We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort - beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Ucluelet, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort - beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 2 weeks - mid to end November. It was wonderful - sunset views are amazing. Unfortunately the beach is not safe to swim, however the resort has 6 swimming pools to suite all needs (kids, quiet, teenagers). Their deli is the best deli or any resort that we have ever been to. Free shuttle every hour to downtown cabo - just need to book as certain times are very popular.

Rooms are spacious - we had a junior suite with balcony and ocean view. Golf carts take you around the resort if you are not wanting to walk - some steep hills depending on where your room is located.

Service throughout the resort was very good. Food was good - did a "take out" pizza from the Bistro Restaurant and went and sat on the beach and watched the sunset.

Their other 2 resorts on Medano Beach are great and it is very convenient to be able to get the shuttle to Rose and then get beach towels there. Also spent a day at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica (adults only) - very nice resort.

Will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,466
    636
    234
    152
    113
See reviews for
769
1031
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My friend and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Cabo San Lucas. We stayed at the beautiful Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. From the moment you enter the hotel you feel the sense of peacefulness and the wonderful scent of jasmine vanilla that permeates throughout the property. We were very pleased with the hotel overall. The staff was very attentive and very professional. Our Executive Suite was beautiful and very comfortable. The view was incomparable. They have done a great job at maintaining the rooms in excellent condition. The new Retro Night at La Nao Restaurant was very enjoyable. The entertainment was almost up to par with Las Vegas. We thouroughly enjoyed our first evening there. We also dined at La Nao for the South West theme night but unfotunately the food was not very authentic.

We enjoyed our dinner at La Frida Restaurant. The Cadillac Margaritas were one of the best we ever had, they quickly made us feel veeery relaxed and happy !!! Their food and service were exceptional.

We would definately return to this beautiful resort again. Our only real disappointment was that we missed the start of the whale season by about a week.
Guadalupe M.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
239DanielM, . at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guadalupe M
Is a pleasure to know that your stay was so pleasant, we gave the chef your feedback to improve the quality of our service. We hope to have you back in our resort. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The apartment, the 180 degee views, the beds, the restaurants, the pools, the quiet, the constant waves breaking in the background below you, the free every half-hour shuttle to the other sister resorts (next door & on the playa on the bay (where swimming in the sea is safe)), the gardens, the free valet parking, the humidor lounge, the decorations, the spa, the gyms with classes & ice cold refreshing drinks, the steam room, the hot waterfall / bubbling pool with adjacent cold dip pool, the chapel, the decorations, ALL The Staff, the privacy, the private miles long beach, the warm air flowing through your apartment; it is all magnificent! A great place for us & friends to relax with or without the kids. TIP: Rent a car, & stop, on your way to the resort, at Costco to stock up for the week. (driving to and from the airport is just like driving back home, without any of the traffic.) (the all inclusive is expensive, but great if you are use to the convenience)

Room Tip: Every room has great views and convenient access to the rest of the resort on the free "golf ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had an excellent time, on our vacation. This was due, greatly, to our guys by the pool. Victor Alvares & Irving Matnoz were fantastic, not only with the service, but personality and attitudes toward their customers made our stay a rememberal one as well!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great Facility, excellant views of the Pacific, the Resort Worker were good, but not as personable as we are used to from PB Resorts. High point was the Sky Pool / the servers in the Lobby Bar, and La Nao Restraunt, the food / Service we had at The Bistro was excellent 90% of the time. Low points came from the poor service we received on our last day at The Bistro, our server had too many tables and seemed to forget that where we were sitting. We hoped to eat at La Frido but found out we couldn't because we only had casual dress so remember you need at least one dress shirt / long pant (shorts aren't acceptable).

Room Tip: For the most part this was a great trip, although the service was not what we were used to seeing fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, Ca
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach was such an excellent place to vacation - we loved it. Yes, we are "owners" - 2 bedroom presidential. We bring family and friends each time. With that said, we have a "group" that spends a lot of money on food and drink.

Food: All previous visits, the food was excellent, and we were happy to eat most of our meals on site. This trip, the prices have gone way up, and the quality down. La Nao only does the buffet thing - no more menu options. The Bistro, pretty good overall, but never a "special" for some variety. When you come year after year, the same ol same ol gets a bit boring. We did not want to buy the expensive "all inclusive" option. The dinner options, La Nao (buffet every night) or The Bistro, get boring after several years of visits. The pool food is actually pretty awesome (fish taco's or fish sandwich!). We packed up our group and shuttled into town far more then we ever have, to eat .... that's a lotta Sunset Bucks not spent at Sunset. One of the draws for us at Sunset Beach was the isolation, and the excellent food available on site. That is no longer true.

Pools: The hydro area of the bottom pool never worked the whole week we were there, I didn't see anyone working on it. It's one of my favorite parts of the pool. The hot tub was being retiled, and did get filled up before we left. People set out towels at 7:00 am - and don't show up for hours, despite the posted policy regarding that. Either take the sign down, or enforce it!

I did not get my building choices, in this huge, gigantic complex, I had three choices to choose. What? I put my request a long time ago! I understand the logistics, but .... didn't feel like there was any attempt made.

Overall, our impression was the quality is suffering. When I read in another review that a divorce, and splitting of the management, this makes total sense. The wrong one is managing the Sunset Beach .... and they need to catch the fall .... really hope they can turn it around. We will not visit next year, I'll trade ....

Also - the Spa prices are outrageous - and I come from California. What about specials or some way for the average Josephine to be able to sample the place?

I hope management reads this and sorts out the divorce ugliness to save this resort.

Room Tip: Building 11 is pretty good, you can walk up or down, it's in the middle - but back off the cart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are owners and always look forward to our stay the week after Thanksgiving. The service and accommodations are always excellent. Mostly we are there to unwind, relax and sit by the pool with a book. The food was superb. I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

This year we were extremely disappointed with our visit to the La Frida restaurant. (We do participate in the all inclusive). The food was extremely good, the service however did not meet the same standard. We arrived 10 minutes early for our 7 pm reservation, and although the restaurant was nearly empty we were asked to wait to be seated. A missed opportunity for additional cocktails. Once seated I asked for a glass of white wine. The glass arrived but not the wine. We had to ask 4 different people to finally get my wine 20 minutes later. When dinner arrived, my husband was not given a fork. Once again we had to ask for a fork so he could eat his dinner. After dinner (which was excellent) we ordered coffee. The coffee arrived, but without the requested cream. I was never able to get any cream. We were charged for a salad we didn't order.

There was never a single wait-person in charge of our table. We saw six different servers but no one was in charge. The larger groups of six to eight were getting all of the attention. It felt like were were invisible.

These may seem like small things. However, we do expect a higher level of service when we are paying well over $250 for dinner. It is very unlikely that we will not return to this restaurant next year. The service at the Manilla Bar and the pool was much superior.

Shar3395

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.