We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molten Magic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vitrofusion Glass Blowing Factory

Vitrofusion Glass Blowing Factory
Lazaro Cardenas S/N Edificio Posada Local 6-A, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
52-114-3-02-55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Shopping in Cabo San Lucas
Type: Factory Outlets, Factory Tours, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This glass factory uses recycled glass to make beautiful vases and other items.
Rocklin, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Molten Magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've been here multiple times and every time we are fascinated at the skilled and talented men working. The demo this time included our grandchildren having a chance to blow the glass themselves. They loved it even though it was harder then it looked. They will remember this all their lives. It feels like a much safer environment than it used to be, with barriers marked. Clean restrooms are available. Abundant glass to choose from as we shopped makes for a great outing. You MUST go early in the day to see the demo, it is hot in MX and they don't blow the glass all day. Go, leave a tip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Incredible Demonstration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was one of the stops on the "Morning Glory" tour we took with Tours 'R Fun. They asked what we would like to see them make and we opted for the marlin. Within minutes a beautiful marlin had been created! Then they allowed a few people to get up & try to blow the glass out from the tube. Shopping around the factory after seeing the demonstration definitely gave more of an appreciation to how everything is created. It was a simple but fun stop that I would certainly recommend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot and loved demo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a fun stop and we enjoyed the demo and the beautiful items for purchase. They showed us how they made a glass pitcher which someone from our group was going to purchase after the 2 day cooling off period. Would be fun for kids to see as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem by accident after visiting Cabo San Lucas looking for something new to do that we had not done on our previous holidays. The telephone number listed for the glass blowing factory was not current when we visited in March but our concierge was able to locate the factory for us. There is one staff member behind the counter that speaks english and she works most days. It is advisable to call ahead to find out the hours of operation, as the times the factory is open changes on certain days. The cab ride was under fifteen dollars to the glass factory from the downtown area. The tour of the glass blowing was free although there was a jar for tips which we happily abliged as the experience was really terrific.

The front of the store has many glass items for sale and not exceedingly expensive for something hand made.


In the back of the store is the factory where you can see the glass artwork being made by the artists. There are chairs set up so guests can sit and watch. We did see organized tours to the glass factory where the guide was able to describe the whole process of glass blowing. Our children were fascinated to learn and watch how drinking glasses and glass sculpture was made by hand. The men in the factory are all friendly and eager to show you their craft. Our boys asked to make glass hearts and their own drinking glasses and had so much fun working with the glass blowers that they begged to return a second day. An hour at the glass factory was sufficient to make some special gifts to bring home. We did have to return a second day as the glass needed to be kiln cooled. We were charged for the items the boys made and received a pick up slip with a return time to collect the cooled pieces. Upon our return our items were waiting at the front counter and the staff wrapped the glass in newspaper for safe transporting home.

This excursion was a highlight for us as we have some beautiful hand made glass pieces and great memories of fun from Cabo. It was an enjoyable and educational experience off the beaten path.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Worthwhile side trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was great to see the glass blowing process. The glass blowers did sample demonstrations of their art with a great deal of flair and showmanship. The store had many creations from dishes and glassware to ornaments. It was certainly worth the visit even though our cab driver couldn't find it at first. (He was new to Cabos!)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vitrofusion Glass Blowing Factory also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Vitrofusion Glass Blowing Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vitrofusion Glass Blowing Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.