We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at this property once before and liked it and Cabo enough that we decided to purchase a timeshare here. Maybe a rash decision, but after revisiting Sunset Beach, our impression was reinforced. The rooms are great, all of them have an ocean view, and sunset beach is not a misnomer. Almost every afternoon there are whales that can be seen from your room, and the sunset every evening is gorgeous. The service at the hotel is wonderful and attentive and very pleasant. Even the complaints that have been noted here on trip advisor regarding the speed or lack of it of the carts that bring you from one building to another did not seem to be as bad as mentioned. Sometimes it did take a while, but generally pretty quick to arrive. Just call in advance.
Since every room has a partial kitchen (refrigerator,microwave and burners, no oven or dishwasher) you can bring in all sorts of groceries, or buy them in the deli at a not too ridiculous price, and they help you bring them to your room if you wish. Makes life easier and a lot less expensive. The food at the restaurants is very good. The buffet at LaNao near the beachside pool area was poor in terms of the quality of the food, but the bar food at the Manila bar at the same pool, and the Skytop pool bar was superior (loved the fish tacos). The Bistro in the main building and LaFrida restaurant were both excellent, and the La Frida was worth the "gourmet" designation it has been described with. A new coffee shop near the entrance to the property (where the shuttle buses into town stop) serves espresso, latte's, coffee and a good selection of pastries. very nice, and free wi-fi as well.
My only other complaint was the check in process. There is is no "early check-in." If you get there before 4pm, you have to wait to check in. Not just to get your room, but to actually physically check in. That means that at 4pm you have to show up at the desk and battle the long lines, and on a busy day, especially near the holidays when the hotel is full, the lines get ridiculous, and then you can wait another hour or more to get your bags and wait for a cart to take them up to your room. If you are in a rush, forget it. For a hotel of this quality to have overlooked this significant issue is almost unforgivable. However, after you get to your room, and get into your bathing suit, and have a drink on your private patio overlooking the ocean, or if you are lucky enough to have gotten or upgraded to a room with a hot tub, sit in it and enjoy the view and the hassles just melt away. We even upgraded our timeshare membership.

Cabo itself is great. It has grown tremendously since we were there last, but it still retains its comfortable feel. The restaurants we went to in town were great. (PB Sunset Beach is a short drive into town by shuttle, cab, or rental). The omnipresent troops we saw last time have dissolved into the woodwork, but it remains one of the safer venues in Mexico, with a marked absence of cartel activity, at least as far as it is invisible. Get used to the driving. People are generally friendly and helpful, the golf is great, the weather is sublime, in general, and it is a place we will be happy to return to on a regular basis for years to come, we hope.

(PS note regarding sales pitches for timeshares- they are omnipresent and unavoidable in Cabo- they hit you as you get off the plane at the airport, and it almost seems that every taxi driver, every person on the street and everyone you meet wants to sell you one. PB Sunset Beach is no exception. They have people wandering the property asking if you are an owner or not, and if you have had your meeting or not. They do give you a $200 certificate to lower your bill if you meet with a sales rep the first time, and only $50 for subsequent meetings if you didn't buy. They are also good salespeople, very persistent and know the ABC's of sales- "always be closing" But you can go there not buy, and you can just tell them that you already own and already had your meeting and they will walk away. It is annoying, but part of life there.Just so you know if you have never yet been to Cabo.)

Room Tip: If you have to opportunity to get a room with a hot tub do it. My daughter lived in it, and it is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    759
    301
    183
    133
See reviews for
944
1,223
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been going to PB Sunset for several years and love it whether alone or with friends and family. I love the variety of pools and the view is over the top! I've seen whales nearly every time I've been there. The facility is breathtaking and the maintenance of both grounds and rooms is excellent. Unless you're big eaters and/or drinkers, don't bother with the all-inclusive. A trip to Walmart or Sorianos and you're fixed for a week of meals and snacks for about the same as one day of the all-inclusive. As a PB Sunset guest, you have access to three other resorts with shuttle bus transportation to any of them. Sunset is built on a cliff overlooking the Pacific so you can get a good workout walking or you can call for a shuttle. The staff are unfailingly polite and eager to serve you and both earn and deserve your tips. Most speak excellent English. I can hardly wait to go there again this year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First, some of the best views you will ever experience while on vacation. Yet, because this resort is spread out on rocky topography, it requires effort. You can't just saunter on to the pool or meet friends at the beach. We traveled with friends who were in a different building. If you don't take a golf cart, be ready for some lengthy hiking up steep hills and stairs to get where you want to go. Some might find this appealing to counteract the daily damage from the tortilla chips and guac.

(Actually, you can't really meet at the beach because this particular stretch of ocean is particularly rough, and workers are on patrol to keep you away.)

The resort is on a bluff and not close to Highway 1 (towards San Jose) or the center of Cabo. So, you really are far removed from things, which some might find appealing. We like to sample restaurants in town, so this required lengthier taxi rides. The restaurants on site are surprisingly few for the number of guests, and not consistent in entree quality. I ate at the Bistro three times (breakfast, lunch and dinner). The Mexico City chicken soup was my favorite,

Because of the size, many choose to get around on golf carts which roam the resort. I think one of our drivers late one night at 11:05pm (he reminded us it was 5 minutes past his shift) thought he was Starsky and/or Hutch. It seems he had a death wish or wanted to give us an extra thrill.

Also because of the size, I experienced quite a number of phones that went unanswered, particularly to the Concierge desk when I tried to cancel off-site restaurant reservations and make some. Not complaining about the staff, but when you have SO many people and three members of the concierge desk taking calls at 6pm dinner time, something has to give.

If you or a spouse need to stay in touch with work via Internet, this is tricky as well because the cliffs block access. So Internet (which is a very expensive extra -- lots of extras by the way) is spotty at best.

Still, the view at the Sky Pool was spectacular and we spent a memorable night watching the New Year's fireworks from the top of the very top cliff overlooking the ocean. A night I soon won't forget. And, we met some very pleasant employees who obviously work very hard.

Room Tip: We were in building 24 which was a short hilly walk to to Lobby and also to coffee shop with free wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The resort is amazing. They great shuttle service around the resort as the grounds are somnewhat steep and could pose problems for some. The resort is in top shape and is just gorgeous. It's short drive to town so having a vehicle is nice. We we definately be back to this resort again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been going to Cabo and PB Sunset Beach for over 10 years each January! We love the beauty of the resort, the cleanliness, friendliness, and the extras. The gym, pools, and spa are superb! I have even attended church in the little chapel and found the services inspiring. If we have any complaints, it would be the small grocery located there; we would like to see more products offered. We never do all-inclusive as we like to ride the bus downtown and eat in local places.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in villas 14, 15, 16 as they provide a great view of the ocean and whales, are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

*The view was simply amazing! We could see the Whales from the deck of our room.
*The cleaning crew was the best we have ever had at a resort.
*I would not get the all inclusive. They have good food, but the food at the Marina is better with more variety and is less expensive.
*Cab fare into town is only $3/person
*Very large resort - Plan on walking a lot or waiting for the golf carts to come and pick you up and drive you to where you would like to go. It becomes a hassle, but it is worth waiting.
*The Staff was always very friendly and most can speak very good English.
*The service at all pools is slow - but, they are friendly and work very hard to get to you asap. (they are simply short staffed)...The food and drinks are good, once you finally get it. I started going directly to the food area to get what I wanted (It wasn't that difficult)
*Tip when at the Airport: Once you get off of the plane, do not talk to anyone until you can see the sun outside of the terminal! Everyone in the airport is going to try and sell you a timeshare presentation with "discounted rates".
*They have a tip box for the Gold Cart Drives and Housekeeping at check in. I would suggest Tipping them directly the first day you are at the resort and then giving them more at the end of your stay. If you are staying at a place this nice, don't be jerk and plan on tipping.
*Biggest negative: People put towels out to reserve their pool chairs at 8:00am and then do not come back until 10:00 or later to use them. I simply handed their belongings to a staff person at the pool.

Room Tip: Room 4023 Has a great view of the Ocean and Right above the pool...Any room in Building 40 will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We love Mexico; the people, the cultures, the nature and of course, the weather. This was our first time in Cabo and we loved it. The main "con" was the mismanagement at the front desk with the reservation that I had made in October on their web site. The reservation was lost, and I had to report back to the front desk to rectify it, giving them a copy of my printed e- reciept. After two days it was sorted out. My brother and his wife were staying at another hotel and we wrote down their names at check in so that they could enter the resort. Unfortunately, their names were not given to security, so they had to walk back to Los Bungalos where they were staying, call my room, then make the trek back again. Again, after two days it was sorted out. We chose the all inclusive and in hindsight, I should have done without it, as there are grocery stores, costco,sams club in town. They even have a little store in the hotel. I think they are a bit streched between the all inclusive and the pay options. There was a "meal plan" option too. Confusing for the staff and the guests. We did try the Frida Italian restaurant, and it was excellent, for a 20$ surcharge. Well worth it. The hotel needs a bit more restaurants for more variety. The landscaping is imaculate and grand. It reminded me of what I imagined to be small European streets, with fountains, bird cages, small pools. The veiw of the ocean incomparable, the sunsets outstandinng. One morning I saw a school of whales from my balcony (bldg 26). The tennis courts were a bit nicked, but managable. Reservations were easy to make. Pablo the roving pro, seemed to be quite knowledgeable and fun. The guys at pool bar: Omar, Abel, Angel, Esteban, Christian were great and very friendly. The wait staff at Bistro were great, especially Lorenzo who made me a great Mexican coffee(flames!), Adrian, Ramon, and Francisco were exceptional too. We did a whale watching tour with Cabo Adventures, I highly recommend that group. I loved Cabo, we will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.