensive in Mexico. Cabo i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear John,

We feel so pleased after reading your nice review, we would like to thank you for your preference on choosing Pueblo Bonito for so many years, guests like you are what make us feel satisfied for the quality of the service we strive to provide each day. We apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you, and we're looking forward to meet with you and your family anytime soon!

Sincerely,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is my first review ever but had to share our wonderful experience! We recently spent 2 glorious weeks in an executive suite located right on the beach close to the main pool. Whale watching from our patio was a daily occurence. The staff were extremely courteous & made every effort to accommodate our requests ie. replaced toaster, relocated our room, provided additional patio furniture, exchange compact refrigerator with larger model (lots of groceries as we ate most meals in) with a speedy response. We used the cart service on several occasions & found it very convenient. The drivers promptly appeared (within minutes it seemed) to transport us & our gear up the fairly steep incline. Most trips down however were made with ease as steps are provided & the exercise was welcomed. Since we opted not to take the all-inclusive offer (rate seemed quite expensive) we were very fortunate to have a rental car for our treks to Walmart & Costco for groceries & beverages. We chose not to succumb to requests for the timeshare breakfast/presentation regardless of the offers of free activities or dollar incentives. Once we said no, we were not harrassed in any way.
We have two negative comments. The first one relates to guests regarding the "chair saving" at the pools. With our room being located very near the main pool we watched guests arrive as early as 7:00am to mark their territory by placing towels on the chairs, then leaving again knowing their space is reserved. We realize we were there during the very busy "March break" season & we could expect overcrowding but the saving of seating was especially inconsiderate. Perhaps the hotel policy of chair saving could be more closely monitored. The other would be the spotty & almost non-existent free internet service. I know we're supposed to be on vacation but in this day & age and considering the number of people clustered around the "free zone" the internet is an integral part of life and something that management should consider improving.
Overall, we found this resort to be spectacularly well kept, view is spectacular, staff is amazing & our visit went by too quickly!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ruth,

We would like to thank you for having such a positive attitude, we feel very happy after reading your nice review. It is great to hear you had a great and enjoyable time during your stay with us. Guests like you are what make us feel satisfied for the quality of the service we strive to provide each day.

Looking forward to meet with you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just spent a week here from March 18 with our family of 5, three kids aged 10 to 17. This resort is absolutely stunning and cannot say enough about the beauty of everything here including the gardens, pools, views, bars ans restaurants. The rooms are stunning and the ocean views even more so. We had an exutive one bdrm suite and was huge and the deck was very large with table and loungers to enjoy the amazing view. The staff were all very friendly and try their best to satisfy everbody. As it was spring break, chairs were at a premium and if you were down at main pool or skypool after 8am you were SOL! We did not do the all inc is it is very expensive for a family unless you eat and drink all day. We had a car and drove to Walmart (10 min) and stocked up on all the neccesities as well as driving into town everynight for dinner (5 min). You cannot walk into town as its a bit much but a very simple car drive. The pool side drinks are not cheap so wait for happy hour 4-5. This resort really is breathtaking and we have stayed at some nice resorts but keep in mind that this is Mexico not Disneyland so dont expect everything to be perfect and upto 5 star US standards. Now the cons. As this resort is built into a side of a mountain, you are relying on the carts to get you around and this can be wearing on you after a few long waits but for then most part fairly effective. The beach is stunning but you are not allowed near the water due to the big waves and undertow. The least they can do is provide lounge chairs and umbrellas which would alleviate the serious lounge chair or lack of problem on the pool decks! The free wifi was spotty at best so dont expect any. We did the time share pitch this time, first time ever for $400 and we highly recomend NOT to unless you like being humiliated, embarrased and pressured. It is not 90 minutes and this individual (Raffael) was a #%!%. Overall, this resort is close to perfect and stunningly beautiful. If you come with a positive Mexican attitude and some patience, you will have a great time here.

Room Tip: Building 12 was walking distance to main pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonit...
#10 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#18 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.