We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to paradise with awesome service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Trophy Club, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Close to paradise with awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is our place to stay during Spring Break. We have stayed in the place in 2012 and 2013 and loved it. The place is exclusive, the personnel is very friendly. The only recommendation is that you check the availablity of wireless access if you need it. Some apartments have their own wireless access, but the common access is only from the lobby and pool area. If you can live without wireless access, that is fine, but my kids and myself spent lots of time in the lobby due to this. My vacation is not work, but I need to be able to read newspapers online and if I do not have access to that, it is not good enough for me. As said, this might not apply to all. We will be returning to this place, no question about it. The hotel is very close to downtown, but you really have to use a taxi and it is around $10 US one way, which is not bad at all. The taxi service works perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask whether the room will have morning sun or evening... and ask if there is access to wireless acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks very Much Dr. Salonen:

Your comments are highly appreciated as they assist us in our effort to improve our service. We are working on improving the Wi-Fi connections and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your next vacations.

Best Regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    119
    38
    32
    20
See reviews for
295
216
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife, myself, and our son went down for Thanksgiving weekend. My wife travels a lot and said this was her favorite place to stay from England to Australia! We went with an ocean view room and the all-inclusive package. View was fantastic and the food was exceptional. Loved the ability to use the other hotels restaurants. Service was impeccable from the maid service to the front desk and restaurants. Our favorite restaurant was right at Villa La Estancia for dinner. The guys were so nice, even setting up a place for our son to sleep after he passed out from too much swimming in the pool before dinner. We are saving our money now and already are planning to go back this fall.

Room Tip: Bumping up to the ocean view was well worth it! Read past reviews about the verandas being shared w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We thank you for choose Villa La Estancia and giving us the opportunity to serve you.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

See you soon,Best Regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our familys second springbreak in Villa La estancia. There is something magical about this place, as soon as you arrive to your villa it just feels home. The personel is superfriendly, they remember your name and make you feel like part of the family. If you need to know all the nice local restaurants, they will happily give you information about their own experiences and have never been wrong. The layout of the hotel is fantastic, you are never far from the pools or beach and the sunsets are beautiful if you sit in one of the hottubs by the pool. The Villas itself are spacious and beautiful, not to mention the huge balcony they all have. I think Villa Estancia is best either for adults or families with teenage or older children. i am originally fron Europe even though i live now in States and have travelled heavily around the world and i can say there are not that many places in this world where you need to return every year, for me though Villa La Estancia is that place.

Room Tip: Choose a room from 5 th floor or up from the side of Villa Del Arco to get the best morningsun. Reme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We thank you for your kind review, Villa La Estancia is your Home, will be a pleasure to host you for the third time in a near future.

Best Regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Apologies for the lateness of this review. We (wife, three boys [17, 14, and 11], and my Mom [75 and mobility impaired (wheelchair)] went back to Villa La Estancia for Thanksgiving 2012, having been there for the first time for Thanksgiving in 2011. We again booked the condo (3101) through Malcolm and Vicki at La Estancia Vacations, and they were once again on top of everything and helpful in every way. So easy, honest, and willing to do everything necessary to make sure the vacation was successful. I would not hesitate to recommend them if you are looking for a condo at La Estancia.

My earlier review of this property pretty much is still applicable. There were some changes that I will note, but the overall experience was the same. Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing. I again cannot say enough about the amazing location of Villa 3101. If you are looking for an ocean front three bedroom condo on the ground floor only steps from the pool and the beach, this is it. Be aware that the ocean front condos are not cheap (I could not afford it without my Mom, God bless her), but if your pocketbook can handle it, try it out.

Some of the minor wear and tear issues from 2011 were fixed (Thank you!), but the Villa is still showing some age and wear and tear that the owners should think about working on - again at the price paid, near perfection should be the goal. But I get it - you are paying for the size, location and view - so the still minor issues are merely fleeting thoughts. Once you look out at the ocean, Lands End, the landscaping, the pool, those minor issues disappear.

The service was great. All staff, from house keeping to the wait staff to front desk were friendly and helpful. Some of the restaurants had changed from the prior year, but all food everywhere we ate at the resort (and at the neighboring Arco and Palmar) was very good in my opinion, though I will admit I am not a very picky eater and my view may be skewed by the fact that I was not paying for any of it, so you may want to weigh the reviews of others more heavily on the food side.

As compared to the year prior, there seemed to be a lot more families and more people generally, maybe due to the better economy. Despite the increase, the resort remained relaxing and quiet and remarkably, all children were well behaved. Due I believe to the wet weather Cabo had in the prior months, we noticed quite a few more bugs than last year, including huge bird-size moths (slight exaggeration, but they were big) that loved to hang out in and around the condo.

If a quiet, relaxing, upscale condo experience is what you are looking for, Villa La Estancia is an excellent choice, and I think most of the other recent reviews reflect that.
















The hotel staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask Malcolm and Vicki at La Estancia Vacations to help you choose the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our restaurants! We treat all of our guests at Villa La Estancia like royalty and I’m delighted we exceeded your expectations in every way.

Our Team here looks forward to having you back in the not too distant future!

Best Regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff was wonderful. Angelita and Dennis were so helpful. The room was gorgeous. If you want to sleep at night listening to the ocean waves this is the place, No one harassed us about tours or time shares. We will be going back as soon as we can. We had a washer and dryer, full kitchen, two bedrooms, huge terrace and breathtaking views. Lovely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciated your valuable comments. We hope to welcome you once again on your next vacations.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

my family stayed at villa la estancia for four nights ... it was super. we did a late booking but made our decision based on trip advisor and certainly made the right choice. villa la estancia is in a great location (one day we walked into cabo instead of taking a cab), has great amenities (pools, spa, restaurants, arcade, beach) and is gorgeous and well kept. the employees were especially gracious ... we talked to the people in reception/concierges a number of times about various things (thanks especially to geraldo for helping me out with a FAB whale watching trip) and they were all very helpful, kind and professional. we went to many of the restaurants on site and were happy with them all .... and again, the employees were especially kind ... we spent far and away the most time just being poolside and it was fabulous ... highly recommend villa la estancia for a laid back, lovely vacation.

Room Tip: we loved staying on the second floor and having an easy walk up ... not having to wait for the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank very much for Choosing Villa La Estancia and for your recommendations, our team is so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be expected for you and your family in your next visit to Cabo.

Regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our family stayed at La Estancia from Feb. 19-26 and had an absolutely wonderful time. We were traveling as a family (7 adults, 1 toddler) and everything from the size/layout of the condos to the hotel's proximity to fantastic bars and dining made it easy for a group with diverse interests and needs to feel comfortable and have a good time.

We had veeeeerrrryyyy slow bag delivery service upon check in (almost 3 hours to get our bags), which had me a little worried. Luckily, that was the only snafu of the week and things went uphill quickly from there.

As you can see from the pictures, the hotel is beautiful. The views from the condo balconies are incredible (great place for morning coffee), and the resort is one of the most well-maintained I have ever seen. The condos themselves are well equipped and there is LOTS of room for a family to spread out. Ours had 3 flat screen TVs (rare in Mexico), a DVD player, and mini-fridges in every room (even on the patio!). The beds were comfortable and the housekeeping service kept everything spotless.

Food and drinks were a little bit pricey ($10/drink), but everything was very good. I got the shrimp tacos at La Parilla the first day, and couldn't stop ordering them. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food very much. The Estancia Margarita (jalapenos, cilantro and cucumber) was another popular choice for our group. Yum! If you stock up with snacks and beer/cocktails at Wal-Mart, you can mix in a few lunches and drinks by the pool and still keep a reasonable bar tab.

The pool area was great for our 2 year old...it was warm and there was a large shallow area to play. The pool next door at Los Arcos had a shallow area with fountains she loved, and the Palmar pool had a big waterslide (too big for a toddler, but great for older kids).

The one thing I thought was absolutely ridiculous about this resort was that almost all the chairs were "reserved" with beach towels by 8 am. We would be out there all day...and most of those chairs never had anyone come sit in them. It was like people saved them just in case they might feel like going to the pool later. We eventually had to join suit and claim chairs at the crack of dawn so that we could all sit together. I'm not sure if this is because a lot of the people own time shares there...but it was obnoxious.

Several of us had massages at the spa, and it was nice. The hydrotherapy area was relaxing (holy pressure shower!) and provided a nice place to relax before the treatments. Again, the massages weren't cheap ($103 for 50 minutes) but they did run some specials during the week. The $30/hr. massages aren't far down the beach...we didn't try them but we walked by them several times.

Finally, we loved that it was only a quick (safe) cab ride to a LOT of delicious restaurants. Both Medano Beach and the Marina had many options...we had amazing dinners at The Office, Edith's, Captain Tony's, Alexander's etc. Mmm.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone interested in Cabo. I hope to go back very soon!

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side of the hotel had more sun in the afternoon, and the ones on the south si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks you very much for choosing Villa La Estancia, we are so happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Our appologies for the inconvenient with the chairs and thank you for bringing this valuable information to our attention
We hope that in the future you would give us the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Kind Regards,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Camino Viejo A San Jose Km 0.5, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Villa La Estancia)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.