We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from a weeklong stay in a two bedroom. We were 5 people total including 2 seniors and an 11 year old. The facility is stunning, the landscaping is is beautiful with flower gardens everywhere and numerous pools and locations with beautiful exotic birds. We enjoyed watching whales from the deck. The unit itself was beautiful and we loved our location close to the beach. We rented a car the first day and went to Costco to stock our room with breakfast food and beverage. While we left quite a lot behind it was worth it just to be able to get a beer/ coke/ water whenever. The food on site was okay, not great. We ended up at La Nei where we can recommend the lamb, and shrimp. It would be great if the added a spaghetti to the menu or a Burger for finicky American kids. This discouraged us from the all inclusive which in my opinion is only worth it if you drink and stay on property all the time. My opinion might be different if we had gone in March April and were at the pools more, in February its refreshing for a quick dip but the breezes in the high 70s are cool enough that you don't camp out all day. The shuttle and beach at to the Rosa was really fun, beautiful beach with view of Lands end. Bar service and a beach concierge to line up jet skis and parasailing. There is a rope that separate the Rosas chairs from the numerous beach vendors. We had a great visit and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We loved being in bottom row close to beach, not swim able but beautiful, immense, no vendors, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,341
    967
    381
    225
    164
See reviews for
1,365
1,518
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My parents own a timeshare here so I stay frequently. It is beautiful for such a large resort. Looking up the hill at all of the buildings, I often wonder what percentage of the building is occupied at any one time, because it never seems overly crowded at the pools.

If you tell the staffs what you would like to make your stay better, they will do everything they can to accommodate you. I don't have children and enjoy quiet, and they seem to put me in a spot without a lot of families and noise. I *love* that there is an adults-only pool. To this end, it's also incredibly easy to get to sister-resort Pueblo Bonito Pacifica, which is entirely adults-only. Hop on a free shuttle and you're there in 10 minutes.

The buffets/restaurants are generally quite good, but I don't recommend getting an all-inclusive deal because there are *so* many excellent restaurants downtown (cab ride $10) that are cheaper and more carefully prepared. I generally only eat one or two meals at the resort in a week (however, the guacamole and fish tacos poolside are to die for so don't miss those.)

It's also worth it to go to a grocery store in town. As others have mentioned, the shop on site is hugely overpriced for the convenience.

One year we rented a car and found it was a bit of a headache. There is not a lot of parking at the resort, unless you use the valet, which is another charge. When the small lots are filled, they're filled, and if you come back at night, you may be forced to pay for the valet fee. I don't recommend having a car unless you're going to explore Baja more.

The rooms are huge. We have a suite with two bedrooms on either side of the living room / kitchen area and it's bigger than my city apartment. The bathrooms are luxurious and by all means get a balcony with a hot tub. Night time in a hot tub overlooking the impossibly long vista of the ocean is about as relaxing as it gets.

The spa is LOVELY. I've gotten facials and massages and they're always excellent.

I'm always impressed with the gorgeous old-Spanish lobby, the landscaping (and flamingo friends) and the general upkeep of this place over the past ten years. Next year my husband and I will be staying with another couple and I couldn't be more excited to share this spot with friends.

PS I'm a big believer in tips to everyone. Wages in Cabo are awful, and the staff here is so excellent, I just can't imagine not giving them something extra. Outside of the tourist areas, Cabo is very poor. We are lucky to be so privileged to have vacations, and I think it's important to be aware of that. People don't forget when you tip and you tend to get even better service, so do the right thing!

Room Tip: If your party is all adults, just tell them you want a quiet spot away from families/kids. And defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Holden P,

We are so happy to hear you a nice stay at PB Sunset Beach, we would like to thank you for such a detailed and helpful review for our future guests.

One of our main goals is to make our guests feel like home and we're very glad to we did.

Hope to see you anytime soon.

Best,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I just complete my 2nd trip to this resort and found everything to be consistent with the 1st trip over a year ago. The grounds are immaculate, the pools are beautiful, the suites are impeccable (Margarita was a great housekeeper), the golf cart and shuttle drivers (love Edgar!) are prompt and courteous, and the wait staff attentive without hovering. An exceptional waiter is Omar from the Bldg 25 pool. I specifically went to that pool again (although I stayed in Bldg 19) to see if he was still there because he left such an impression on my group during my last visit. He is the best! We are so happy with this place that we bought into the premium points program this time around. Love it!

Room Tip: Pull out beds are expectedly not nearly as comfortable the beds. Consider this when selecting a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our room was filled with mosquitos! It was noisy due to it being on the first floor and right outside was were the noisy exhaust polluting golf carts picked up and dropped off passengers all day and night! Construction was going on right outside our door starting at 6am!It took the resort 3 days to get us a decent room. Not at all happy with the timeshare staff constantly and up until the end of our stay bugging us in the restaurants and pools when we were trying to relax. We did attend what felt like a 3 hour timeshare tour and were promised 300.00 worth of hotel credits, whale watching tour and tour to lovers beach but ended up with nothing due to a clause that was not disclosed to us until the end when they realized that we were not buying into their scam. This represented fraud and resulted in spoiling our vacation. I would never recommend this or any of the other Pueblo Bonito resorts to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground level rooms. no rooms are truly convenient as the resort is so spread out that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Priscilla,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our resort, and we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you during your stay at PB Sunset Beach. Unfortunately the mosquito problem was something that affected all The Los Cabos area but in conjunction with local authorities we all have solved that problem. Our golf cart transportation system is essential to the service of our customers, we will consider this matter to minimize traffic trough these areas. In terms of the construction noise we are making some updates in the resort but to avoid bothering other guests the hotel policy is that if any construction takes place will start at 10:00 am in the morning and keep the noise to the minimum, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience. I will be sure to reinforce this with our construction team.

PB Sunset Beach strives really hard to provide the best quality to its customers and to maintain the excellence that our hotel has been recognized trough out the years. We appreciate your sincere feedback that will help us to our goal of continued improvement.

Sincerely,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I could not have asked for more. The service at this resort was impeccable. What ever you wanted they would provide. I was even surprised that the food was good at EVERY restaurant. We were very pleased with "The Bistro." If you go definitely ask for Ramon; we had him the first day and he made you feel like you were his only guest. It was also nice to wake up with a view of the ocean.

One thing I will say is that if you are staying for longer than a weekend (a week or longer), you only need the all inclusive package for about 3-4 days. There are many good restaurants in town. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your preference on choosing PB Sunset Beach for your honeymoon, we appreciate your friendly comments, and we'll be more than pleased to have you and your wife back anytime soon. Congratulations to the newlyweds.

Best,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ignacio and Daniel were super! We had a private dinner on the beach the last night we were there which was amazing! Daniel and Ignacio couldn't have been better waiters!! They were fantastic! As the other reviewers have said it was a beautiful and very clean place! We had a hot tub on our deck and while we were there we know they cleaned it at least twice! Eunice was a great maid, also!! Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

...I'll get to the problems later. First, the room was really nice and good sized, with a great view of the ocean. We were pretty charmed by the mode of transportation around the property on modified golf carts. When we called for one, the driver generally arrived in a couple of minutes. We ate at the Bistro and the pool several times, and the food was good and reasonable. We spent a good amount of time at the lower pool, and other than during the water aerobics class, it was a pretty relaxing spot.

The downsides: kenpricebs is correct about the lack of pricing in the two convenience stores and the high prices. A box of cereal was $10.00, yes $10.00. And wifi was very expensive in the room, I believe something like $13.95 per day. We just took our I-pads down to the Manila Bar where wifi was free. No one hassled us about just sitting the the bar and using the I-pads.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction and also your concerns about PB Sunset Beach, it is great to hear you enjoyed your room with its beautiful ocean view, and that you had a relaxing time by the pool. However we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you, we will send your feedback to our management department so we can consider those matters in the future. Our customers interests and comfort are what most matters to us.

Thank you again, and hope to see you again anytime soon.

Best,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, Hotel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#18 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.