We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great facility and location, but continuing construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great facility and location, but continuing construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Grand Solmar is well designed, the staff are professional and provide exemplary service, the rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed, and the location can't be beat. BUT they are still building two more 11-storey buildings and the construction noise goes from 7:30 AM to 9PM 6 days a week - and will probably continue through at least early 2015. You can escape the noise at most of the pools, but if you stay in the main building (which you will if you don't have a specific suite in your timeshare), then relaxing on your balcony is almost impossible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It is by all means an incredible and beautiful place to relax and unwind.
Please allow us to pamper you while staying with us.
We all wish you good health and many happy moments.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    173
    62
    20
    20
See reviews for
459
612
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Check in was a breeze. We were approached for a “Welcome tour/package” which we declined and we were never bothered again about a timeshare. I was expecting the worst from the reviews and forum posts I read, and we are usually prime targets, but absolutely no issue whatsoever - a simple “no thanks” and that was it.

Our room was a one bedroom unit in Building H on the 6th floor far away from the construction, we couldn’t see or hear it. That being said, if our room was by the construction I would have been disappointed. The only day I noticed the noise was when we were eating breakfast at La Roca outside on our last day by the main pool before we caught our ride to the airport. I was like “what the heck is that noise?” My husband said “it’s that crane”….what a drag it would have been if our room overlooked that.

The resort is gorgeous, absolutely breathtaking. The pools are amazing, warm and clean with breathtaking views, the best pools in a resort I've ever been too hands down. We saw many whales right from the pool area this time of year. The beach chairs were fabulous, cushy with some singles and some doubles. We mostly went to the VIP pool and also the other one below our building, we never made it to the main one but it looked great too. The service is top notch here. The bellhops, front desk, maids, bartenders and especially the poolside service were outstanding.

Every day there were two for one drink deals. The food was delicious from what we had with four lunches from our beach chair, I especially liked the sushi. We had a couples beach massage which again was excellent. The outdoor massage hut is situated away from any noise of the pools and overlooks the Pacific. This is smart….there is nothing worse than getting a massage and having people partying around you. Not that there is much partying here anyway. The demographic when we were there is older, everyone seems to be retirees. We felt like spring chickens being in our early forties. Not sure if it is always like that there but one thing that was definitely noticable.

Everything in this resort is clean and new, never even so much as saw a paper towel in the bathroom garbage can. It feels like an opulant spa everywhere.

The walk to town was further than I thought it would be but still easy enough. Near the end of the trip we would just take a cab back. It was only six dollars.

There is nothing about the resort that I can fault really. It's still under construction so we had to go to the gym at Playa Grande but that will come with time. It is wonderful but honestly if I had to pick I still prefer the Casa Dorado as far as location and demographic. It’s easier and faster to get to town and a bit more hip. I just personally prefer that side of the Marina.

The way I could describe the Grand Solmar is that it is so beautiful it doesn’t seem real! To me it feels like a ride in Disneyland - but with a lot of “older people”.

We loved our vacation and took part in the annual Caboholic festivities! The Cabo Escape snorkel cruise (was so fun), Sunderland Dinner Cruise, Cabo Villas Pool Party, Mardi Gras at Cabo Blue and visited Rips and Cabo Blue bar a few times. Our favorite dinner was Salvatores, but we also like Mi Casa, Romeo and Juliet’s (which you can charge to your room) and of course our standard Sharky’s tacos and lunch at The Office. We missed Gordo Lele's this time, oh well, next year. We hiked Mt Solmart this trip. There's something off my bucket list, wow gorgeous views. I loved the pool at Grand Solmar right below the cross of Mt. Solmar, so pretty. A cool spot we found was Two for the Road Jazz bar! The Chocolate Martini was fantastic and entertainment excellent, just a tiny little spot behind Solomans Landing on the Marina.

I am glad we stayed on this side of Cabo because we always wanted to try it. Waking up & having a coffee on the deck while watching the whales was amazing. Try to get a room away from the construction. We rented a fixed suite from an owner off Redweek so ours was a guaranteed spot. I must say some of those ground floor rooms looked pretty cool too. I usally prefer high up rooms but you get a view from just sitting in your beach chair at this place and those units looked fabulous.

If you are looking for a quiet beautiful, spa-like resort you will love it. If you are looking for a hip and lively vibe maybe not so much, you'll have to go find the action in town like we did. One thing for sure is you will definitely feel pampered.

Room Tip: away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your wonderful vacation memories on Trip Advisor.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had another great trip to Cabo. Rooms and staff are great and the food is fantastic. The Ridge Restaurant and Bar are the best. Amazing view of the Pacific and Sea of Cortez. Will come back again. Breakfast at the Ridge is one of the most romantic spots in Cabo. Pools there are relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We appreciate all of your wonderful comments.
Service is an art and we love to share it with you at Grand Solmar.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying a week at the Grand Solmar Resort two years In row now and it is my most favorite vacation spot! So beautiful and relaxing with the best service!! The staff is so attentive and kind...they feel like family by the end of the week! Special thanks to Sergio, Braulio and Lupe for the awesome service! The rooms are gorgeous and the whale watching is so much fun at this time. I hope I can continue coming back for many years to come!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Our endeavor is to ensure we deliver the best possible vacation experience while staying with us.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family of four vacationed at the Grand Sol Mar in December 2012 and had a wonderful week. We stayed in a Master Suite, which was ideal for traveling with young children (ages 7 and 5).

Every staff member treated us like family and provided exceptional service. Some of our favorites were Eben at the lobby bar, Manny from the bell staff, and Bede from the Kid's Club at Playa Grande.

When we were not lounging by the infinity pools, the concierge set us up with great activities including fishing, a sunset cruise on the Buccaneer, and a swim with dolphins for the kids. We were impressed with the restaurants. We highly recommended going to the Trebol at the original Solmar for the seafood mortar. We enjoy one every year. The Kid's Club at Playa Grande is a must for young kids (must be at least 5). They have great activities and provide a safe place for the kid's to get a break from Mom & Dad.

This was our first stay at Grand Solmar, but we have stayed at the original Solmar & Playa Grande previously, every trip has been spectacular and we are counting the days until we return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Service and attention to detail plus a picture perfect Sunset including whales, is a perfect combination.
We enjoyed your stay with us.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful INfinity Pool, fantastic ocean views. Staff is helpful and courteous. Easy walk over the hill to the harbor town and water taxi's to go elsewhere. Room view was magnificent and the bar staff exceptional.
Would have preferred more options to eat there at the site but there are quite a few within walking distance. Construction was underway but it didn't detract from the experience that much.
Would go back in a heart beat... truly a place to just stare at the water and have your drink in hand... watch the whales, tourists go by....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to constantly enhance our service quality.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the Presidential Suite for our first stay at Land's End. The floor plan and furnishings were top notch from the beautiful marble floors to the granite counter tops. The view of the Pacific Ocean was spectacular and we spent time watching whales spout and pass by. The sunsets from our room were breathtaking and can't be beat! All the staff are top notch and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The resort is nicely laid out and the reception area is open air and gives you the feeling of being on a tropical island. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are delighted to read that we have fulfilled your vacation expectations in full.
Our cordial co-workers including me will indulge you 24/7.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.