We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pollo de Oro

El Pollo de Oro
esq. Morelos / 20 de noviembre, Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 377 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: check Lonely Planet listing. Wonderful place
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just a little away from the main thoroughfare, and worth the short walk. Classic Mexican food at great prices.
Entrees came with a choice of sauces and the food comes fast!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    62
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Who would've thought great ribs in Cabo??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went there one evening with some local friends who suggested it for ribs & chicken combo. I have 3 boys who eat a lot!!! They loved it. Each got the rib & chicken combo and said it was excellent. My chicken was a little dry but I am a dark meat eater & this was white meat- all others in our group said there chicken was fantastic. My sister also tried the tortilla soup & loved it. And it was soooooo reasonable! Only $81 for 8 people including tasx & tip, and we all had either beer or margaritas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very unpretentious place which serves mostly chicken, as its name suggests. We've eaten there or taken out on prior trips, but this time it was disappointing. The chicken was very dry, whereas in years past it's been nice and moist. When they have a speciality, one would think they could consistently do it right.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galisteo, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good mole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good, unpretentious, more authentic than many Cabo places. Try the chicken mole and the fish and shrimp kebob.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, BC Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculously inexpensive and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

For their ribs and/or chicken and authentic Mexican food including freshly squeezed orange juice, you cannot stretch your dollar or your stomach better than at Pollo d'Oro - always busy with locals and a few gringos, you can easily feed a family of 5 for $350 pesos - just over $20 dollars.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo de Oro also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Pollo de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pollo de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.