We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise soon, but not yet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Paradise soon, but not yet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Newbies to Cabo San Lucas, my partner and I spent a week at the Solmar Land’s end. Overall, we had an excellent time and the amazing location, impeccable accommodations, and excellent service easily made up for some of its shortcomings. First, the property is still a construction site, with a huge red crane looming at its center. It’s noisy and an eyesore. Sadly, large chips of paint and debris from the site litter the otherwise phenomenal pools. I’ll wait for the property to be complete sometime after 2015 before I return. Also, it’s annoying that the property calls itself a spa when there is NO SPA OR FITNESS CENTER. You can get massages and limited spa services at the beach and use the fitness center at the adjacent Solmar property for a fee, which I did, but found very annoying. Solmar should be more transparent about its transitional state. Also, there’s only one restaurant. Another seems to be opening very soon. That said, meals at La Roca were consistently excellent and the menus changed a few times during holiday week, so I can’t complain too seriously. (Amazing Christmas Eve buffet!) The restaurant has some expediting issues to work out. (I waited 15-20 minutes at every meal for one thing or another--coffee, wine, water, and always, the check. The place is just too good for a silly matter of a late check to ruin a meal.
I encourage the management to institute a “No Radios” rule at the pool. For some reason, a few people found it fine to blast their speakers at the very tranquil and chic pools.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    877
    110
    45
    11
    14
See reviews for
334
422
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks at Grand Solmar 1DEC-15DEC 2012. The first four days of our stay was without hot water and air-conditioning. Thanks to the celing fans the room was comfortable. We were offered to move to a sister resort but opted to stay at GS since we were told the problem would be fixed the next day, and the next, and the next day. We did shower next door at the Solmar Beach.
We were sympathetic with the managment and staff until we found out other guests were offered ammenities for their inconvience. (lobster dinner, massage, etc) We spoke with customer service and was referred to the manager on duty, Sr Ether. We never met with him but he sent a letter to our room worth a $50 dinner at La Roca. We gave the letter back indicating $50 would buy one dinner at La Roca and there were two of us without hot water. We never heard back.
We should not have had to ask for compensation. If ammenities were given they should have been given to all guests. We were very disappointed with managements response.
Grand Solmar is a beautiful property with an incredible location. However taking care of guests is what makes a 5* resort.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3201 in the B1 building. There is a solid wall about 4feet high around balcony. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Your invaluable feedback ensures us to continually improve in delivering the ultimate experience we are known for. We’ll always show our appreciation to you and family on each visit with us.
MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR.
Cordially,
Jean Louis and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this magical place! Whales swim by every day during the season, sunsets and sunrises to dream about, and the service is unbelievable! It's like coming home every year. We are lucky and very thankful to Freddy, Jesus, Sabino, Braulio, Roberto, Sergio, Memo, Omar, Eben, Edgar, Leonardo, Deisy, Samuel and all the staff that have made our stay so special!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It is so rewarding to read all of your wonderful comments.
We are here JUST FOR YOU as we want you to be spoiled by us.
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and family.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just got married and the wedding coordinator Adriana was fabulous. She did so much to make our day perfect! And I admit I wasn't the easiest of brides either! The service at the Grand SOLMAR is excellent. Our favorite people to see each day was the bell hop service! Samuel, Emmanuel, Felix, Cesar, Alvaro, and Joel always greeted us with smiles and were always willing to go above and beyond! Sergio and Freddy are our favorite pool boys who help keep the drinks flowing! Leonardo at the front desk helped make sure all our accommodations were met without any grief. Alana from the concierge was also very helpful arranging our dinner cruise with 30 guests. Thank you all for a great two weeks in Cabo! You all made our stay perfect! We miss seeing you everyday and can't wait to see you all again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous! They all have a spectacular view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are truly delighted to read you had a fabulous Wedding at Grand Solmar.
Thank you also for highlighting the service and the warmth of our cordial staff.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We've been owners at the original Solmar and moved to Grand Solmar as soon as they were ready. Last year we were fortunate to be able to spend a full month. The hotel is beautifu but the biggest strength was the staff and service. From the chambermaids to the hotel management, and all others, everyone was terrific. It was almost like having an extended family.

We are very much looking forward to returning next month.

Room Tip: We have a Jr Suite on a high floor in E building. It is very spacious and perfect for 2. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Our endeavor is to please all of our guest and owners desires while staying with us.
"Happy Holidays" to you and family.
With best personal regards,
Jean Louis and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My Husband and I were at Grand Solmar Lands End the week of Dec 03. The hotel is very relaxing and it is BEAUTIFUL it was what we were looking for. It supassed our expectations. We had traded our week from our timeshare with Interval International in DR from a 2 bedroom and since it was only the 2 of us we got a studio. I was a litte concearned about the room that we would be comfortable but my concearns were put to rest as soon as they opened the door to the room.
One thing that I did not like was when I called a few days before to reconfirm our reservation I was told I was in building E room 6609 I specificaly asked is this right next to construction and if it was building 6 I was told no it was not ( NOT TRUE). The view stright ahead was amazing but to the right of our balcony construction was right in our face.
Honestly it was not an issue they started after 8 were done by 5 or 6. One day we even went up for a nap before going out for the evening and had the balcony doors opened and had no issue with the noise. We loved that we were only a 15 minute walk to the marina and how safe we felt walking form the hotel to marina or dinner at anytime. The grounds are beautiful clean and you don't feel crowded.
Here are a few THANK YOU AND JOB WELL DONE we would like to say to the service staff.
From the gentelman that drove the golf carts and helped with our luggage and would also answer any questions about going into town there are to many that helped I hope I get all of them Manuel,Jose,Luis I am sure I probably forgot someone.
All the boys at the pools, Roberto, Omar,Juan, Jose, that were so attentive. if I forgot someone I am sorry. Roberto was so nice he even went to the lobby and said goodbye when we were leaving.
The front desk Juan and a wonderful young lady that was working with him. Gave us a wonderful welcome and when we were leaving a great send off.
The staff of The Roca Resturant and especialy Juan he was wonderful.
The housekeeping service Deena she was such a sweet girl and did a great job with our room everyday we were there.
To the maintaince department that when we were having a small issue with the hot water he came right up to check on it and made the proper adjustments.
To concierge dept getting my shuttle from and to the hotel no problem and making sure we had no issue with getting to the hotel.
To Marisol the person that makes the appt to go to the presentation (timeshare) so was so wonderful even though we did not want to do it.
To the young lady from the spa that gave me a 5min massage by the pool sweet girl!! Sorry I did not make time to try their services!
If you have the opportunity to stay here you will not regret it. Everyone always with a smile and always wanting to please you it will be very hard to find anther place like this.
The hotel,views,service were WONDERFUL,GREAT,AWESOME!! Can't wait to go again and take my friends!!

Room Tip: Get a higher room for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the service and attention to detail that we provided to you at Grand Solmar.
Your well being is precious to us.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a great time at Grand Solmar Land's End, the environment was very relaxing and enjoyed the zero clearance pools with the amazing views. After our family trip to Puerta Vallarta we were disappointing with the beach vendors who ruined our beach experience, but at Grand Solmar there were no vendors. Jose at the pool kept us entertained and gave EXCELLENT service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are very happy you found the much needed rest while staying with us.
Our talented co workers will always indulge you 24/7.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Cabo La Estancia
Cabo La Estancia
#6 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Capella Pedregal
Capella Pedregal
#1 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#9 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,720 reviews
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#5 of 66 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
5.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Grand Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.