We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place was perfect for a relaxing honeymoon. We had a small pool outside our building (#40) where we could always get a spot. We went with the all inclusive package prior to going there and saved a lot of money. We loved the all inclusive aspect, we'd order frozen drinks at the pool all day and lunch too. The servers, wait staff, and golf cart drivers were wonderful. Sometimes they weren't there right away but it was because they were waiting on other people, no big deal. Every room has an ocean view. The view from the sky pool is amazing.

It was a pain to wait for the golf carts sometimes but it was easy to walk everywhere once you figured it all out. There are missing tiles in the pool, just be careful not to cut your foot. The people trying to sell us a time share were quite annoying but once they heard no about 15x they got the hint.

In November we had mostly adults and senior citizens at the resort. I'm sure it gets younger around spring break ish. There wasn't too much to do at night but that worked for us after drinking all day in the sun, we were usually exhausted! I would def do it again!

Room Tip: We loved building 40 as it had a small pool right outside and was easy to run up to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,662
    723
    286
    172
    126
See reviews for
899
1143
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently got married at this hotel with a group of about 30 people. The hotel is gorgeous, nothing like any other Mexican hotel we have been to. Every room has an ocean view. It is built into the mountains so the views from every part of the hotel are unreal.

All of our family and friends had the All-inclusive plan, and no one had any issues or complaints. Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach just added the all-inclusive program earlier this year (2012), so the food is better than your "typical" all-inclusive hotel. They have to keep their food standards high because there are still quite a few guests who pay for the food and are not all-inclusive.

Since the hotel is built into the mountains, they have golf carts that drive you everywhere. Call from your room, and by the time you take the elevator down, the cart will almost always be waiting for you. The only place you have to wait for a golf cart is in the lobby, because many people are checking in with their bags, etc...but it still doesn't take long. The golf cart drivers are very friendly and fun!

The beach is very private, no vendors at all. The beach is beautiful and quiet. The hotel's main pool is located near the ocean (at the bottom of the property), so you can take drinks down to the ocean with you to walk around. There are no servers down by the beach and no lounge chairs, more of just a quiet get-away from everything else. There is a gazebo you could sit at though. You cannot swim in the ocean here, so we elected to take a $12 cab ride to the marina in town- from there we took a glass-bottom boat for about $8/person to the Arch and Lover's Beach, where we swam in the ocean.

The Sky Pool is something you will not find anywhere else but here! It is amazing. This is where our wedding reception was held in the evening, however during the daytime it's the best place to swim. The Sky Pool is located at the very highest point on the property, and the view is breathtaking at every angle. The pool is two-levels: Lower level is quieter. Upper level is an infinity pool with a swim-up bar and grill. By the way, the poolside food menu is awesome. Fish tacos are #1.

If anyone is looking to get married at PB Sunset Beach, here is who we used:

1. The wedding coordinator on site is Laura Ortiz. She is phenomenal, period. Of course we had concerns planning a wedding from so far away, but no detail was missed, as she assured us. She is wonderful to work with.

2. Photographer: Alec and T- Awesome. More expensive than other Cabo photographers, but just look at their website for all the proof you need that they are the best. Their photos are impecable, and after working with them, it is obvious that they love doing what they do. We are so happy that we splurged a bit to have them shoot our big day.

3. DJ Ricardo- awesome. This choice truly made the night. He is such a kind and professional man. He stuck to our playlist, but he used his expertise to play songs in an order that kept everyone dancing literally all night.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view, but try to get in a building higher up on the property. The higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have been owner (4 weeks a year) at Sunset Beach for last 9 years, almost from the beginning. Sunset was well maintained for the first 5 years. However, it is clear that maintenance has fallen off in the last 2 years and is now in urgent "NEED". The main pool is a health hazard with missing ceramic tiles, broken tiles and chipped cement. Several people cut their feet on the pool and needed medical attention. Saw a mouse come out of a hole behind the Deli counter while they prepared my lunch. Needless to say it wasn't very appetizing.

In addition, they now remove most of the main pool chairs all day Monday & Thursday for Mexican dinner festival and a Retro party. Parties are fine but not at the expense of no pool chairs 2 days a week. Guess they don't have enough staff to do it in afternoon but chairs are gone all day for more than half the pool. And forget about lunch at tables near the beach, they are also removed.

Activities at main pool have suffered as well. Miguel was the best activities guy I have ever met. Personable, fun, athletic, professional, everything you could want in an activities person. He has been replaced by Sahara. Nice women but activities happen 30 minutes late if at all.

They are pushing all inclusive at very high prices unless you drink your way to value. That's fine but expect to wait in long lines at most of the restaurants with higher prices to help justify the all inclusive prices. The wait staff are overwhelmed with the all inclusive but in their defense there just aren't enough of them with the all inclusive.

Have always loved Sunset Beach and hopefully management read Tripadvisor comments like this one and considers fixing their problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSuazo, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

It is very satisfying to hear that you have had great experiences at our hotels on previous visits, but we are sorry that this last time you didn't have the experience you were expecting.

As for your comments, the main pool will be repaired this week to avoid any discomfort that our guests may have and to maintain our facilities in their best conditions.
We are also recruiting new staff for pool activities, and have a new fumigation provider that is already attacking all areas of the hotel.

We appreciate your time and feedback, and we'll make sure to keep improving the quality in our hotels.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just came back from a 3 night stay at this property. First time we have chosen to stay here.

Let's start with the good. The location is a little off the beaten path but comes along with beautiful scenery and outstanding views. The property itself is impressive. The pool we enjoyed was nice and clean. The rooms were above average...relatively clean. The moths throughout the area were a little disturbing but from what I can see, they are all over Cabo. I did expect to see the dead ones cleaned and removed daily but this did not seem to be the case.

We stayed in a large suite. The sofa bed was not super comfortable but we adjusted. We had fantastic views from all angles.

The service and attitudes at the hotel are severely lacking in my opinion. Now, I don't want to generalize but most of the wait staff seem hurried, impatient, disinterested and downright rude. I'm not sure if it is the fact that the property now has a choice to be all inclusive? Every meal we ordered took an extraordinarily long time. Same goes with room service. Every meal I tasted was lackluster at best. The food was bland. I had papaya juice that literally tasted like vomit. We drink fresh papaya juice daily at home and this was not normal tasting juice. On more than one occasion the waiters at the Bistro were sweaty which does not leave an appetizing impression when about to be served a meal. The gentleman at the pool did not smile once and actually seemed bothered when we asked for food and drinks.

After two meals, we decided to ditch the hotel and eat elsewhere for the remainder of the trip. Check in and out was a lengthy process

I would not stay here again. For the price, I can stay at a better property where the food and service are above par. This isn't a terrible resort but not one that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort built on a mountainside flowing down to the sea..unfortunately you can not swim at that beach..there are a number of pools that guests may use,,but as usual getting a chair can be problematic if you don't get there early..the restaurants ,with the exception of La Freida, are average...also felt as if I spent 20% of my vacation in a golf cart or on a shuttle bus between Sunset and sister hotels..I think there are better options down in the Marina area...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are owners at Montecristo and were there for the first half of October, 2012. All eight guests in our party contracted stomach problems and this has never happened before. We advised the concierge but were told that no one else was getting ill. However, in speaking with others around the pool, we found that this was a very prevalent problem. Also the level of maintenance in our unit #63 was not very good. The microwave unit had to be replaced, the dishwasher did not work, there was a leak under the kitchen sink, cockroaches in the unit and the hot water heater put out nasty rust colored water. Granted when we complained about these things, some were fixed, others were not. Frankly, this level of maintenance is unacceptable considering the amount of our maintenance fees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I fell in love with Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach (after staying a week, at Holistica) and bought a Junior Suite with my husband 3 years ago. This year we bought THREE more executive suites (cash) as we love the resort THAT much! Three times this year, we have tried to stay at PB Sunset Beach. My husband and I both own our own company’s and do not have the freedom to plan out a vacation a year in advance. I tried reserving a week for July 2012 – I was unable to get a reservation when I called in April, so we stayed at the Westin, Cabo. When I called in July for November, again, PB Sunset Beach was booked. So, we stayed at Secrets, Puerto Vallarta instead and spent $10,000 on beautiful amazing upgrades to an ocean view room with our own private pool. We also enjoyed a lovely bottle of Opus One with a private waiter and custom dinner just for us. It was heavenly! We have now given our money to two resorts, Westin and AMResorts (Secrets/Dreams) when we would have much rather stayed at PB, where we have purchased 4 weeks.

I just found out we can plan a vacation in April, 2013, and again was told the resort was booked. You CAN go onto RCI and book at PB Sunset Beach. However, you are limited to doing that to once every 3 years. So, I have 4 weeks at this beautiful resort, a week I can go on vacation in April (and this is again the 3rd time calling and they are booked) and I can't get in.

We are now no longer going to attempt to stay at the resort for our vacations as it is painfully obvious that the resort wants to cater to folks who are not owners. We will most likely stop paying our resort maintenance fees and probably sell. It’s worthless anyway. Or, just deposit our 4 weeks into RCI every year. We have zero intention of ever going to PB Sunset ever again. Why even try?

Thanks for the rude awakening and the horrible experience as timeshare owners. It’s every bit as awful as people said it would be. I will never again recommend PB Sunset to our friends and family, and will also make sure to recommend all the new and exciting resorts we visit.

We also will never again make the mistake of buying into a timeshare. What a scam.

By the way - if you DO go to PB Sunset, it is beautiful and wonderful. Which is exactly why I bought there, and why I want to go back. But... can't seem to get reservations in... Now they are booked until mid- May.

Last successful jaunt to PB Sunset was 11/2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.