We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place w/caveats!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place w/caveats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Gorgeous property! Once you check in, you are ushered to the "time share representative" to schedule your viewing of the property, plus, "we give you free gifts!" "cash money!"....
Each and every time you head to the front door, or relax at the Sky Pool, more reps run after you. I felt accosted - in hall ways, in the lower pool restaurant. I learned to say, "I'm an owner" to avoid this. But then, they try to get owners to "buy up"!

The room itself was nice. Friend owns it as a timeshare - but know that "they wouldn't do it again" as you can never get your week, subject to change fees, etc.

Prices are high: From dinner in the restaurants on property to the little grocery on the property. Bag of potato chips: $6.50 American. Dr. Pepper $7.50 American. They'll want you to open a "credit card tab" for ease of charging when on the premises.

Issues with room: refrigerator missing interior portions, few towels, had to constantly ask for more. You hear the carts that zoom you around the property. I also had a gardener at my slider at 8am - opened the door, and there he was- trimming the plant on the other side. A felt this was peeping Tomish. No oven in room. Coffee not free in room. In room bottled water was $9.00. Sugar packets = $1. You will feel like you are getting nickeled and dimed.

Everything costs more:
Internet fee charged per day. (first 40 min free); late check out to add an hour $100.

Suggestion: get it at a low rate, rent a car (cheaper to rent than airport transit), buy groceries in town, dine at small off the main drag restaurants. DO NOT LISTEN TO ANYONE at the airport. They are ALL timeshare representatives. They will make promises (only a 75 min presentation! We give you $100! You will know they are not just helping you arrange a tour when they ask YOU for $15 per person to "hold your breakfast spot" etc. Go directly to the curb outside the airport to your rental car representative.

Big plus here: no one is selling on the beach. However, you cannot use this beach as there are dangerous riptides, rocks, etc on this ocean side.

Room Tip: Shop around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    759
    301
    183
    133
See reviews for
946
1,223
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This hotel/timeshare was amazing from the moment we arrived. We checked in with Anne and she helped us get the most wonderful room we have ever had. We were in the second tier of building from the beach up and on the 3rd floor. The waves crashed on the beach as we slept with the sliders open every night. My son slept on the little outdoor deck in a lawn chair everynight. It was so peaceful. No noise from neighbors. Only once was there a little loud partying, lasted a short time and hey your in Mexico on vacation so what do you expect. The food at The Bistro on our first eve was amazing. They had a enchillada special on Friday night that melted in my mouth. I was in enchillada heaven. My tween/teen had a ball. They made friends the first day and from then on we had to locate them cause they were off enjoying themselves with the new found friends. The activities for them were great, son played water volleyball and took the italian cooking class which he enjoyed very much. Angel who drove the golf cart was particularly engaging with the kids and they really liked him a lot. They also loved the grounds and all the peacocks and flamingos and other birds all in averies on site. Having 5 pools need I say more. We went to the sky pool once but it was a bit windy that day up there so after that it was only the lower pools for us. The food service at the pools was very good. Angel at the pool was a fantastic server and was speedy and very friendly. The happy hour seemed to change after our first day and we never really figured out why. The Spa was super nice too. I have had better massages in the past but they had a nice facility. I used it all, the steam room being my favorite. I used the internet cafe to surf the net, check my mail, and to check in for our departure and print boarding passes it was very resonable pricing. I intentionally didnt allow our family to take electronics on vacation so that we could get unplugged for a week. Like before all this stuff existed you had to create your own adventures and wanted the kids to focus on real life social life with real face to face kids. So it was a Electronics Free Vacation.
Will we be back again? I sure hope so because it was a wonderful break from the rain and a wonderful place.
Only two downsides...1.The diesel from the golf carts at night (ones with the tents on them) and 2. Their were little sugar ants in the kitchen the first night but the staff got that taken care of and we never had another issue (they left us a can of raid just incase). Not having the ocean to swim in didnt even matter cause you could still hear the waves and walk the beach. I will definately put this on the list of most relaxing beautiful places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This resort has always been at the top of our favorites list. But this year no towels at the pools, internet previously included without charge in the rooms is now an add on and unreliable, water stopped flowing during showers, and restaurant service was only minimally acceptable. We hope that Sunset Beach doesn't lose its five star rating. We have come to expect more from this resort. Whale watching was great. We had some terrific dinners in town. We hope next year will be back to the superior service we expect from Sunset Beach.

Room Tip: Great private views from ALL the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

My son and I stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach for 5 nights. This is our third time coming here, and it continues to impress us every time. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. We had a junior suite and had a magnificent view of the ocean. The main pool is gorgeous, and the "Sky Pool" has magnificent views of the Pacific. The food is very good, but it takes a while to get it at "The Bistro". They only downside is that the resort is a bit far from downtown and from the marina. However, I highly recommend this resort

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Absolutely stunning resort, villas built into the cliff side, 50+ acre property, and beautiful ocean sunset views. We stayed in a 2br presidential with a hot tub on the balcony, and also had a master suite for other family, and the rooms were fantastic with granite countertops, marble floors, and cedar furniture. Spent most of the time either at the sky pool, or on Medano beach via the free shuttle. It left hourly to the Rose and was very convenient, and it was nice to be in the middle of all the action on medano beach or using the Rose pool, but at the same time to be able to seperate yourself from it and be at your peaceful resort on the pacific side. Besides the resort being a thing of beauty, the staff are some of the nicest and hospitable I've come across. This is truly a 5 star operation, and all the travel awards make perfect sense.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We just returned from a week at PBSB. We own a week here but we had not been here since 2003 (traded and went other places). It was amazing to see how it all finished out. In 2003 much of the upper part of the resort did not exist. Everything is finished now and it is beautiful. The resort is kept immaculate & spotless! Our suite was great - our 9 yr old son slept on the pull out bed and loved it! It is not like our fold-up beds - it is one entire mattress that just slides under the kitchen counter area! We did go into town using the free shuttle service to PB Rose. You needed free tickets, but we found you were often able to go "stand by" and get on. No one really likes making time commitments when on vacation, so many don't show up to use their free shuttle tickets! We ate at La Nao and it was a bit pricey but good. We ate a the Bistro for breakfast, good food but again a little pricey. However, the view from the outside patio is breathtaking! We saw whales from the resort balconies many days. I would not recommnend our room(2457), as it was above a noisy plant of some sort - either water or electricity. It drowned out the sound of the waves that I would have rather heard. Since we don't come here to stay in the room, it was only slightly annoying!! One night the large family on the patio next to us was drinking and quite loud, but with the doors closed at least is was a dull roar. The sky pool is amazing - really feels like you are swimming in the sky!

Room Tip: If you want up high, ask for bldgs 21 or 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach in Cabo San Lucas and knew at first sight that we had booked the right resort. The resort is stunningly beautiful and the landscaping and site lines are georgeous. The pools, restaurants, bars, spa and all amenities are executed perfectly and show great care in planning. The golf cart shuttles were extremely efficient and effective. The free shuttle to the other Pueblo Bonito resorts in Cabo were very reliable. We are very particular people, and we were not disappointed. We highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: No bad rooms due to scattered pools & shuttles
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.