We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cooking Experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Colores School of Traditional Mexican Cooking

Casa de Colores School of Traditional Mexican Cooking
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Rockport, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cooking Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Donna provided us with the opportunity to learn about cooking different kinds of peppers--recipes were easy to follow, the hands-on approach was fun and the resulting food was delicious. I would highly recommend this class!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Have a great time at the CDC (casa de colores) without needing any shots (antibiotics that is)!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Having done all the routine Cabo tourist events in town, we read reviews for Casa De Colores and Barbara's cooking classes. We opted for a late-morning class and emailed Barbara our list of desired menu choices. After stopping at a local panaderia for fresh tortillas, we continued to the CDC. Barbara's place is amazing and offered a great choice for us to focus on the menu items we had discussed. Not only did she offer hands-on instruction, but the end results were tasty. She provided us with printed menu lists and has since answered email questions about the the items we prepared.

We're all set to return in April and are all set for another class..

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A definite must do for food lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Donna has been here long enough to give the history of the area, the people and the food. You will gain a whole new appreciation for rellenos, the sauces, etc. It was the best part of our trip! Well worth the price!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A South-of-the-Border Education in Culinary Delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

In Cabo San Lucas there many detours and sidepoints that deserve mentioning. Everyone comes for the beaches, the seafood, the fine beverages and nightlife, but rethink your vacation time. Add a cooking class with Donna Jones at Casa de Colores and you will receive an education in Mexican cooking than should entertain. She is vibrant, intelligent and a delightful instructor. Hard to not recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Donna is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Traditional Mexican dishes oh so good! I was cooking them the 2nd day arriving home! this is a must try for any food lover out there. We went for 2 days of cooking lessons and learned about moles, salsas, how to make corn tortilla's from scratch, sopas, tamales savory and sweet. She is a warm friendly woman not for one moment will you feel out of place. :)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Colores School of Traditional Mexican Cooking also viewed

 

Been to Casa de Colores School of Traditional Mexican Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Colores School of Traditional Mexican Cooking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.