We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Houston, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view and great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great time at the resort! The one bedroom is just what my family needs with two kids. We didn't purchase the meal plan as we want the freedom to eat what we want at any place (marina, shopping, etc.) while watching our weights (lol).

Don't worry about the timeshare. Just dismiss them as they would to you if you opt out. Don't ever get emotional to buy the timeshare as many owners I talked to feel regret buying it afterwards. The membership service is very bad (rude) and maintenance fee is very high. As a matter of fact, I rented a master suite from an owner (vrbo.com) at lower price than the commercial websites at the owner's cost (they just rent the rooms out to cover the maintenance fees). So don't be a victim like them.

Our kids said it was the best vacation ever ... we did a lot of activities (jet skiing, parasailing, boating, etc) as the rates were reasonable (we booked directly from the vendors outside hotel so no middleman fees.)

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It is very rewarding to read that our cordial staff was the highlight of your stay. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We all wish you and family a Happy New Year with good health.
Warmest regards,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    115
    46
    11
    14
See reviews for
359
440
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorne Bay, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our overall experience at the Grand Solmar was great! We arrived and were upgraded to a larger room which was more than we could have ever hoped for. Upon check in they give you the option to listen to the time share sales pitch and they invite you to a tour and breakfast. It is optional and you easily can say no! Unlike other places in Cabo Grand Solmar does not push the time share option. The place was clean, quiet and beautiful. From the balcony we could see the ocean and sit and listen to the waves in the evenings. This quiet is what made our stay so amazing. Even when the pool was busy with lots of people it was never loud or obnoxious like most resorts. We purchased the meal plan so we wouldn't have to worry about how much our food bill would be at the end of the stay. It was a great choice! For $90 a day per person we were able to eat and drink without worry of breaking our budget. The food and service were wonderful! The restaurants and snack bars have great menus and lots of variety. The wait staff were always prompt, cheerful, friendly, and helpful. We have to admit our favorite was dinner at LaRoca with Isisdro. He was very helpful and attentive. Our wine glasses were never empty! The food was always great! Our only drawback was having to leave. We had signed up for a shuttle to take us to the airport and it was a Taxi that we rode around Los Cabos in for about 30 minutes picking up other passengers before heading to the airport. It was strange and didn't fit into the wonderful picture of Grand Solmar that we had for the week we were there.

Room Tip: We were in a Grand Master Suite and it was amazing. I would recommend a room on the 3rd floor and hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your incredible Honeymoon vacation experience with us.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team and everyone is raving about you.
It was our pleasure showing heartfelt personal service at all times.
We all wish you a Happy New Year with good health.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I tried to contact the manager Jean Louis on several occasions by phone and email a month, and then a week prior to our arrival to request (and beg) for a room away from the construction for our 11th anniversary trip. They always said "of course we will pass it to him", but would never let me talk to anyone else.

Surprise, upon arrival we were put in 6705, building 6, floor 7, room 5, dead smack next to the construction. After a long flight we went to the balcony and as my wife tried to lay down "bang bang bang", seriously loud mental on metal construction noise. After 2 hours of begging the manager at the front desk they were at least able to put us on a higher floor in building 6, in room 1 which is *slightly further away from the construction. Refused any other building. Precisely at 7:20 every single morning (except the weekends) we were awoken by the loud bangs of construction noise. Not a great relaxing vacation. WIFI charges are outrageous, and it barely works in most locations! Get on board and stop the wifi charges.

The only reason we are giving this resort 3 stars is the service and pools. If you go to one of the smaller pools away from the construction, the resorts water falls mask some of the sounds. This helped a ton, and we had an incredibly peaceful week watching whales from the infinity edge pools soaking up sun. The last day some annoying kids decided to blast their radio at the pool, ruining the tranquility, but other than that the pool time was fabulous.

Also, I can not say enough great things about Braulio and Omar. Fabulous, very attentive service. I agree with another review that food was slow, but that certainly isn't their fault. The service of these two pool-side made the time seriously fabulous, and worth coming back for once construction is complete in 2015. Resort is in a beautiful location, with really wonderful people and service making it what it is. Rooms are clean, maintenance was quick to come to the room when the water was brown, smelly and wouldn't get hot.

Room Tip: Building 6 is next to the construction, but it's where they put all exchanges...good luck with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I’d like to share with you that our staff is very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future. Unfortunately during high season it’s quite difficult to accommodate everybody’s room location request.
Warmest regards,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just recently bought in and was really looking forward to a wonderful family Christmas vacation! The bar staff, concierge and housekeeping were great but our experience was dampened by the food service multiple times during our stay. Very disappointing indeed. Waiting 35 minutes for an afternoon snack of chips and salsa, being over-charged $20 for a coffee and orange juice, having an order wrong and watching the entire family finish their meals 15 minutes before mine hit the table, poor customer service in claiming that because of Christmas dinner being prepared that the chef is not processing orders and is too overwhelmed in the kitchen and really the lack luster approach to the dining experience. The only reason we are giving an average review is that we have rave reviews for Maylie, Omar, the amazing woman in the VIP lounge area with the great suggestions and signed a heart over the "i" in her name (sorry I can't recall her name) and Manny. Unfortunately, we are considering selling our week there in the years to follow...perhaps one more trip next year will redeem them. If not...peace-out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It is always a great pleasure to indulge our guests and owners.
We will certainly work harder and smarter in order to offer a better service at La Roca.
Looking forward pampering you the way you deserve, I remain.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Okay - first off to address a few previous complaints: yes, there is a time share sales pitch. It's polite, brief, and if you have an IQ over 85 along with the ability to utter the words "no thanks" it is NOT A PROBLEM. Of course, if you want to do a bunch of tourist stuff, like take a sunset booze cruise, have a dolphin "experience" and do it for half price in exchange for sitting through a presentation - by all means, do so. Just don't complain about it later, because it's not this beautiful property's fault you're a sucker.

Secondly, no - this place clearly wasn't built with toddlers in mind. It's sprawling, romantic and well thought-out, with loads of discoverable nooks and surprises. If you're going to drag your squalling brood around with you, please don't give them their first swimming lesson at the infinity edged pool bar, because there are people around you that are trying to enjoy a pina colada in peace.

The rooms are lovely, the property is gorgeous. Great location on a private (though non-swimmable) beach. Stop thinking and just book it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Our team at Grand Solmar is here to help you unwind and relax, making sure you have a wonderful and memorable vacation experience.
Happy New Year
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Grand Solmar for a last minute NYE get away. We usually always stay at the ME but it was sold out so we decided to check out Grand Solmar and I'm SO glad we did! Grand Solmar is my new fave hotel in Cabo! It was absolutely gorgeous and it felt like we were on our own private beach! If you like the strolling beach vendors and noisiness then Grand Solmar isn't for you. If you want a romantic, quiet beach setting then this is your place.

My one complaint was that once we checked in we were shooed over to sit and speak to someone about a timeshare opportunity. Once my husband told her we were only there for a few days and didn't have the time to partake in any presentations, the manager stepped in and rudely dismissed us. We were shocked by her obvious aggressive behavior. Everyone else who worked at the hotel was friendly and great though. That incident left us with an initial bad taste in our mouths though! Once we got to our room that rude manager was long forgotten though!

Our room was impeccable! Our room was more of an apartment than a hotel room. It came equipped with a full kitchen, bathroom, dining room and even an extra murphy bed along with our king bed! We stayed in room 6307 which was fairly close to the main lobby area and far away from any of the construction going on. The Grand Solmar is a fairly new hotel and they still have a lot of building going on but we were unaffected by any of that since we were on the complete opposite side.

We especially loved their infinity pool that overlooked the beach. We happened to get there right before the sun was setting and it was an amazing sight to see! Their restaurant La Roca was excellent as well. We did notice their service is pretty slow but thankfully we weren't in a major rush when we ate there. All in all, I'd definitely stay at Grand Solmar again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction going on. Grand Solmar is a huge resort so you shouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It is so rewarding to read you had a terrific time with us.
We will do our outmost to accommodate all of your needs.
Happy New Year.
Warmest regards,
Jean Louis and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned home from a 5 night stay at the picturesque Grand Solmar "TIME SHARE". I emphasize time share because it operates as such! Pros- Staff is attentive, friendly, helpful. Rooms are well- appointed and perfect for families. Location is IDEAL! Easy to walk to marina and restaurants. Beach is so lovely, although one cannot swim because it is dangerous.
Cons- Still undergoing construction until 2015, although we experienced silence during the holiday week!!! We arrived 1 day late due to the storm that went thru Dallas ( had a layover) Flights were cancelled! We contacted the hotel while stuck in Dallas to inform them. When WE ARRIVED we asked them to make any necessary adjustments to our bill because of the delayed arrival. Every day we had to ask.. Finally, on our last day, management decided to refund 50% of the "missed" night! They also tried to slip a " Grand Solmar" donation onto my bill. I had that removed immediately. THERE IS NO HEALTH CLUB! One can take a short walk, or shuttle to Playa Grande ( sister resort). Then be charged $10 per PERSON, per USAGE! Unheard of!!! If the time share owners wish to have return guests they need to change this immediately. Also WIFI charges are $12.00 per day, service is definitely spotty... It does not operate as a higher end resort, however the food, service, and rooms were lovely. I would return in the future, ONLY if some adjustments were made. The mini- mart is not stocked with magazines. You cannot charge 5 star prices without operating as such.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments very much and for sure we’ll change your perception for good on your next visit. We all wish you and family a Happy New Year with good health.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.