We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet setting but close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Save Saved
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet setting but close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family and I had a fabulous trip to Villa La Estancia. The location is fantastic, close to town but quiet (not near the the craziness of the Spring Break bars on the beach.) You can para sail, jet ski or take a water taxi right at the beach in front of the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and well appointed. There is a full kitchen in the one bedroom villa with a large pantry which was perfect for a family that is constantly hungry. The view of Lands End from our balcony was breathtaking. All in all a wonderful trip at a lovely resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear. MtnMom0406:

It is great to hear that you had an incredible visit to Villa La Estancia; I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We trust you will both return again soon for another great experience at Villa La Estancia Paradise!

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    118
    38
    32
    20
See reviews for
277
210
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What if you could wake up in beautiful Cabo San Lucas and view the stunning blue waters while still relaxing in your bed? This literally was us - in room 3307!

We just returned from 9 nights at Villa La Estancia and it was truly perfect. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeting by the most gracious staff! Everyone from the Doorman, to the Desk Clerk, all the way to the gentleman who assisted with our groceries and even helped us put them into the refrigerator and pantry!

Pictures of this resort have no way of doing it justice, as it's just stunning. The grounds are impeccably landscaped, the flowers are gorgeous, the pools are spottless etc. Not to mention the view, which is amazing from the moment you enter the lobby.

My husband used the gym, and my sister-in-law took a yoga class, as well as treated herself to a pedicure in the spa. But probably the most standout thing was, my brother was fighting a sinus issue from the time he arrived and decided that possibly a steam would help. The attendant who was working in the spa, upon hearing of his discomfort, offered to add eucalyptus to his steam, which finally did the trick! How knowledgeable and thoughtful of her.

We enjoyed desert at La Casona one evening which was lovely and my husband and I also had lunch at La Parrilla on our last day, prior to departing for the airport. I only wish we had tried it earlier - it was delish. The swimup bars were very nice and the drinks reasonably priced for such a setting. Villa Del Arco and Villa Del Palmar are just steps away and we noticed a lot of families with small children, who looked to be having a blast. Villa La Estancia is a little more quiet but we did see families there as well.

Now to our actual condo... It was beyond perfect! Important to point out though, these units are individually owned so each one is appointed differently. Ours boasted a fully equipped kichen, complete with new granite countertops. The outdoor patio tables were also granite. The decor was just awesome and very in keeping with the Mexican culture. The owner even called us after we arrived, just to ensure that all was to our liking / comfort. We spent a lot of time enjoying the outdoor space which included a Weber grill. It was so nice to prepare a few dinners in, after the long days on the beach. While I believe Villa La Estancia may be booked via Expedia etc., we used Vacation Rentals By Owner and I wouldn't go any other way! You're able to hand pick the perfect unit and several of the staff members indicated that ours was one of the nicest. It may be found via Google by simply entering 'VRBO 158760'. This will direct you to the owner's page. We corresponded with him directly from the onset and the entire process couldn't have been easier.

The proximity of Villa La Estancia is perfect for walking into town via the beach. It's only about 15 minutes to reach the Sand Bar, Mango Deck, The Office etc. Or, a taxi ride into town is only $7.00 USD. Beware ahead of time though, the taxi drivers don't carry change (or at least claim not to). On that note, it's really the best idea to arrive into Mexico carrying a starter amount of their currency. The exchange rate (today) is 12.50 Pesos to the USD. The restaurants will give you the guest check in Pesos and USD but if you choose to pay in USD, the rate of exchange is manipulated to about 11.00. ATMs also have a less favorable exchange rate, coupled with very high fees, over an above what your bank will charge. Lastly, a Passport is now required to deal with the bank in any capacity - even changing money.

We absolutely plan to return to Villa La Estancia and stay again in room 3307! It was a perfect, memorable vacation.

Room Tip: Room 3307 has a great view! Book via VRBO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear. PDXFolks:
Thank you for sharing such a delightful review from your summer visit! I definitely agree with you, all our villas are beautiful perfect for relaxing and enjoying the ocean view.
I have shared your great comments with our Team who loved to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, pools and services.
Will be a pleasure to welcome at your next vacations

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a week and it was terrific. The amenities were great and the staff was helpful. The pool was gorgeous, the beach outstanding, and you're close enough to town that you could walk there if you wanted to. While the food is good, the menu can get boring, so you shouldn't limit yourself to the resort (I think lunch was the best meal offering). I would absolutely go back!

I also spent some time at the spa which was such a great idea - the massage was great but the whirlpools and facilities made for a truly relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear. RachelBeth18:
It is great to hear that you had a terrific visit at Villa La Estancia! I’m delighted that you enjoyed our Pool, Spa and attentive service by our entire team!
We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Cabo.
Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed next door at Villa Del Palmar... but honestly the room we got here at Villa La Estancia blew Palmar away (Palmar is still definitely a nice place also). We were five of us, and had plenty of space in the two bedroom/three bathroom unit. Free wifi was a plus! And the restaurant on the premises had some great food and service (yummy chilaquiles!). When I go back to Cabo in the future, this will be the place I'd prefer to stay at!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear. EM2009 :

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our spacious room and our fabulous “La Casona” restaurant!

I’m delighted we exceeded your expectations.

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just got back from a 6 day stay at Villa la Estancia.
This is the quieter one of the Villa group of hotels in Los Cabos. There's also the Villa Del Arco and the Villa Del Palmar right next door.
This property has around 20 buildings, each with 7-8 floors and multiple elevators.
Rooms: We had the 1 bedroom suite with a kitchen,jacuzzi and a large balcony. We were pleased with the size of the room, it was quite spacious.
The sofa's were quite worn out, the Jacuzzi, the WIFI and the air conditioner were also non functional.
The bed in both the rooms was lumpy and uneven.
Restaurants: Villa La Estancia has 2 restaurants. We ate most of the nights at La Casona. The food and the service were very good. We were only able to have breakfast at the La Casona as it was being remodeled the rest of the days and was closed. The other good restaurants were at Villa Del Arco (next door) called El Patron and El Faro.
Pool side service was OK, we got a waiter who never smiled and always looked grumpy. Pool side service at Villa Del Arco and at Villa Del Palmar was much nicer and enjoyable.
Pools are ok, water was cold but not for the kids...

Spa: The Desert Spa was nice but over priced. The spa requires you to give a mandatory 15-20% tip for all services and is included in your bill regardless of the quality of the services.

The resort was not too busy when we checked in but they still gave us a room in the last/corner building, on the first floor and literally in the corner.

After we complained about the non operational equipment we were then moved to a different room in building #3 which had a working WIFI, Jacuzzi and air con.

We had already unpacked when we noticed these issues a day later. We had to repack and carry all of our stuff to a different building/room and unpack once again. This was an unappreciated hassle, we are on a vacation.

Upon check in, I had inquired wheather if any other rooms were available and I was told that 'We are completely full and we have nothing else available'.
At night, I saw that every building had only 2-3-4 lights lit on the different floors. Also, there were very few people in the restaurants and by the pool side.
If there is availability then why put guests in a corner room in the corner building which has a lot of issues?

The property itself is nice and has a lot of potential. They need to replace some of the staff and improve the quality of their furnishings.

Please mark this review as 'helpful' if it is.

Room Tip: Do not take any rooms in building #1. Ask to speak with a manager to see if you can have a choice. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent 10 days at Villa La Estancia from April 4, 2013 to April 14,2013. Everything was perfect and just gorgeous!! Most relaxing vacation we have ever experienced. The villa 2402 was splendid with a direct ocean view that we enjoyed evenings sitting on the balcony with our wine. The staff was above and beyond helpful. They even brought our Walmart purchases to our room for us. No need to rent a car. Taxis are readily available anywhere you go for around $7 each way.

Room Tip: Our room was in building 2 and had a direct view of the ocean. We were very happy with our room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear. Linda M :

We thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you soon to Villa La Estancia on your next vacations.

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just returned from spending our children's school break in Cabo and we stayed at the wonderful Villa La Estencia! We had a beautiful 2 bedroom in building number 1 on the second floor, gorgeous view, plenty of room for my husband and I and 3 teenagers! The terrace was huge and so nice to sit out in the morning with coffee (and great little donuts from the market on the property), and sit out in the afternoon sun when we were done with the water. We left the terrace doors open at night and loved to hear the ocean all night. I'm just shocked after reading a recent negative post of a couples experience checking in, their room, and service in general. Our experience and that of our friends who stayed there too was amazing and from the moment we checked in we couldn't have been more happy. The concierge who checked us in was great, but Nelson usually helped us with our questions, and various reservations. There was also another concierge who tracked down my laptop that I left on the van that brought us from the airport! Thank you again and Trans Cabo! Our unit was spotless and Nayeli was so sweet and worked so hard to clean our unit (again 3 teenagers!) and provide us the little extras that we appreciated. She even made us little kissing swans with our kitchen towels - and it was our anniversary which I don't believe she knew! We travel quit a bit and frankly I was shocked at the value we received for our dollar; we've stayed at many condos in Hawaii half the size for the same amount, with less amenities. We did not do the all inclusive because we like to try other restaurants and prefer the convenience of a simple breakfast of smoothies and snacks in the room. We did eat at the resort for breakfast once - great, Italian a couple of times - easy and good pizza and pasta, a dinner and lunch as well - all very good. The resort is spotless, everyone works so hard all day long! Oh and i did the spa too - unbelievable! if you enjoy spa services or just simply having your nails done then you must go to this beautiful oasis! We are already planning our return trip - thank you!

Room Tip: I'm sure they are great in their own way but I loved not being on the ground floor so we could k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear. Cummings5As :

On behalf of Villa La Estancia we thank you for your kind feedback after your stay with us and for sharing it with others, We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Cabo , Nelson , Nayely and everyone look forward to welcoming you soon and provide you with the excellent service you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.