We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time here - still love it - but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Casey, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“4th time here - still love it - but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Still absolutely love this place ... but we noticed changes from our prior three visits. Room Service was good but we had to call several times for towels, washcloths that weren't replaced. Also when we arrived in our room, we didn't have an ice bucket or pitcher. We also did not have any dishwashing soap. All small tidbits to mention but this did not ever happen before. They seemed to have less staff and therefore I feel the service staff were S-T-R-E-T-C-H-E-D to do a good job (so I feel it is management decisions that's created the drop in Service).
On a positive note, I APPRECIATED that all we had to do was say "no" twice to the "owner's update" right after we checked in (and weren't asked again). Personally, I do not care for "All-inclusive" resorts and that is one of the reasons we chose Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. Now they have the All-inclusive option which we did not use. There service/food was better before they switched to the All-Inclusivie option availablity. All in all - I love the views, the skypool, we love to walk and enjoy the exercise we get at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. Can't wait to go back again and hopefully the grocery store will be finished that we were told would be completed two years ago. OK, one more thing --- it appears the grocery store will not be the full scale one that we were told about and now they are adding a laundrymat in that area --- this takes away from the ambiance of the place and is a negative for me. We are light travelers so we do use the wash, dry, & fold services offered by PB - hope they don't discontinue this.

Room Tip: Ask to see a map of the resort and choose room based upon the pool or beach area that you think you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,661
    722
    286
    172
    125
See reviews for
898
1143
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have been staying at Sunset Beach since 2004 (bought in 2002). It is still one of the prettiest resorts in Mexico no question about it. Wait staff do an excellent job, quality of the food is superb, rooms are outstanding, views are unmatched, but some of the "little" things that used to be present are now gone, or have not kept up with the competition. It may be coincidental, but the changes started when there were some money issues with the golf course (promised every year since 2004, but not ready yet), the addition of an "all-inclusive" option, and of course the economy. Examples: free wi-fi only available at two locations; extremely limited cell phone service; availability of some food brands, alcohol brands and soda pop brands - you can get them at one resort location (pool or restaurant), but not another, you can get them one day, but not the next; three years ago when you ordered a bloody mary, it looked like a salad-complete with shrimp, olive, celery, lime. Not now, no extras. When you arrive at the resort at 12pm, 1pm or 2pm, you have to wait until 4pm to get your room. Understandable, as they need time to clean. Sometimes you get the room/location you want, but not always. They use to give you a couple of free drink coupons while you waited to check in. That was nice, as it killed the time, and let you get familiar with the resort. Those are now gone. Certainly two drinks don't mean a lot, and cannot cost much, but it was a nice touch. Staff has been cut back, but thank goodness we have developed some relationships with the personnel over the years, and they take excellent care of us for the most part. We tip them pretty well, so they are wonderful in their service and attention. (Raciel, Arturo, Ramon, Brander - they are great at Pool 17 and the main pool!!) The all-inclusive program is not for us, as we like to visit many of the great restaurants in town. It did seem that service was better to the all-inclusive guest, rather than those that did not sign up for the program. I guess that is somewhat understandable too, however, we also pay a lot in maintenance fees every year (own two Executive Suites). I understand the bug problem this year was due to the excessive rains in the previous month, so that is understandable. But there are still a lot of ants on the upper level at pool 17. At the owners meeting there is a relentless push to switch to points (at a substantial cost!) Probably good for the corporation and Sunset Beach, maybe not so good for some owners who just like coming there every year, with no intentions of trading or switching locations or plans. As I said, we have no desire to go anywhere else, PB Sunset is a beautiful place. Again, the restaurants and wait staff are superb. We will continue to stay each year, but will look to purchase future weeks at other properties

Room Tip: The beauty of the resort will always be there. But remember, many of the owners also own somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange County CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I want the La Nao mangers to know about PACO & Francisco, what GREAT servers they are, kind,fast, always remember when they see us, makes us feel VERY IMPORTANT. Also the waiters at the main pool, Roberto, so funny, fast, kind and also makes you feel like your the only one at the pool to serve. We are owners of Montecristo for 7 years and we truly enjoy seeing these great employee's that make our vacation wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin,Michigan Border
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have been coming to PB Sunset for 7 years and are owners. Our stay for two weeks at the end of October was enjoyable but did notice changes. Front desk, Luis, was very courteous and we were happy with our room placement in building 16. We did notice that their are less employees maintaining the grounds and pool service. Food at pool side was mediocre and the drinks were very weak. We did not do the all inclusive because we do not eat or drink that much for the exorbitant price per day per person that they charge. There are so many wonderful restaurants in town that are so good and at reasonable prices.
Change of the location (in front of the new coffee shop) in catching the free shuttle to PB Rose was no problem because we like to walk. But people need to remember to give themselves a little more time when calling for a cart to get them there on time to catch the bus. Noticed getting a cart did take a few minutes longer than in the past.
All in all we still love going to PB Sunset every year for two weeks.

Room Tip: We enjoy buildings 14, 15, or 16 on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our third visit to sunset beach in the last year. While we experienced the same absolutely gorgeous views and great rooms we feel that the resort made changes that has negatively impacted the overall experience. Setting up for their outdoor buffet nights removed half of the seating at the main pool for 2 full days which was ridiculous. They must have cut their employee budget because the carts took alot longer and the activities staff were mostly nowhere to be found, even though they posted a full activities board. We were also disappointed they removed room service from the all inclusive plan. Hopefully they are going thru growing pains since becoming an all inclusive resort and will soon return back to providing a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is my third time at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. It's a fine resort, though the economy has caused some things to change. There are fewer staff and therefore service (whether it's the golf carts or restaurants) can be longer than usual. We stayed on the first floor of Building 41. We loved it because the pool was immediately accessible, but because it was a ground floor, there were loads of bugs. I had to have the room sprayed by exterminators -- everything from mosquitos to beetles. Not pleasant and not like other times I had been there. A trip to the onground clinic directed me to order hydrocortesone cream and claritan, which the hotel had delivered for a combined total of $56 US. They did not stock either one in the stops on the grounds (though the next week at Playa Grande I saw both in stock). That was beyond belief to pay that much for over-the-counter medicine that I could have picked up at a drug store at home. Internet service was far less than satisfactory -- spotty and costly ($79.99 for a week). The menu at the Bistro was not very extensive and the same from lunch until closing.

Victor at the front desk was terrific in getting me a room in the same building and floor with my friends. Also, Ophelia in the lobby bar was a great server who always greeted us and remembered everything from room numbers to drink orders from the days before.

I like PB resorts and I own several units in Cabo and Mazatlan, but this year's trip was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Be very clear with staff about your expectations and needs, including calling directly and asking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have just got back from spending two weeks down here, from Nov. 15-29. This was the best time i have ever had. My dad and I both own a week each here in an Executive room. We were staying in building 9 which we both thought was the best location that you could be at. It was overlooking the beach and part of the Main Pool area. The room was absolutely beautiful, has everything you need for the time you are down there. The main pool area i would have to say is one of the best spots to hang out and relax. SAHARA AND BRENT RUN THE ACTIVITY CENTER WHICH IS AT THE MAIN POOL. THEY WERE BY FAR THE BEST PEOPLE FOR THE JOB. THEY WERE SO INVOLVED WITH PEOPLE AT THE POOL AND ALL AROUND IT AND TRULY DID CARE ABOUT EVERYONE THERE. THEY WERE WILLING TO SACRIFICE THEIR OWN TIME FOR THE GUESTS. At the person with the name of kyal1013, what you saw was not how anything was down there. They both played Beach volleyball when they had it up on the game board. I was there for two weeks and i couldn't tell you how many times i played beach volleyball. Just because you didn't get your way with what you wanted to do, does not mean you have to put down the workers at the resort. They worked their hardest to meet the needs of the people who were down there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Odigeo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.