We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just came back from my first trip to Cabo and I must say that this was great. I was a bit worried after reading some bad reviews of this place , but after staying here I realized some people will never be happy. For us all was good.
We arrived via the shuttle and had a smooth quick check in. Once we took the golf cart service to our room we stood out on our large balcony and maybe 50 yards off shore we saw a huge whale surface and blow out water from his blow hole , a welcome sign if ever there was one.
Having worries about whether we would get our monies worth with the all inclusive package was soon put to rest when we had our first meal and cocktails at The Bistro restaurant, by the way ask for Felix as your waiter. Cervische (sp) margueritas made with don julio tequila , nachos and fish tacos made for a great lunch. Dinner at La Frida is not to be missed, yes it cost $20 more per person but when you realize that you are having a meal that cost 100 per person you see that the all inclusive pays for itself real quickly and then some. The only drawback is I tended to overeat and drink, I'll be in the gym this afternoon working off what were great meals.
There was never a problem with over crowding at the pools. The longest wait for a golf cart was maybe 10 minutes. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay.One of our friends wanted to have the lamb chops for dinner at La Frida. When told they were out , he expressed his disappointment to the manager. A few minutes later he cam out and said he will get some for him but to relax and enjoy another drink while he did so. He had a staff member drive to the sister resort Pacifica to get some more lamb chops for us. They treated us like royalty. Where ever else would something like that happen ? While this may have been my first visit to Cabo it will not be my last. I also would never leave the resort, no reason too. The goal of this trip was to relax and that is just what I did, reading 1 1/2 books in three days. Ready to go back to work , relaxed and looking forward to my next trip here.

Room Tip: we were as close to the beach as possible on a second floor unit ,hearing the sounds of the waves at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Customer,

We feel flattered to hear we exceeded your expectations, we would like to thank you for your excellent review and let you know that we already extended your appreciation to our members of La Frida Restaurant. Please see your personal message box to give you more details to contact us on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,599
    683
    267
    163
    118
See reviews for
843
1111
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a great stay at Pueblo Bonito during Christmas of 2012. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the accommodations we very comfortable. Every time we asked for something (pillows, towels, etc.) someone called our room later to verify that we had received the requested item. The pools were clean and beautiful and we had a great time watching whales from our oceanview balcony. The free shuttle was very convenient though the scheduling was sometimes frustrating. I think a lot of people reserve a spot on the shuttle just in case they might want to use it. As a result, we were often told that the shuttle was booked even though there were multiple empty seats. We were often able to wait in line and ride "stand by." I'm not sure of a better way to schedule shuttles, but be aware that a full shuttle doesn't necessarily mean you won't be able to get a seat. My only complaint for the whole week-long stay was that the check in process seemed to take forever on the first day. Overall, not much to complain about.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here after some very cold skiing in Colorado. The Resort is well maintained and run. Staff excellent - friendly and efficient. The "all inclusive" package worked well for us - fun cocktails ! Breakfast at La Nao is a very good buffet. Superb omelettes. Had no problem with golf cart service and walking isn't a difficult option.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at PBSB the week before Christmas with some friends, and had an amazing time! We did the all inclusive for the first time, and really put it to the test. Judging on what we have spent on food and drinks previously, it was a tremendous savings for us and our guests. Tis was our fourth visit to the resort, and it was just as awesome as the first visit. The staff is truly amazing, from check in to check out. Zoar checked us in quickly, an managed to situate us close to the couple we were traveling with. Moises our driver was awesome as was Moises our waiter at La Nau. Melissa gave me the best massage I have ever received, definately ask for her. Jorge our waiter in the Bistro remembered us day after day, and really made our dining experience special. Fiedel, the waiter by the pool was strong just like his drinks he was serving! We also liked Ricardo at Le Bistro. We ate at La Frieda for the first time, and it was one of the best meals ever, fine dining for sure. One of the biggest surprises was eating at Fellinis, during our meal we made our reservation for 2 days later, that's how amazing the food is! We didn't expect to travel to Mexico to have the best Italian food ever!
The only CON of the trip was we stayed in building 17 which is our favorite building, however the pool is considered the "quiet pool". But there were families with screeching children there almost everyday. This made it impossible to relax and read a book. They should post something to let parents know that there are other areas to take their children.
Other than that, we had a fabulous stay once again, and will be back the same week next year!

Room Tip: We love building 17, has its own quiet pool, and is close enough to walk to the main building if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at this lovely resort. The views are spectaular, the grounds are perfectly maintained and the help is friendly and courteous. I used my RCI points to book two consecutive weeks and was visappointed that, having paid for platinum status, was not upgraded to a bigger suite. Most of the other ones near me had hot tub spas on their decks, but we didn't. Despite that, the unit was lovely and beautifully decorated and more than adequate for our need. Ou maid, Alena was FANTASTIC and we gave her a nice tip every day in appreciation for her making the place sparkle. Out building Number 19 was the highest on there and since the complex is built on the face of a cliff, you had to ride motorized big golf carts to go anywhere and I would advise any women who stay there to bring a scarf if you don't want your hair to get blown away. They have roll down sides to the carts , but the were up most of the time. That factor (riding the carts) along with the fact that the internet service was very expensive and slow in the units and you had to go to one of two restaurants to be able to get free access there...were the only negatives as far as I was concerned. It was a wonderful place to stay and we enjoyed seeing numerous whales and beautiful sunsets out over the ocean. We passed on the all inclusive deal , even after if was discounted , due to the comments of other travelers and the desire to try local places in town. They offer an hourly shuttle bus to their sister resort in town...the Pueblo Bonita Rose and while you can get to the marina area in about a 10 minute walk, I preferred to have a rental car to come and go as I pleased and to go to the various restaurants in town.l

Room Tip: All the buildings have elevators so the floor doesn't matter and all the views are good, but bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been an owner for at least 10 years and look forward to Sunset's quiet (but with the Pacific's waves), relaxing (all rooms have an ocean view--whale, dolphin or ray watching), and outstanding well kept grounds, pools and huge suites.

We get up before the magnificent sunrise over Pedregal with our coffee or breakfast and watch the sea life leaping from the Pacific Ocean right beyond our balcony. Later, we take a cab to town for a delicious lunch at Maro's Shrimp House and do a bit of shopping. When we get back, we swim at one of the seven to nine or more pools and enjoy happy hour. Then it is time to have another whale watch and have a small dinner.

We have many family and friends who come each year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view and are outstanding. If you have children go to the rooms near a child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Cabo for several years and have a timeshare at a local resort in town. We bank our points with RCI and every year try a new hotel. Sunset Beach has always been on our list to try and we finally did this past week. I will say this it is an absolutely beautiful place!! All of the staff is super great and friendly. Our favorite staff member is Abraham he is at the lobby door and greets all the guests with a great smile and friendly service. Our rental car battery died and Abraham had it jumped and started in a few hours for us we just handed him the key and trusted it would get done. Roberto at the main pool was great too!! Friendly and ready to serve you when you needed him.

I will say even though we had a nice time here there are a few tips I will tell you to watch for and to think about before booking this hotel.

#1 Its far from town and unless you want to pay at least a 15 dollar cab ride everytime you want to go into town this place is far.
#2 the food is pricey and I am not sure if the all inclusive is worth it!
#3 The property is huge and on a hill so you have to take golf carts everywhere you go or walk
my husband and I had to wait for the golf carts sometimes they would come within 5 minutes other times it would take a lot longer
#4 Don't go to Cabo in January its cold it never got higher then 75 degrees and at night it went down into the 40's!!

Our favorite place to stay in Cabo is Playa Grande which is also an RCI hotel. Its also beautiful and right across the street from town. The rooms are gorgous and you can walk everywhere!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 23 which is right by the sky pool and sunrise cafe for coffee and sweets. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Cabo La Estancia
Cabo La Estancia
#6 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Capella Pedregal
Capella Pedregal
#1 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#16 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#9 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,719 reviews
Resort hotel, B...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.