We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We were at the Grand Solmar from Nov 25 through Dec 2 and enjoyed every minute. We stayed in room 8301 which was a spectacular, fully appointed 2 bedroom and 3 full bath unit. The huge ocean front veranda provided perfect views of the sunrises and sunsets as well as the whales!

The middle infinity pool could get a little noisy during the day (because of the bar) so we were happy to move to the quiet, adults only pool. We opted to eat dinners in town so can't rate the restaurants but the margaritas were good :).

We did have an issue with a time share person until my husband had to get rude and we didn't have AC or hot water the last day we were there. We were offered accommodations next door but decided to stay since we were leaving the next day. Other than that, perfect!

Try Salvatore's in town for great lasagna!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
It gives us all great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Grand Solmar.
We all will make your vacation time with us memorable.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    101
    41
    11
    13
See reviews for
286
371
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The first thing I noticed about this resort was the excellent service from all staff. I have not one complaint, they were all above 5 stars.. which is rare. They go out of their way to accommodate your needs. The remember your name and your preferences through the whole stay. I know that is their job to do so, but it felt sincere and they were just pleasant. The resort itself was going through renovations/construction and it was still beautiful. The construction did not interfere with our visit at all. The view is outstanding and one of their best features is location, location, location! We walked safely to Marina and back many times even at night. We do not own a timeshare there.. but I would definitely consider it in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We appreciate your wonderful comments very much.
It is an honor having the chance to know beautiful people like you that allow us to share service and attention to detail. Our mission is to exceed your expectations.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just spent another week at the Grand Solmar over Thanksgiving and it was every bit as good as the first time we visited. The entire team including Jose Olas, Sammy and Emanuel made us feel right at home. The service, food and amenities were incredible. I can't wait to go back in June...

Room Tip: We stayed in a Grand Master Suite. Plenty of space for our family although we were spoiled the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We appreciate all of your wonderful comments.
It is rewarding to all team members to know that we are surpassing your expectations.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We found all staff attentive and responsive. Sylvia B, a sales and customer care person, was especially responsive to our questions and concerns. We are owners and did not buy an upgrade from her, but she was very professional and easy to deal with. Also, Erica P, downstairs in customer relations has been the best source about contracts, acceleration and the mysteries of the GS process on timeshares for numerous times over 3 years. The control of the tourists at turtle release was poor, as people were not kept at any distance and almost stepped on the hatchlings. The staff should be encouraged (and empowered by management ) to control the tourists by stopping flash photos of new hatchlings inches from their faces and the over handling. If GS is mitigating the habitat loss by building on nesting grounds, they could be more proactive and educational which would serve the hotel, tourists and more importantly the turtles. Perhaps some professional input on how to handle releases to benefit hatchlings and not primarily the tourists would be helpful. Certainly would not want the big moths controlled by spraying as suggested here on TA. Hotel is very attentive to details such as fixing bad ac etc. We did not find the construction noise that bothersome the 2 weeks we were there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Your invaluable feedback ensures us to continually deliver the ultimate experience Grand Solmar is known for.
Cordially
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family and I have just spent 8 days at the Grand Solmar. The beauty of the resort is exceeded only by the beauty of the staff. The service was humble, warm, genuine, and always with a smile. The resort was extremely clean-one of the very cleanest that we have every stayed. The quality of the food was excellent (and we are very fussy eaters). The room was very, very nice, consisting of a full kitchen, sleeping area/bed, dining table with a bench-seat and chairs. Tile throughout. (No dirty, dingy, worn carpeting!-like many beach resorts.) Ocean-facing patio. The infinity pool was beautiful. The view from pool-side, over-looking the beach and ocean cannot be beat. The all-inclusive price was expensive, unless you can eat and drink all day- a lot. Robes are available, but must be requested. The entire property, including the pool areas, is very nicely maintained.
A special "Gracias!" to Guillermo, at the Las Brisas pool, who is simply the very best waiter in all of the Americas! and to Chef Charly who prepares the most exquisite snacks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We know how precious it is for you to savor your vacation time, so please be ready to be indulged by our team of service ambassadors.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoy the grand for a week of relaxation and sun coming from the great white north we were looking foreword sun and margaritas.the pool bar exell service,we where approach by a girl in a orange shirt upon arrival at the lobby and offer our discount coupon for activities( that's the hook for a timeshare presentation) in the morning that follow we were greeted by a sales person named Jason we found out later his last name (Crosson).
WhEn we were done with the sales pitch we say thanks for his time and since our friend own one we refused the offer .before we walk out he offer us a one week stay in the same type of room 2 br is what our friend owns he offer it for 3000 for the week, we fought out to be a great deal until we had to call him first to book it when we. Want to use it he want it the money in his account in the USA before we were ready to use it I think he call it developer week.it seem shady so we refused it's sad that such a magnificent product has people like Jason Crosson working for them...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Your wonderful comments serve us as a source of inspiration so for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in near future.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse suite in building 9(or I.).This is a fantastic location because of its proximity to the arch and it encompasses both sunset and sunrise views.The suite furnishings were luxurious with 4 flat screen TVs. (TV programming was lacking enough english stations though).TIP Get the food plan! For 85$ per person per day you can eat AND drink almost everything,lobster some steak and premium drinks excluded.It is a very good deal. Check to see if it is available. Kids are 50%. Under 3 free.Choice of 2 restaurants and 2 snack bars. All had good food.Try the seafood pizza!Shrimp,scallops and octopus.Service,however, can be slow. If you have kids, order fast as it may take time. They are not always in a hurry.In room service is also good,50% cost if you have a meal plan.No fitness room on site. There is a good one at Playa Grande, a sister property not far away. A shuttle can take you there. Playa Grande also has a good size gift shop/food mart., and mini golf ,a tennis court(plastic surface) and a kids club.Bring 5$ bills with you. Tips are appreciated and can often get you special treatment/food/drinks.This proerty is one of a kind because it is the last resort on Baja before you get to the arch. No properties can be built closer. With the backdrop of pounding Pacific waves,it cant be beat.

Room Tip: Building 9 . Edge of resort. Quiet. View of sunset,sunrise. Close to oceanI
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It is our endeavor to read your unspoken wishes before they are expressed but also to help you fulfill them to.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.