We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Relaxing Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cascadas de Baja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Club Cascadas de Baja to your Saves list
Club Cascadas de Baja
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Apartado 72, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great, Relaxing Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I are active 60-somethings. This was our first time to Cabo and this was such a friendly and intimate property. It is a rather small hotel/timeshare especially compared to the Hotel Puebla Bonita next door, which is very large. The size of Cascadas made it easy to get around. Cascadas is so well constructed I think it would be impervious to hurricanes other than the glass windows. The exteriors and interiors have all rounded corners and there is no wood furniture. The coffee tables and nightstands are stone and marble and there are no wood cupboards in the kitchen or bathroom. Instead there are painted concrete shelves and beneath the sinks open cubicles. There are no TV's or phones in the rooms, which definitely encourages you to destress and get away from it all if you want.

We stayed in Escondido 11, which was on the second floor and overlooked the "shark" pool. There are two pools here; the one near the beach is the "turtle" pool and the one in the middle of the complex is the "shark" pool. The pools have these names because each has the particular creatures done in mosaic tiles on the bottom of the pool. Escondido 11 is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, unit with a great room that has the kitchen, dining & family room as one area. Just outside is a large balcony overlooking the shark pool. Each bedroom is roomy and has a very comfortable king-size bed and both bedrooms open onto a large shared balcony with two chaise lounges. This balcony overlooks a walkway next to the Hotel Puebla Bonita and Cascadas, so nothing really to look at on that side. They do a great job of keeping up the grounds at this facility and their beach has wonderful palapas you can spend the day under and enjoy sunning, swimming in the ocean, purchasing from the many peddlers who walk by all day (kept at a distance from the guests by a small rope barrier so you are not harassed but you are free to approach any of them whose items you are interested in purchasing). You can reserve a palapa if you go to the beach early in the morning and place your towel on a lounge chair and let security know and they are usually there first thing in the morning making notes of what palapas are being reserved.

There is a great coffee shop called Club Too that opens at 7 am and offers all kinds of coffee and expresso drinks, muffins, bagels, croissants, a couple desserts and about 8 different flavors of great ice cream. They also have a small store selling some resort wear, jewelry, and grocery items, as well as some basic types of medicine. One of the nicest benefits is that the onsite restaurant serves wonderful food for breakfast, lunch or dinner as well as service for food and drink on the beach and at the pools. The restaurant has a "Fiesta Night" with entertainment and a "Pasta Night" each week. Our group went deep sea fishing and brought back dorado which the chef fixed for the 8 of us. We chose to have our fish blackened and/or grilled and both were delicious. This was a complete meal with salad, vegetables and rice for $12 a person.

They have a salon on site as well as spa treatments, an exercise room with elliptical, treadmill, etc., free weights. The main clubhouse has a a couple large flat screen TV's and we watched the baseball playoffs and some of the World Series while we were there Oct. 18-25. There are staff to help you plan any kind of activity you want to participate in: snorkeling, scuba diving, deap sea fishing, parasailing, paddle boarding, kayaking, dinner cruise, booze cruise, etc. We had sunshine all week with temperatures in the 80's Fahrenheit and so was the ocean (actually Sea of Cortez).

All the staff here are friendly and helpful and the smaller size of this property makes it a very relaxing vacation. I'd definitely go here again.

Room Tip: Escondido 11 was a wonderful villa with two master bedrooms and you could definitely sleep two more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    60
    18
    20
    10
See reviews for
77
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Escondido 24. Pure heaven. My second time there. So much to do and see. Everyone so friendly. Would go every girls trip if we could!!!. The office down the beach is a blast, we were just steps away from the beach.
Dinner on the beach, sunset cruises, and of course Squid Row. Definetly would recommedn it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa, private, quiet adn the fully equipt kitchen is awesome to have!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Visited Club Cascadas on September 27th , 2012. We got the week as a bonus week exchange through TPI. The resort is celebrating its 25th anniversary, and had many surprises for us. This is one of the best exchanges we have had in 10 years of timesharing.

Things we found exceptional at the resort:
-In the week prior to our arrival the resort had gone through the tail of a cyclone and tropical storm. The day we arrived Cabo was majorly flooded, many streets were unpassable, and the wave and ocean were brown. It rained more the night of arrival then stopped for the rest of the week, within 24 hours the resort was clean of all mud/sand, the beach cleaned up, etc.. This all on top of their usual exceptional service.
-The on-site (and on the beach) restaurant was exceptional. Good food and good prices.
-Food and drink service to the beach and pool, felt more like a resort than a timeshare. In the end never made it to Walmart so never cooked ourselves, just charged everything to the room and spoiled ourselves.
-Great spot on Medano beach, great pool and beach palapa loungers.
-Easy 15 minute walk into the heart of Cabo on the beach or on the road.
-Very well maintained despite 25 years.
-Great architecture and character to the place. As my wife said you feel like Betty Rubble walking into a Flintstones Abode. (If you like 5 star new, shiny granite, etc, the place will not be for you.)
-“Family” atmosphere. Immediately noticed the many returning owners that knew each other, knew the multi-year staff. Most everyone was returning to their home away from home. And the staff all knew them. Very safe and great security.

The drawbacks:

-Air conditioning was only in the bedrooms. It worked and made sleep possible despite the lack of closed “windows/vents”. Made for constant blowing and noise. However, we were there at one of the hottest and humid periods possible in Cabo. With the major room ventilation and multiple ceiling fans most times this should not be a problem. If you demand central AC don’t come here. If old style flow through ocean breeze cooling is your thing you have found your place. (Hopefully, you don’t hit 90 degree feels like 110 (30C feels like 40C) weather like we did.)
-Funky, we loved it but not for everyone. Almost no square corners in the whole resort. Even all the shelving is rounded stone etc.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom downstairs unit, plenty of room, would be perfect to share with another couple and both bedrooms are self-contained with their own washrooms and air conditioner. The kitchen and large living room are shared. Close access to the beach and both pools and beachfront restaurant. Very warm and friendly staff and “residents”.

Additonal charges which included all meals and drinks for 7 days, and one hour long facial, came too approximately $800 for the week. Probably better food and service than most all-inclusives but much cheaper. My wife who does like to pamper herself raved about the facial.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just returned from a week at this very unique resort. The grounds are beautiful with constant care. The villas are very comfortable with sufficient kitchens and plenty of room. We had a two bedroom, each had it's own bath. The pools are comfortable with sun, shade, and bars. On the
beach,"Medano Beach" there are Palapas with lounges. There is a spot for every need.
The staff at this resort were all exceptional. They were all kind, helpful and generally good at their jobs.
The one down side for us was there was no laundy facility on premises. This may not bother
other people, we just don't like to go home with a mountain of laundry.
The other thing is there are only wall air conditioners in the bedrooms. They work really well
but are very noisy if you are a light sleeper. This scared me because my husband is very partial
to air conditioning, but he did fine.
It is a great place to relax and rejuvenate. Do as much or as little as you want.
We had no mosquitos or other bugs. There are bug nets around the beds but we didn't need
them.
The food in the restaurant was okay, nothing to get excited about. It's convenient if you don't want to go off the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Welcome to Bedrock! For one week in July, we were Betty and Barney.

We spent one of our five weeks in Cabo at this resort and have really mixed feelings about it. While the resort and villas were fantastic, we were sucked dry by mosquitoes and it really put a damper on our vacation.

The grounds were lovely and it appeard that all the villas had a hammock. We really enjoyed having our coffee out on the patio and I especially enjoyed relaxing in the hammock. In fact, I slept in the hammock one night. The location is fantastic – we could walk down to the Mango Deck to party during the day and at night we could walk to town. The resort is small so it only takes a minute to walk from most villas to the beach (or fitness center, pools, restaurant, etc.).

But…there are HUGE gaps around and under the doors and a somewhat open air shower allowed all kinds of creatures in – we had a gecko in our bedroom one day. We named him Dino. And we absolutely HAD to sleep under the mosquito net each night. One night we returned from town and the housekeeper had tied our mosquito net back from the bed. Well when we finally went to bed we noticed a mosquito UNDER the net hovering directly above us!

The BIG problem was in the semi open-air bathroom – that’s where all the buggers congregated and made their attack plan. We guess we received most of our bites in the bathroom.

But we did see them spraying the grounds so management is trying doing something.

If you do rent a car, they have a security monitored lot w/ free parking.

There is a very small fitness center with only a few pieces of cardio equipment but I was able to get in a decent workout. Free weights, machines, mats, balls etc.

We also had massages one day and the spa is housed in a converted villa so don't expect anything fancy. The masseuse was fantastic.

As much as we loved the resort grounds, villa, beach, restaurant, and location, this was most likely our first and last stay at Cascadas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We loved this Villa! We have just returned from 9 days at Cascadas. Cascadas is a beautiful boutique resort. We had the Malaga Villa (22S). Check-in was a breeze! The Villa was perfect for us. It is 1,280 sq. ft. and very large and comfortable. It occupies the second and third levels of the building. There are 4 flights of stairs to get to the first level of the Villa, so be aware of that. The first level consists of the kitchen (large, fully equipped with all appliances, even a blender for drinks, utensils, cookware and dishes, with everything you need, even salt, pepper, coffee and filters), dining area and living room area, all very large and spacious. There are 2 full bathrooms, one on both levels. Upstairs is the bedroom, again very large and open. The bed was extremely, and surprisingly, comfortable (I am very picky about beds). The only AC unit is upstairs by the open loft area next to the bed (looks down into the kitchen), however, we found that by leaving the fans on downstairs and keeping the curtains closed, the AC unit did just fine cooling the downstairs. There was plenty of hot water for showers. The Villa was clean upon check-in and the daily maid service did a magnificent job cleaning each day. Thank you, Senoritas! The balconies (advertized as ‘garden’view) really do not have a garden view. There are walls surrounding the balconies so the view is not the best. The Jacuzzi on the lower balcony, however, was very private (sans clothes not a problem) compared to some of the Jacuzzis in the other villas. I have read some posts that this resort is dated. I disagree completely with that! Yes, it is an older property, however, that is what is so enticing about it. This resort has so much charm and ambiance. If they update it, it would lose all the ‘flavor’ of old Mexico. (Note to management: PLEASE do not change the Villas!)

The gardens and grounds of Cascadas are tropical, beautiful and immaculate. Maintenance is out every day cleaning and trimming. The pools are very nice and deep, however, the upper pool was too warm for us, not sure if it was just the weather or if it is heated, but it was not refreshing. We used the lower pool and it was just fine. The pool bartenders were wonderful and Hubby had many great conversations with them. Service at the restaurant was above-par. The waiters remembered what we drank after the first day. The beach is very nice with plenty of palapas (we only had one day of swimming due to red flag days, however, the ocean was wonderful that day!). Food and drink service at the beach was superb!

Each and every staff member we inter-acted with were more than gracious, helpful, and always smiling The front desk answered every question we had and coordinated our taxis every day. The serenity at this resort was so refreshing. Very quiet and sedate, just what we were looking for. If you are looking for action and partying, this is not the resort for you. I would also not recommend this resort for children. This is a great adult get-a-way resort without the massive crowds, noise and distractions of the mega resorts (perfect for us!) . We were very impressed with Cascadas and its Staff. We will definitely consider returning to Cascadas in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor units offer no privacy on the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I don't know if an architect could design and build anything similar to this resort in Mexico these days, but you will never find one like it in the states...and what a shame. Of course, you'd need Cabo's warm weather and gorgeous water views (and sports), too. Maybe Bali could compete?

I don't remember a squared corner in the whole place, except one rafter we spotted. If you like an air-conditioned stacked box, you might not like Cascadas. But then, you just might. And they were decades ahead of the "use renewable bamboo" crowd. This place is as organic as it is lovely. And did I mention the landscaping? Meandering stone paths under the cool of the palms? Bouganvilla. Mature palms by the dozens. Coconuts were hanging over our pool.

Yes, we had our own pool. As one employee said, you did something right to get this unit! (It is a timeshare, you can trade in or rent from a large variety of sizes & shapes, some come with your own jaccuzi on the patio.) The luck of the draw applies to a degree and this off-season is great for more availability. (First week of September). It was in the low to mid 90s - bathing suit attire - and this dry desert spot abuts the humid ocean and Sea of Cortez. Interesting climate. Ah, but you can dress up for dinner if you want. Tropical stuff. And dinner here is served on tables right on the sand, (or open-air patio), maybe 10 yards from the water's edge. Sometimes with very talented musicians on hand. And last week, a full moon.

The bedrooms do have new A/C units (being replaced as I write) the quieter, powerful, efficient kind. The main rooms, have A/C too: the open doors & windows! And ceiling fans in every room. Why would you want to close up in this place? You'll have daily maid service. All the staff were wonderful. You have a full kitchen - and can have a chef come & cook for you. (Great if you caught some fish.) And 2 clubhouse areas: 2 TVs, computers and printing, wi/fi thru-out the property, (get international service for your cell before you go) pool table, kids games, coffee and ice cream bar, mini-market, and daily kids activities, some adult, too. There is a new Spa...we had massages there, and hubby walked right out and made appointments for the next day they were so good. And 2 pools with swim-up bars. Loved those smoothies. Saving the best for last - The Beach. Lots of palapas to lounge under, some hammocks, too. With restauant service for drinks, snacks or lunch. And Land's End is straight out in the water. Beautiful! You can hire a boat to get there - and to Lover's Beach - right next door. And do a lot of other activities, too....or just relax and decide which pool - or the beach?

PS We rented a car, so stopped at Costco then discovered a Walmart even closer with a full grocery in it...one like I've never seen before. Amazing. Also, the golfing is amazing here. So many to choose from. And Cascadas has club rentals more reasonable than the courses, altho we didn't check them out.

Room Tip: Even if you don't get the best unit possible, the whole experience is worth it. Go to Club Cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Cascadas de Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cascadas de Baja

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Apartado 72, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cascadas de Baja 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Cascadas de Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cascadas De Baja Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Cascadas De Baja
Resort Cascadas De Baja
Cascadas Baja Club
Club Cascadas De Baja Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cascadas de Baja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.