We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Luxury and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned and loved this resort. You have availability of 2 neighboring resorts so never bored at one pool or bar. All three pools have very different vibe, from relaxing and sedate to party central and the beach was never crowded. We rented from private owner [1305] and very happy with the luxurious unit at a reasonable rate for ocean front 2 bedroom luxury condo. We ate at the pirate ship next door and also Villa del Palmar buffet and dinner show one night, both were fun and good. We also like to have a car so went to town every day and parking was oddly never a problem. Only things that could improve are the wifi and the airport transfers, others in our party had trouble unless a shuttle is booked in advance. However, the staff was extremely helpful in anything needed. Bravo

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear. sunless_n...

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others. Your comments are highly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your future visit to Cabo.

Cordially,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    136
    40
    32
    20
See reviews for
360
245
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Vicki and Malcolm at Estanciavacations.com were very helpful in arranging our 10 day stay through a private owner at Villa La Estancia. The property was excellent. The condo unit was very well appointed with everything we needed. The overall property was clean with a amazing, helpful and friendly staff. The proximity to Cabo was great. We were able to take a $7 taxi ride to and from town for dinners at some great restaurants. I highly recommend the resort and estanciavacations.com.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear. Michael B ,

We are pleased to know that you had a great time at Vila La Estancia. We look forward to welcoming you soon, on your next vacation.

Kind regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending 2 weeks at this lovely resort. Many of the units are privately owned, other timeshares with some affiliation with the Villa Group. We were not interested in full or fractional ownership, and were not even asked by one peraon to take a look.
Our unit was privately owned, and had been remodeled so there was one entrance for the entire villa. I believe it was about 2000sq ft, 2 bedrms, 3 full baths. There were just two of us, so we did not use the additional bedroom and bath.
The lanai was the best part...huge, seating for 10, complete with Weber gas grill, and a stunning view of the grounds, pool beach, and arc. We were on the 6th floor, which I believe provided a better view than lower floors.
Everyone we encountered at the resort was very friendly, and eager to please. A bellman named Alfonso really went out of his way whenever we needed his assistance for hauling groceries, etc.
There are two restaurants on property, and you have privileges as the sister property restaurants on either side of VLE. We enjoyed lunch three times at VLE, and breakfast once. All were Ok, nothing special. Breakfast one day at the little market next door was good for the price, and we also enjoyed wood fired pizza at one of the sister resorts.
The resort provides towels, beach service, room service, car rental, and anything you could need or want. It is a step above the sister resorts, and we will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors probably provide better views. The first number of the villa is the building number, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear. travelerS...

We thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are so happy to know that you have a pleasure day with us , I will share your kind comments with our staff, all we will be waiting for you again on your next visit to beautiful Cabo.

Cordially,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This lovely property sits facing the rocks and the water. The water here is so blue you just marvel at it. The facility is full of helpful, friendly staff and is just plain beautiful. The pool set up is ideal as there is a separate area for little children and a swim up bar. There are two restaurants on the this property and you also can use the restaurants on the two adjacent properties but no reason to as this is the most beautiful of the three. It is a short walk to town but make sure you watch where you are walking as sidewalks are uneven at best. A great place to stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear. DancingQu...

On behalf of Villa La Estancia we thank you for having shared your experience at the resort with others. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next Visit to beautiful Cabo.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went down to Cabo for a friends wedding, some of the guest were in the hotel and some were in the sister property next door. Ours was a family hotel which meant a bunch of ill mannered and undisciplined children running around while their parents sipped on ritas without a care in the world. If would have known this was the family hotel I would have opted for the property next door.
When checked in, as stated in other reviews, the staff is just plain rude or maybe just disconnected, who knows? Either way just from the beginning you get a bad taste in your mouth. We finally got our room on the first floor and even though we paid for a ocean view this wasn't. We made our way to the bar and found that the bar staff was fairly attentive...but they are wanting tips. The food was average and to be honest I didn't expect much, it wasn't bad just average.
We did go to the sister property next door and it was much more laid back...had a good waitress and I wished we would have stayed there even more. Either way when we return we will find another hotel complex to stay...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear. Montecore...

We offer you our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We thank you for bringing this valuable information to our attention; do believe your comments will not go unnoticed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next vacations.

Respectfully,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Excellent facility. Room set up with 2 separate rooms connected by a common entry and patio is ideal fir families so everyone can have both their own private space as well as common space.

Quite expensive but worth it.

Definitely have beach and pool chair hogs so have to get up very early to get chairs

Fitness center was great but in peak season is very crowded and have to wait at peak times.

Having a car is a major benefit. Parking was plentiful and included.

Staff were great. Very helpful. Tour guy in lobby was great. Concierges fantastic.

Rented through Malcolm. Aside from a slight mix up in rooms resolved far in advance of arrival the reservation was flawless. His local concierge arranged all our dinner reservations in advance and all were perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear. malvern

On behalf of Villa La Estancia we would like to thank you for your kind comments. I will share your good experience with our staff in special with concierge, they and all in Villa La Estancia will be very happy to see you again.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Heading back to Estancia for our third time. We can't wait! This is a beautiful property with beautiful villas. The villas are very spacious along with the balcony's that offer wonderful views of the ocean and Lands End. I prefer building 3 with the morning sun and afternoon shade. It is chilly in the morning so having your coffee on the balcony with the sun shining on you is a great way to start the day! After being out at the beach and pools all day, we always enjoy snacks and drinks in the shade of our balcony in the afternoon. There is a Costco, Sam's Club and Walmart not too far away from the resort. Grab a cab (they will wait for you) and stock up on drinks, snacks and breakfast items. Great way to save a little money by not going out for every meal. There is a small grocery and deli on the premises. It is a little pricey but if you just need something small, it is worth not getting a cab for. They make great pico in the deli. We buy it by the tub full! The swim up pool bar is a favorite. The bartenders will get to know you quickly and practically have your drink ready by the time you swim up! They make great fruit smoothies for the kids. The food served at the pool bar is quite tasty too. As a guest of Estancia, you are allowed to use the sister resorts on both sides-Palmar and Arco. Palmar has a nice pool for kids with a water slide. They also have an outdoor pizza oven which serves incredible pizza. Estancia is close enough to town if you feel like taking a 15 minute walk. There are plenty of great restaurants along the beach that you can walk to also. The kids love the beach and playing in the waves. Warning about the waves though. They can be quite strong, so always keep an eye on your kids! Every now and then, you get a rogue wave that will amaze you. That's when you are jumping up, grabbing your towel and running up higher on the beach! The vendors can be a little annoying at times but just say NO and most of the time they will walk away. Cabo is a beautiful place and worth the trip! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Building 3 receives morning sun and afternoon shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear. Zinwinegi...

Thanks very much for your preference. We are so happy to know that you and your family found in Villa La Estancia a good place to enjoy your vacation.
We will be so happy to hosting you once again on your next visit to beautiful Cabo.

Best Regards
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.