We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on Medano Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on Medano Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for five nights during spring break with our four children. Our villa was in the north building (1000's), which we loved because it wasn't too hot in the afternoon on the deck. I've heard that in the summer, it's better to be in the south building (3000's) for that reason. I can't say enough good things about the quality of the rooms. Huge, spacious, wonderful deck to hang out on. We didn't rent our villa directly from the hotel, but rented through La Estancia Vacations. They are based out of Florida and are the largest broker of rentals at the property. It is much cheaper to rent through them or directly from an owner on VRBO. I would definitely use La Estancia Vacations again though because they had the largest selection of villas to pick from.

The key is to pick a villa with the smallest fourth number in the room number; those are closest to the beach. For example, ours was 1404. That means we were in the north building (1), fourth floor (4), fourth villa in from the beach (04). There are about nine villas on each floor of the two main buildings.

The pools were excellent, beach was great. The Office and that area was only a 8-10 minute walk down the beach. There is a spa which was top-notch in the sister property next door (Villa del Arco). Incidentally, you can use the pools at the two sister properties (del Arco and del Palmar) but I don't know why you would bc La Estancia is much more peaceful and less crowded than the other two. Del Palmar seemed kind of lame to be honest.

The only knock on the resort is that the poolside restaurant food was only marginal.

Overall we really loved our stay there and will definitely be staying there again the next time our family goes to Cabo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear. PlasticsMan_70:

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your spring break at Villa La Estancia. We look forward to welcoming you soon on your next visit to beautiful Cabo and provide you with the excellent service you expect and deserve.

Kind Regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    145
    40
    32
    22
See reviews for
374
275
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Villa La Estancia is an absolutely beautiful resort in a great location on El Madano Beach in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. The grounds are immaculate, a setting that might appear in a romantic film about love in paradise. The swimming pools are pristine and the swim-up bar allows vacationers to stay cool while quenching their thirst and chatting with other vacationers. The resort offers the option of hanging around the gorgeous pool area, resting on the beach, working out in the modern gym, or enjoying one of the many hot tubs. The beach is vast, so going for long walks along the sandy shore is another option. Along the way, you may enjoy drinks or food at The Office , the Mango Deck or any of the other restaurants and bars dotting the beautiful tan sandy shoreline of El Madano Beach. You can walk all the way to the Marina and into town if you choose, where you’ll find a variety of shops, restaurants, and bars. Though we walked through town, we spent most of our time at the resort where we joined the meal plan that allowed us to dine at any of the restaurants in the three complexes that compose the Villa Group Resorts: Villa La Estancia, the diamond of the three, Villa Del Arco, and Villa del Palmer. The meal plan is a good deal, if not for drinks alone, and the restaurants provide a wide variety of choices: Italian, sushi/seafood, Mexican, a steakhouse, and poolside grills. Additionally, there are other breakfast and lunch choices throughout the three resorts. However, if you are accustomed to high quality cuisine and consider yourself a “foodie,” you might be disappointed. Some of the meals were good while others--not so much. The service at the Italian restaurant was extremely slow. We sat for nearly 30 minutes before a waitress took our order, me the seafood pasta and my wife a vegetable pizza. The pizza was adequate while the pasta dish was extremely disappointing, especially for a restaurant on the ocean. The open-air steakhouse has excellent ambiance, but the food left much to be desired. For us, the best dining spot was El Faro at Villa del Acro, but it was hit and miss there too. We had two average meals and a great one, though the sushi was consistently good. Nevertheless, all the restaurants are perfectly located for a romantic evening. The best thing about the meal plan is that is offers multiple options if you choose to stay near the resort and you can have drinks throughout all three resorts; there is even a sports bar. The price of the meal plan includes tax and tip, but it seemed as if the servers expected extra. This is a complicated issue because a tip is included, but is it adequate? That is unclear. On the other hand, the entire staff is helpful and courteous, always a pleasure to deal with. A downside is that the resort does not offer a business office and the in-room Internet service is intermittent. I work online and was, on one occasion, forced to go to the lobby to obtain access. Access for the rest of the vacation was intermittent, sometimes fast and sometimes very slow. The one bedroom suite was stayed in was absolutely amazing with multiple amenities including a large balcony that provided a breathtaking view of the sea. We couldn’t have asked for a better location. The Villa La Estancia is a terrific place, one where we plan to return. The staff, the accommodations, and the grounds are truly excellent. The restaurants, though adequate for many, did not live up to a higher standard. However, we are very picky, discerning eaters.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites in phase 3 are great. We were on the 6th floor, 3606. Simply awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear. WritersChoice :
We appreciated the time you took to share your experience with others. On behalf of Villa La Estancia we offer you our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, your comments are highly appreciated as they assist us in our effort to improve our service. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjtraveler2008
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited the Villa La Estancia for a friend's wedding over Easter. I'll start w/ the good. The resort is beautiful, some of the rooms are amazing; with great views, sunken tubs, clean, good water pressure in shower and great natural light. The restaurant at the pool has great food and we never got sick from anything we ate/drank while on the premises. The location is also good, you can walk to the primary beach bars and it really is just a less than 5 min cab to the center of town.

THE BAD- If you get stuck w/ a horrible room (ie: the entrance is right in front of valet on the first floor where everyone walks by) you are pretty much screwed. They call these rooms "ocean view" even though you couldn't see the ocean. We complained and complained some more. Some people got lucky and were moved while others weren't. They didn't move us until the 3rd night of our 4 night stay. The staff wasn't even willing to look in the computer to see what options we had just said, "we are full" over and over again. Whoever threw the biggest fit got moved. They even tried to screw the bride w/ a first floor room where you couldn't see the ocean which is what we needed for pictures and was requested days before. She pitched a fit when they said there was nothing they could do and only after 4 hours of complaining were they magically able to find a better room for her. It's actually unbelievable the lack of customer service. My husband speaks fluent Spanish and still couldn't make it happen. I would not stay here again b/c I wouldn't want to roll the dice and keep fingers crossed that we get a nice room; it's not worth the stress or the money.

Room Tip: Do not be on the first floor or in the back of the horseshoe. Good luck trying to change rooms whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear kjtraveler2008,
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel on the whole and especially the restaurants. I am sorry that you did not like the location and the view of the room we had reserved for you. The fact is that your reservation was for a garden view room and that is what we assigned. Normally, in the case that a guest does not like the location of the room and we are not full, we are able to find a room with a location and view which is more of their liking. However, on the day of your arrival the hotel was totally fully booked with all rooms occupied. Therefore, we were unable to change you to another room at that time and not until we had other guests checking out. I assure you that we always try to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I sincerely hope that if you travel again to Cabo San Lucas you will give us another chance and stay with us once more.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at Villa Estancia 3 different times. I try other hotels, but keep returning to Villa Estancia! The hotel has lovely sea views and the apartments are beautifully decorated, although some are starting to show their age. The pools and grounds on the property are very well kept. This hotel has it all-it is very safe, great ocean swimming, easy to get to downtown and the restaurants are good. I recommend this property highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear. juju1967 :
Thank you for sharing such a delightful review from your third Villa La Estancia visit!
I definitely agree with you, our rooms need new decoration and we are working on the renovation.
I hope to have the opportunity to show you our new rooms on your future visit to Cabo.

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Absolutely no issues as such.

It is 20mins. walk to-from the shopping-center/downtown. So just be aware of that. Cab one-way is $7 (Up to 4 people can travel for a total of $7. so fairly inexpensive.) but it adds up if you need to make couple of trips in the same day.

It is a little on the pricey side. Casa Dorado - just next door and closer to downtown area - may be less pricey and equally good. Try that one too.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3302. This was just overlooking the ocean and had a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear. Aks G :
We thank you for your kind review. Your comments have been forwarded to those involved. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay. It is a short walk into downtown Cabo but far enough to feel that you are on a more secluded beach. I walked and drove pretty much the whole town and looked at most of the hotels and this was the best choice. The price was great and the resort was beautiful. The best part is the beach in front of the hotel. It's a lot less crowded than the beaches closer to downtown but you can still walk the beach right to the town center. You get the best of both worlds. This is a clear choice next time I stay there too.

Room Tip: See if they can get you an ocean facing room because the view is phenomenol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear. Tubetop:
We thank you for choose Villa La Estancia as your best option in Cabo, thank you for letting us hear about your amazing visit. Please do come see us again soon!

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here & loved it! The employees are very helpful and the bell hops are awesome, they know all the best restaurants. The rooms and bathrooms are huge and we can't wait to go back! Don't fall for the timeshare sales pitches at the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear. A M:
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay at Villa La Estancia. We are simply delighted that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed our service, restaurants and Rooms.
Once again, thank you for letting us hear about your amazing visit. Please do come see us again soon!

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#6 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,440 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.