We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Love Shack on Beautiful Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cascadas de Baja

Save Saved
You added Club Cascadas de Baja to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Cascadas de Baja
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Apartado 72, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredible Love Shack on Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

First time at Cascadas, 5th time in Cabo. Although we obtained last week through Interval International, this hotel is marketed by Trading Places. The people we met own a particular week(s) in the same unit, and come every year so most of the guests know each other, and know the staff, etc. There are a few 'secrets' to making it feel comfortable, i.e. the Club House marked "Private" is for all guests, which is the gathering place to watch movies or NFL games. Note: Excellent place to unplug, no tvs, in room but wi-fi everywhere. The staff gets 5 stars for service! Our unit, 3rd floor 2 bed 2 bath, was huge. We admired the use of natural materials to build Cascadas, very creative. But if you want contemporary, modern surroundings this is not the place for you. Stone, bamboo, cement, screened windows that don't close within hearing distance of other balconies... We enjoyed several dinners with entertainment on the beach, just incredibly beautiful and memorable. Thank you Cascadas!

Room Tip: Margarita 8 was on third level with balcony and hot tub facing the ocean and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Club Cascadas de Baja, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of Club Cascadas! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    57
    18
    20
    9
See reviews for
73
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phila
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Reviews are always subjective and I get why those who love the newest, hippest, trendiest place or the most isolated, upscale amenity laden resort would not be thrilled at Club Cascades de Baja or for that matter, may find Cabo overbuilt and past its prime. But, I loved Cascades - outdoor living in our Escondido villa flat with funky round architecture and all the comforts plus friendly staff, impeccable maintenance and daily housekeeping and warm pools, beach at the quiet ish end of a honky tonk tourist area. I dunno, what's to complain about? Used the room safe, ate the food - used the tap water - no problems. Loved it.

Room Tip: as others said the villas are great - we were on the second floor and the open front deck was ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Club Cascadas de Baja, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Since 1987 this has been a haven among the many Cabo places to stay. It's probably best described as a little village on the beach. Stunning old style Mexican architecture. Palm trees catching the morning sun and the birds are in abundance amongst the palms. Right at beachside looking out at Lands End. You can walk a short distance to many of the beachside restaurants. Cascadas is kept pristinely clean by the friendly staff. It's more for families and the mature folks because of the ambiance. Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for something closer to beach. If not available when you make reservation, ask at check in. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We have been staying at Club Cascadas for 21 consecutive years and we never tire of it. Our entire family looks forward to our annual family week at Club Cascadas. My nephew even had his wedding on their beautiful beach and reception at their restaurant. It is a magical resort!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I are active 60-somethings. This was our first time to Cabo and this was such a friendly and intimate property. It is a rather small hotel/timeshare especially compared to the Hotel Puebla Bonita next door, which is very large. The size of Cascadas made it easy to get around. Cascadas is so well constructed I think it would be impervious to hurricanes other than the glass windows. The exteriors and interiors have all rounded corners and there is no wood furniture. The coffee tables and nightstands are stone and marble and there are no wood cupboards in the kitchen or bathroom. Instead there are painted concrete shelves and beneath the sinks open cubicles. There are no TV's or phones in the rooms, which definitely encourages you to destress and get away from it all if you want.

We stayed in Escondido 11, which was on the second floor and overlooked the "shark" pool. There are two pools here; the one near the beach is the "turtle" pool and the one in the middle of the complex is the "shark" pool. The pools have these names because each has the particular creatures done in mosaic tiles on the bottom of the pool. Escondido 11 is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, unit with a great room that has the kitchen, dining & family room as one area. Just outside is a large balcony overlooking the shark pool. Each bedroom is roomy and has a very comfortable king-size bed and both bedrooms open onto a large shared balcony with two chaise lounges. This balcony overlooks a walkway next to the Hotel Puebla Bonita and Cascadas, so nothing really to look at on that side. They do a great job of keeping up the grounds at this facility and their beach has wonderful palapas you can spend the day under and enjoy sunning, swimming in the ocean, purchasing from the many peddlers who walk by all day (kept at a distance from the guests by a small rope barrier so you are not harassed but you are free to approach any of them whose items you are interested in purchasing). You can reserve a palapa if you go to the beach early in the morning and place your towel on a lounge chair and let security know and they are usually there first thing in the morning making notes of what palapas are being reserved.

There is a great coffee shop called Club Too that opens at 7 am and offers all kinds of coffee and expresso drinks, muffins, bagels, croissants, a couple desserts and about 8 different flavors of great ice cream. They also have a small store selling some resort wear, jewelry, and grocery items, as well as some basic types of medicine. One of the nicest benefits is that the onsite restaurant serves wonderful food for breakfast, lunch or dinner as well as service for food and drink on the beach and at the pools. The restaurant has a "Fiesta Night" with entertainment and a "Pasta Night" each week. Our group went deep sea fishing and brought back dorado which the chef fixed for the 8 of us. We chose to have our fish blackened and/or grilled and both were delicious. This was a complete meal with salad, vegetables and rice for $12 a person.

They have a salon on site as well as spa treatments, an exercise room with elliptical, treadmill, etc., free weights. The main clubhouse has a a couple large flat screen TV's and we watched the baseball playoffs and some of the World Series while we were there Oct. 18-25. There are staff to help you plan any kind of activity you want to participate in: snorkeling, scuba diving, deap sea fishing, parasailing, paddle boarding, kayaking, dinner cruise, booze cruise, etc. We had sunshine all week with temperatures in the 80's Fahrenheit and so was the ocean (actually Sea of Cortez).

All the staff here are friendly and helpful and the smaller size of this property makes it a very relaxing vacation. I'd definitely go here again.

Room Tip: Escondido 11 was a wonderful villa with two master bedrooms and you could definitely sleep two more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Escondido 24. Pure heaven. My second time there. So much to do and see. Everyone so friendly. Would go every girls trip if we could!!!. The office down the beach is a blast, we were just steps away from the beach.
Dinner on the beach, sunset cruises, and of course Squid Row. Definetly would recommedn it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa, private, quiet adn the fully equipt kitchen is awesome to have!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Visited Club Cascadas on September 27th , 2012. We got the week as a bonus week exchange through TPI. The resort is celebrating its 25th anniversary, and had many surprises for us. This is one of the best exchanges we have had in 10 years of timesharing.

Things we found exceptional at the resort:
-In the week prior to our arrival the resort had gone through the tail of a cyclone and tropical storm. The day we arrived Cabo was majorly flooded, many streets were unpassable, and the wave and ocean were brown. It rained more the night of arrival then stopped for the rest of the week, within 24 hours the resort was clean of all mud/sand, the beach cleaned up, etc.. This all on top of their usual exceptional service.
-The on-site (and on the beach) restaurant was exceptional. Good food and good prices.
-Food and drink service to the beach and pool, felt more like a resort than a timeshare. In the end never made it to Walmart so never cooked ourselves, just charged everything to the room and spoiled ourselves.
-Great spot on Medano beach, great pool and beach palapa loungers.
-Easy 15 minute walk into the heart of Cabo on the beach or on the road.
-Very well maintained despite 25 years.
-Great architecture and character to the place. As my wife said you feel like Betty Rubble walking into a Flintstones Abode. (If you like 5 star new, shiny granite, etc, the place will not be for you.)
-“Family” atmosphere. Immediately noticed the many returning owners that knew each other, knew the multi-year staff. Most everyone was returning to their home away from home. And the staff all knew them. Very safe and great security.

The drawbacks:

-Air conditioning was only in the bedrooms. It worked and made sleep possible despite the lack of closed “windows/vents”. Made for constant blowing and noise. However, we were there at one of the hottest and humid periods possible in Cabo. With the major room ventilation and multiple ceiling fans most times this should not be a problem. If you demand central AC don’t come here. If old style flow through ocean breeze cooling is your thing you have found your place. (Hopefully, you don’t hit 90 degree feels like 110 (30C feels like 40C) weather like we did.)
-Funky, we loved it but not for everyone. Almost no square corners in the whole resort. Even all the shelving is rounded stone etc.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom downstairs unit, plenty of room, would be perfect to share with another couple and both bedrooms are self-contained with their own washrooms and air conditioner. The kitchen and large living room are shared. Close access to the beach and both pools and beachfront restaurant. Very warm and friendly staff and “residents”.

Additonal charges which included all meals and drinks for 7 days, and one hour long facial, came too approximately $800 for the week. Probably better food and service than most all-inclusives but much cheaper. My wife who does like to pamper herself raved about the facial.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Cascadas de Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cascadas de Baja

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Apartado 72, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cascadas de Baja 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Club Cascadas de Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cascadas De Baja Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Cascadas De Baja
Resort Cascadas De Baja
Cascadas Baja Club
Club Cascadas De Baja Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cascadas de Baja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.