We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for our family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great choice for our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We visited for a week on a Groupon deal and upgraded to a newly refurbished 2-Bdr suite with polished concrete counters and floors, kitchen, dining room, 3 TVs, 2 bathrooms and two patios. Very spacious accommodations. Beds sit on concrete platforms so they are very firm (hard). We faced the street (or I should say the large imposing facade of the Hotel Dorado across the street) but it's a quiet side street. Noise not an issue. Lack of WiFi was an issue however.
Staff is gracious and accommodating. Manuel the concierge is superior. Dustin the doorman also exceptionally friendly and helpful as was Amir who checked us in.
Pool area is well kept and inviting. Can get loud (there was a noisy wedding group when we were there)
Food was ok for gringo food, but the prices were way too high. We therefore only ate there once and used Yelp and asked locals for restaurant recommendations. In the town, Caterina de mis Sabores was a favorite-very clean; try the chile relleno and the chilaquiles verde-good fish tacos, too; Mariscos de Mazatlan was touristy but the fresh fish was excellent; Los Claros for fish was also recommended but it was closed. Tacos Guss -just a little too dirty for me and the tacos were no better than what we get here in LA.
On Medrano beach stay away fr the Mango Deck unless you like to watch drunk tourists doing stupid things. The Hotel Dorado's restaurant overlooking the water had a spectacular setting, a kind wait staff but forgettably mediocre gringo food. Probably the best shrimp and fish ceviche (for $2.50!) we've ever eaten was at the tiny little Omega Sport bar and restaurant in the sand next to the Mango Deck.
Andromeda Sport had decent fruit plates, fruit smoothies, toasted bagels and oatmeal for breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    225
    87
    31
    21
See reviews for
95
313
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just spent a weekend at the Bahia in Cabo. Overall it was a good experience but there are a few things to note to make the next trip better.

First the good:
This is a smaller hotel that is a bit quiter, but has quick access to the party spots if you're interested. It's a short walk to ME Cabo and Nikki Beach. It's a short walk to The Office and Edith's restaurants. And it's a short walk to Medano Beach. It's a very reasonable walk to the marina and nightlife (would not recomend trying to walk that distance in heels, but wedges are ok for the ladies). And the best thing about it is that it's about a third the price as ME Cabo but as close or closer to everything.

The food at the bar was very good (we had a margarita pizza that hit the spot for a light lunch). Drinks were good at the bar as well.

The pool is pretty chill and there is a swim-up bar that you can enjoy. There is also a hot tub at the bar as well. And there are hamocks placed around the property.

Ok, so now the not so good (sort of):

Some of the rooms are newly renovated and some are not. You want one of the new ones. When we arrived, our room was not one of the new ones. My wife was a little disappointed with it, and the lighting was really bad (to the point where she couldn't see into her suitcase very well looking for specific things). The bed was also very hard. There was a big counter with a stove top in the middle that just took up a lot of the floor space unnecessarily.

When we went down to our friends room and saw how open thier floor plan was with a nice polished concrete counter (tucked along the wall, out of the way with no stove top) polished stone flooring, and plenty of lighting; she went from a little disappointed to a lot disappointed. We wound up requesting an upgrade the next day and got a room with direct access to the pool that was one of the newely renovated rooms. The bed was also a lot more comfortable which was good as we wound up being sun burned and needing the softer mattress. It was an extra $60 a night and she said she was fine with staying in the other room, but after we moved to the new one she admitted she was glad we did.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to both families and groups of friends, however I would also be willing to try a different hotel on our next trip. Would depend on pricing is all.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms. Free Wifi but works best in public areas. Picks up sporadically in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned we are in a great location and walking distance to most of what Cabo has to offer. The combination of price, location, and quality of service has been a fovorite feature for our guests.

This fall we will be renovating additional rooms and provoding more deluxe rooms to our inventory.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Loved this hotel, it was quiet and well cared for. You did not have to deal with people trying to sell you a condo like in alot of the Cabo resorts. Staff was excellent and its location was only one block from Medano Beach with all the restaurants and attractions. Only disappointment was there is not wi-fi in the rooms as advertised on their website. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby and bar area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are a lifestyle hotel and not a timeshare property. We do not solicit our guests and try and provide a relaxing enviroment for there vacation. A place of casual elegance where service is the priority.

One can be very active taking advantage of the many activities Cabo has to offer or just relax and enjoy a peaful trip without interuption.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 5 days and loved it! The hotel is only a block from the beach! The food at the the Bahia is fantastic. Everyone working there were very friendly and helpful. Manual, the concierge, is a super nice guy and extremely helpful. He should be your first contact! The pool was clean and never very crowded. I would go back there tomorrow if I could! The only thing that could be improved is the extent of the wifi. Day three we discovered that it worked in our bathroom, freakin funny! Other than that, no troubles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. As an activities based hotel in the heart of cabo, Manuel does a great job booking our guests activities. Weathers its Paddle Boarding, fishing or golf he creates memories for a lifetime.

The wi fi bandwith is being increased and will be fixed shorlty. Tel mex the provider is working on it as we speak and should be fixed this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a beautiful hotel, centrally located, and perfect to get to both the city and the beach. Everything was clean, the pool area was really nice, and the restaurant was great. Overall we had a comfortable and nice stay. If you're looking for something central and nice, this is a great place. It definitely has a modern feel to it, which was also nice, and our rooms were reasonably priced. The restaurant costs a little more, but it's great food and a fun atmosphere and view, so it's nice for a good dinner. It truly was the perfect location for my friend and I to scope out Cabo for an upcoming wedding. The bellman at the front were great about helping us find Cabo SUP when we wanted to go our paddleboarding and asked us how everything went when we came back. The front desk staff was also nice, not necessarily personal, but very efficient and pleasant. We were two females traveling together and felt incredibly safe both in and around the hotel. Overall it's a great hotel and I'd certainly recommend it for anyone wanting a central location to enjoy Cabo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. You have pointed out something very important for our future guests and that's safety. The Federal goverment recognizes that Cabo is the jewel of the Mexican tourist market and is committed to ensuring its safety. With one road in and out, Cabo geographic isolation creates a safe enviroment. The new airport and improved roads also are a sign of the federal goverments committment to Cabo. As two females it is great to hear your comments and that you enjoyed your expereince at the Bahia.

The Stand Up Paddle Boarding has become a favorite activity for our guests and am glad you tried it.

The doorman and concierge are there to help create a memorable experience.

Thank you for coming and staying at the Bahia for your first trip to Cabo and we will look forward to seeing you on your next trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just returned from Cabo and was extremely impressed with Bahia. Eight of us had split our trip between Cerritos Beach and Cabo. The rest of the group had planned to stay up at Cerritos for another night while my friend and I were headed to Cabo on Friday. Due to the heat and lack of A/C up in Cerritos Beach they all joined at the Bahia. Great experience from the time we stepped out of the car. Very friendly and attentive staff from Matias and Dustin at the fro t door, Ana and others at the front desk, the bar, restaurant, pool bar, coffee shop, and the friendly maids. We askedd about upgrading to the updated rooms and were gracioulsy offered a tour of both options. The updated rooms are a bit nicer as one would expect, but the "standard" rooms were just fine and we opted not to upgrade. Clean, comfortable, and the A/c was great! We ending up with a total of five rooms that first night and everyone in our group had nothing but positive things to say about their stay. Great location close to the beach, the marina, and central Cabo. We would all stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy you found us! With a group of eight it is a great place to stay because you can walk to everything and do not have to run in a schedule and arrange transportaion for everyone.


The doorman, concierge, and front desk are very important to our guest satisfaction as they are the information source and the first point of contact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fantastic hotel! Excellent location, it's walking distance to the beach. It's also a 5 min or less walk down to the Marina. The Marina has restaurants, shopping and activities. I had a room on the main level which walks out onto the pool area. The pool was never very crowded and there is a pool bar which serves drinks and food. I can't wait to get back to Cabo and stay here again some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.. Not much for me to comment on with your review other than to say thank you and see you on your next trip!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.7 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#46 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#43 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Milagros Hotel
Los Milagros Hotel
#21 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Hotel Mar de Cortez
#36 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.