We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be Excellent. Was rated as Luxury or Deluxe but, now it's been downgraded to First Class.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
LA (lower alabama)
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Used to be Excellent. Was rated as Luxury or Deluxe but, now it's been downgraded to First Class.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Sunset Beach was once a Luxury Hotel. It still is beautiful however, the divorce of the owners has placed the ownership into the hands of the one lacking hotel management skills.
The carts that take you around the property used to be "Johnny on the Spot" but, now it's hard to get a ride and this place is built on the side of a mountain. The new Cart Manager, from Mainland Mexico, has cut-back carts and personnel and this is causing disgruntled drivers. And these cart drivers have and still are very personable but, this change in management philosophy will eventually take it's dues on them.
Corners are being cut and fees are going up for everything. Concierge services used to be very helpful with helping you contact recreational excursions, when dealing with the phone dialing maze. But now you're own your own and you'll be charged with each call. There is now a big push to purchase an expensive “All Inclusive Food and Drink” and that seems to have reduced waiter/waitress personnel to order from at the pool areas. We don't do the all inclusive drink till you puke, as some do, so this means less selling of drinks/food due to the reduced personnel. The Pools and Hot Tubs themselves are closed a lot earlier, due to cut-backs. We used to get “free” internet in our apartments, so equipped, now you have to subscribe at a ridiculous fee. But they haven't started charging for WiFi at the coffee shop, yet. We're still waiting for the Golf Course, Shopping Market, and Laundry after 10 years.
These management changes are changing the employee moral and has increased the turnover for these same employees. We've never seen so many new employee faces as this last vacation at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort.
I wish this property would have been awarded to the other Significant Other, in the Divorce Decree.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,468
    638
    234
    152
    113
See reviews for
771
1032
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I brought our 8 month old baby on our first vacation together and don't regret it. The hotel, pools, location, and food exceeded expectations. We stayed in building 24 in a jacuzzi suite with the all inclusive option. The staff and amenities exceeded our expectations.

Pros:
Room - We loved our room. The view. The bathrooms. The kitchen. The somewhat private terrace w/ jacuzzi. Everything was great (except for the night we didn't realize the AC wouldn't turn on unless the patio door was closed).
Pools - Great selection of pools (sizes, loudness, crowd, views, etc.)
Food - Nice authentic Mexican food. They are now supporting all inclusive so it won't be five star food. However, La Frida was great (too bad kids younger than 8 years can't go).
Kids - Baby Mila approved! Great support for families. Ample high chairs, baby sitting services ($25/hr), and a kids club.
View - We liked the fact that the hotel ranges up a mountainside for the view.
Pueblo Bonito Rose - Their bus to Pueblo Bonito Rose in downtown Cabo was great, but filled up fast in the morning. We took a taxi for $6 pp each way when we were too late for the 10 am shuttle.
Downtown - Easy access to downtown for a day trip without having to stay in a smaller resort.

Cons:
Timeshare - It seems like there are so many "owners" everywhere you look. It's a bit weird to have so many people acting special because they bought timeshares... The sales team left us alone and were polite after asking us if we were interested in a tour once or twice.
Bugs - It's Cabo, so you can't do anything about the moths. Also, we spotted 2 roaches, but its Mexico and the rooms have a kitchen, so I don't think there's much they can do.
Walking - If you have difficulty getting around, it could be hard to deal with all the locations and waiting on the golf carts. After we figured out where everything was, we were fine.
Airport Transport - The morning rush into the taxis to go to the airport seemed a bit hectic. Also the ride is approximately 45 minutes, but wasn't bothered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I traveled with members of my family to this resort Oct. 30th-Nov. 8th. We own several timeshare units at this property and have been coming here 2-3 times a year for the past 5+ years. We've greatly enjoyed coming each and every time; however, this particular visit warranted some negative feedback. I had family members who arrived prior to my stay and for the entire duration (2 weeks) the hot tub jets at the main pool were broken. Maintenance and the front desk had been notified; nevertheless, it was never fixed. Speaking of the main pool area...improvements are necessary for the safety of the guests. There are a number of broken tiles in the pool in various areas and the majority of the jets don't work. On respective past visits, jets here and there were broken. It appears that it's declining over time and management hopes no one will take the time to say anything about it. Additionally, there's a new event the property puts on on Mondays and Thursdays. To accommodate this event they take away a number of prime seating areas/cabanas all day to set-up for an event that doesn't start until the evening. Unfortunately, there are a number of new, yet unsavory changes to this property. There is no longer the option of a la carte during breakfast in La Nao, only buffet. There is a lounge singer who performs (at the top of her lungs) from the Cigar Bar? each evening. We stayed in bldg. 8 which is pretty far removed from the aforementioned area yet we could hear not only the music but the singer after 10 p.m. while we were in our room! Being a good distance away from this performing locale should warrant some peace and quiet especially after 10 p.m. The property has done away with the complimentary drink coupons. Fair enough, but how about communicating this to guests with a mass email? No need to waste their money on stamps but the courtesy of letting owners/guests know about this change instead of just shutting the program down is disconcerting. This leads me to mention one final thing. Even as an owner, you're no longer permitted to use the steam room or amenities downstairs in the gym without paying $10/day. Contractually, owners were allowed complimentary use of the gym as well as the amenities downstairs but I suppose things change. It's rather disappointing that Pueblo Bonito continues to build more units but hasn't upheld some of the promises that were dangled in front of us existing owners to entice us to purchase in the first place. No golf course, no walking trails, no grocery store. And to add insult to injury, this latest slew of changes with no regard to extending the courtesy of notifying any of the owners of what's going on. Rather poor showing for such a lovely property. I hope they do better. Apparently, looking at other reviewers, I'm not alone in my sentiments. The 80% of this review is obviously negative. I've never reviewed this property as I've never had so many disheartening things to say. The 20% is for the stellar service delivered by some exemplary employees: Angel at the main pool is an asset and should be recognized as such. Alonso (main pool) is also to be commended. Ignacio, the supervisor at the main pool, does a fine job keeping things running smoothly. Finally, Israel (used to be Activities at main pool) at the Front Desk is outstanding. I hope management pays attention and doesn't dismiss those of us who've already committed. If you're considering purchasing here, you may want to hold off until improvements are made. At least one hopes.

Room Tip: Depending on which pool you'd like to frequent, choose a room close to that area. The resort is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
239DanielM, . at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest:

On behalf of the employees of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach; I want to thank you for taking the time to write the about your last vacation in our development. We welcome your comments and also inform you that after having worked for 6 days in the repair of the main pool, it was reopened last weekend at 100 percent of its capacity. The 10 USD fee for using wet areas for owners at the SPA no longer exists since last Nov. 12 with the only purpose of our guests enjoy them without limit. Now we are evaluating the best options to disturb as little as possible to our guests during preparations for the Mexican night on Mondays and Thursdays retro night.

Thanks especially for mentioning Angel, Alonso, Ignacio and Israel, Whom I have already congratulated and shared your review with, as well as With Their peers!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and I am always available for any further assistance you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Still absolutely love this place ... but we noticed changes from our prior three visits. Room Service was good but we had to call several times for towels, washcloths that weren't replaced. Also when we arrived in our room, we didn't have an ice bucket or pitcher. We also did not have any dishwashing soap. All small tidbits to mention but this did not ever happen before. They seemed to have less staff and therefore I feel the service staff were S-T-R-E-T-C-H-E-D to do a good job (so I feel it is management decisions that's created the drop in Service).
On a positive note, I APPRECIATED that all we had to do was say "no" twice to the "owner's update" right after we checked in (and weren't asked again). Personally, I do not care for "All-inclusive" resorts and that is one of the reasons we chose Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. Now they have the All-inclusive option which we did not use. There service/food was better before they switched to the All-Inclusivie option availablity. All in all - I love the views, the skypool, we love to walk and enjoy the exercise we get at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. Can't wait to go back again and hopefully the grocery store will be finished that we were told would be completed two years ago. OK, one more thing --- it appears the grocery store will not be the full scale one that we were told about and now they are adding a laundrymat in that area --- this takes away from the ambiance of the place and is a negative for me. We are light travelers so we do use the wash, dry, & fold services offered by PB - hope they don't discontinue this.

Room Tip: Ask to see a map of the resort and choose room based upon the pool or beach area that you think you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have been staying at Sunset Beach since 2004 (bought in 2002). It is still one of the prettiest resorts in Mexico no question about it. Wait staff do an excellent job, quality of the food is superb, rooms are outstanding, views are unmatched, but some of the "little" things that used to be present are now gone, or have not kept up with the competition. It may be coincidental, but the changes started when there were some money issues with the golf course (promised every year since 2004, but not ready yet), the addition of an "all-inclusive" option, and of course the economy. Examples: free wi-fi only available at two locations; extremely limited cell phone service; availability of some food brands, alcohol brands and soda pop brands - you can get them at one resort location (pool or restaurant), but not another, you can get them one day, but not the next; three years ago when you ordered a bloody mary, it looked like a salad-complete with shrimp, olive, celery, lime. Not now, no extras. When you arrive at the resort at 12pm, 1pm or 2pm, you have to wait until 4pm to get your room. Understandable, as they need time to clean. Sometimes you get the room/location you want, but not always. They use to give you a couple of free drink coupons while you waited to check in. That was nice, as it killed the time, and let you get familiar with the resort. Those are now gone. Certainly two drinks don't mean a lot, and cannot cost much, but it was a nice touch. Staff has been cut back, but thank goodness we have developed some relationships with the personnel over the years, and they take excellent care of us for the most part. We tip them pretty well, so they are wonderful in their service and attention. (Raciel, Arturo, Ramon, Brander - they are great at Pool 17 and the main pool!!) The all-inclusive program is not for us, as we like to visit many of the great restaurants in town. It did seem that service was better to the all-inclusive guest, rather than those that did not sign up for the program. I guess that is somewhat understandable too, however, we also pay a lot in maintenance fees every year (own two Executive Suites). I understand the bug problem this year was due to the excessive rains in the previous month, so that is understandable. But there are still a lot of ants on the upper level at pool 17. At the owners meeting there is a relentless push to switch to points (at a substantial cost!) Probably good for the corporation and Sunset Beach, maybe not so good for some owners who just like coming there every year, with no intentions of trading or switching locations or plans. As I said, we have no desire to go anywhere else, PB Sunset is a beautiful place. Again, the restaurants and wait staff are superb. We will continue to stay each year, but will look to purchase future weeks at other properties

Room Tip: The beauty of the resort will always be there. But remember, many of the owners also own somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange County CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I want the La Nao mangers to know about PACO & Francisco, what GREAT servers they are, kind,fast, always remember when they see us, makes us feel VERY IMPORTANT. Also the waiters at the main pool, Roberto, so funny, fast, kind and also makes you feel like your the only one at the pool to serve. We are owners of Montecristo for 7 years and we truly enjoy seeing these great employee's that make our vacation wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin,Michigan Border
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have been coming to PB Sunset for 7 years and are owners. Our stay for two weeks at the end of October was enjoyable but did notice changes. Front desk, Luis, was very courteous and we were happy with our room placement in building 16. We did notice that their are less employees maintaining the grounds and pool service. Food at pool side was mediocre and the drinks were very weak. We did not do the all inclusive because we do not eat or drink that much for the exorbitant price per day per person that they charge. There are so many wonderful restaurants in town that are so good and at reasonable prices.
Change of the location (in front of the new coffee shop) in catching the free shuttle to PB Rose was no problem because we like to walk. But people need to remember to give themselves a little more time when calling for a cart to get them there on time to catch the bus. Noticed getting a cart did take a few minutes longer than in the past.
All in all we still love going to PB Sunset every year for two weeks.

Room Tip: We enjoy buildings 14, 15, or 16 on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.