We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time ... Gus was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa de Gus

La Palapa de Gus
Ninos Heroes Entre Zaragoza y Morelos, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
+52 624 143 9569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 377 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Palapa the GUS is owned and managed by Gus, a friendly host from Chapala, Mexico. He opened La Palapa the GUS (not to be confused by La Palapa in Me Cabo Hotel), 7 years ago bringing over 40 years of Mama & Papa Sanchez secret recipes to Cabo. Enjoy the friendly local atmosphere choosing from seafood, pasta, steak and over 30 sauces prepared fresh daily - a must try is Gus´ famous Pecan Salad dressing.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First time ... Gus was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our boat captain suggested we take our catch to "his brothers" restaurant to be prepared for our dinner....since many restaurants will do your fish for you. We did a drive-by of the restaurant and liked what we saw....and went back at dinner time with our cleaned fish in a bag. Gus did indeed fix it for us 3 ways..blackened, grilled and my favorite with a little coating and fried.FANTASTIC food, drinks and service. In fact, we have the same amount of fish for tonight and are returning to have Gus prepare our last night of vacation dinner. Mahi-Mahi or Dorado. YUM!...
La Palapa was a new find this year, again you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    25
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La palapa is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went fishing with El Pargo II Jorge Solorio Gus's brother and he suggested we take our Dorado we caught that day to have his brother cook it for us. I must say my husband was so surprised. What a great meal and the waiter and Gus were the best. A must go to place when you come to Cabo.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

La Palapa is exactly what you want when visiting Cabo. The food is well prepared, delicious, and it is not priced for tourists. I have been here 6 times, and every time it has been excellent.

One of the times was the rehearsal dinner for my wife and I. The service was prompt, the food was amazing, and Gus (the owner) was quite accomodating.

Although this place is a block off the beaten path, it is well worth the trip!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

On first glance you might think twice about going in, but Gus and his staff are the best. My 17 year old wanted to eat every meal there but had to settle for 2 times during the week we were there. He seems to be losing reviews to another La Palapa at a hotel, make no mistake this is the one to go to. Flaming Bananas foster prepared table side is a must. My family ate fish both times and raved about it and I had the enchiladas and tamales both excellent. Remember to order the pecan dressing salad or lobster bisque, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Every time I go to Cabo, which has been 4 times in the last 16 months, I eat at Gus' at least once. The food is outstanding and Gus aims to please. He will custom make a meal, or do an "all you can eat". His staff takes their lead from him--- very outgoing and friendly. It is a relaxed, warm environment, with great people and outstanding food. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa de Gus also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Palapa de Gus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa de Gus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.