We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO BUENO!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Bahia Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NO BUENO!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I chose Bahia through friend recommendations and Trip Advisor reviews. What a huge mistake we made! It never occured to us that it was spring break week for the Colorado and California students. Even if we had known, never would we have thought it would have been such a nightmare! The staff was very short and rude to us. We had requested an upgraded room and that was a flat-out "NO" upon arrival. This was even after we had spoken to their reservations personnel and also emailed them regarding this upgrade. We had also signed up for the "Lush Program". For $15.00 per day/per person, we were to have unlimited cocktails from the pool bar, during our stay. Upon checking out, we were told that program was only applicable for our first day. Several attempts were made to confirm our private departure transporation to the airport. After emailing the hotel and also filling out additional paperwork upon arrival, they had the times all skewed. For our 12:15 pm flight, they had a van coming to pick us up at 11:30 am. Impossible, since it's a 45 minute drive to the airport. No thanks at all to Aaron, who was very short with us and rude. He never followed up with us regarding our transporation needs. Sorry to have inconvenienced him. The spring breakers took over the entire hotel. We were sleepless from 1:00 am- 5:00 am, while the kiddos screamed and yelled throughout the breezeways, cussing, singing and slamming doors. The walls and ceilings were thin enough to hear all of their conversations, throwing up and howling. The sheets and comforter were a light beige, although several years ago, I am sure that they were crispy white. The pillows were disgusting as well; thin, worn and brown. The towels were also paper thin and worn to the barest threads, also resembling the color of a paper grocery bag. The shower was hot and cold, even if you were not adjusting it. Beware of the mold growning in the corner of shower. Bleach, anyone? If you don't use washcloth's when you shower, then you are in luck, because we only had them the first day. Otherwise we had to ask for them, along with shampoo, soap and a hairdryer. If you do happen to stay here, bring a pair of disposable house shoes because as soon as you step out of the shower, your feet will be black with dirt, dust outlining your heels and toes. We did complain about all of these things during our stay, but we were pretty much treated like the little spring breakers that were drunk out of their minds, instead of a couple trying to celebrate their wedding anniversary. La Esquina (their restaurant) was excellent, although we only ate there twice in a week because the overall experience of the hotel made us want to run to the border. It's always nice to come home after a vacation, but pretty sad when you are ready to come home early! Finally, we were told that a manager would speak with us at 9:00 am on the morning of our deparure... Funny how that never happened either. SO professional. Do yourself a favor and book at Casa Dorado.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    179
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
78
241
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was in LA for Grammy weekend and did a last minute booking to Cabo on orbitz based on some tripadvisor forum reviews since it was cold in LA and I wanted a warm beach getaway to counter the DC winter that I was living in. I stayed from February 11th through the 14th. I must say that I'm impressed. Bahia is literally a less than few minutes walk from Medono beach so it is an easy place to be if you want to get to the restaurants/attractions that Cabo has to offer. It is also walking distance to the mall and to the town so a taxi isn't needed. When I arrived, the front-desk man Karim informed me that I was being upgraded to the Penthouse suite which was great. It had a full kitchen, a big balcony and private deck area with several couches, as well as a full entertainment center. The only thing it didn't have was an iron/ironing board. You have to request that from the front desk and someone will bring it to you. Also the wifi was not strong at all in my room. I had to go outside to get a semi-decent signal or go downstairs to the main hall or the pool. These are little things which are totally outweighed by the excellent customer service, amenities, and food. They have hammocks everywhere so you can really relax. The pool was heated and the staff spoke very good english, better in some cases than some Americans that I know. Dustin helped get my guitar and luggage to my room quickly and gave me some great tips on what to do in Cabo. If it is your first time in Cabo, I strongly recommend staying at Bahia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very proud of my staff who work hard each and every day to enhance the guest experience.
Our location allows for guests to have a hassle free vacation and not worry about transportation and logistics. We are an activities based hotel and guests can walk to boating and water sports.
After a great day they enjoy the pool bar and bar Esquina at night.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is our 4th time at the Bahia and we were so impressed by the changes at the hotel since our last stay in 2010. Looks great..pool and beds at the pool are wonderful . The option of having a condo with a kitchen ( arranged through the private condos of the Bbahia - Weekend \getaway Travels is the one who books these) or having a renovated room is great - depending on what one wants
The restaurant was pricey compared to other local places where we can eat great food, so that is the only negative thing we can say. We stayed a month this time and had some of the spring break crowd - one group was amazing and the other terrible, however management and security were really on top of the craziness, ensuring that the rest of us still enjoyed our stay. Kudos to Matias and some of the other staff who provided amazing service and were eager to get noise under control at nighttime. The location is the best as everything is within walking distance - restaurants, the beach, stores, marina, local bus, inter city bus to San Jose and it is very safe. Within a short walk you can get behind the main street and get a real good feel and sense for the real Cabos -how locals live, shop and eat - find super local eateries, little stores - we would not stay anywhere else in Cabos except the Bahia. We plan to go back again
except at the \bahia

Room Tip: the rooms facing the pool are best as the ones facing the streets can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've stayed here three times now and going back next month. It's not on the beach, but just a block from the water, the Office and less than 100ft from Edith's, and just across the street from Sharky's, which has a great breakfast!

The Bahia has great decor, very romantic and warm reception and incredible restaurant at Esquina with a very large patio and indoor dining. All the food is amazing, but be sure to try the pizzas, ceviche and all of the margaritas! They've continued to upgrade the rooms but remain extremely well-priced and casual. Staff are all wonderful and very accommodating. If you book online in advance, try the lush package, extra long happy hour from morning til' night - pays off and it's never too early for a drink.

Pool area is generally quiet with nice cabana style lounges and swim up bar. They also have really good coffee, which can be harder to find. Great value overall that is hard to beat in Cabo.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are spacious, updated and obviously great access to the pool. Don't get rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear from our loyal guests and repeat visitors.
Thank you for your tips in your review which will assist future guests experience at the Bahia
Look forward to seeing you next month .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The Bahia was a perfect Hotel for our casual vacation in Cabo. If you want something more formal this might not be your choice. But we were looking for a easy going clean hotel that had great access to the beach, and thats what we got in addition, this was probably the best value we got on our trip. I look forward to another trip ASAP.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We say the the Bahia and bar Esquina offer casual elegance so it's nice to hear that from a guest. Simple easy vacations that rejuvenate and refresh is the goal of our staff at the Bahia.
Loom forward to seeing you on your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent 5 glorious days celebrating our 18th anniversary at the Bahia! The service was terrific - all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is good; just 1 block from Medano beach. The Bahia is a boutique hotel, so don't go expecting the sterility and blandness of a Fairmont Inn, but it is clean, comfortable, and amazingly quiet (being so close to the party area of Medano beach). We absolutely loved it! The only (minor) disappointment was the WiFi didn't work in our room. It worked fine by the pool, though.

We spent a good deal of time by the pool, where they will serve you snacks and drinks (the Bloody Mary's were fantastic!) We were there at the early edge of spring break, though, so we did have to don earbuds a couple of times to drown out some of the music choices later in the day. It really wasn't a bother, though.

We dined once each for lunch and dinner at Bar Esquina, where the food was fantastic, and not terribly expensive. We also enjoyed smoothies from the coffee bar, but as we were early risers, the best morning coffee before 7AM came from Ramon's place down on the corner (Jarro Coffee), where he makes each cup fresh while you wait. We grabbed a cup from him each morning for our walks down the beach.

Sharky's next door offers excellent traditional Mexican fare. Their complimentary bean soup is marvelous (although my wife couldn't eat it as she's vegetarian), as was the guacamole and fajitas. They also make a great top-shelf margarita!

Down the beach a bit is Cascadas Beach Grill, where we had breakfast on two mornings, right on the sand. The food and service there was excellent, and the view was phenomenal. They couldn't top the Bloody Mary's at the Bahia pool, though!

Another must-do restaurant while in Cabo is Sunset da Mona Lisa.. And be sure to go at sunset (you'll need a reservation). It is absolutely the most beautiful and romantic place for dinner you will find anywhere in the world!

We did try dinner two evenings at the marina, which reminded us a bit of Ocean Drive in South Beach. We were pleased with La Galeria (table side Cesar salad is a big thing in Cabo), but not so much with Alexander's next door. The marina area is very tourist-y, and Alexander's fit right in with that vibe.

It is Mexico, so expect to be approached frequently by locals when on the beach or at the marina offering trinkets, boat rides, Stand Up Paddle (we didn't get around to that but want to try next trip!), etc.. They are not overly pushy, though, so if you aren't into that sort of thing (we aren't), a simple "no" will usually get them to go away.

One last adventure - if you are a fan of The Eagles - is to take an hour drive through the desert north to Todos Santos and visit the Hotel California. While not officially sanctioned as the subject of the song, it fits (dark desert highway, nice courtyard for dancing, etc.). We brunched there, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Google their website for the history of the hotel before you go. The drive is scenic as well, giving you views of the mountains as well as the Pacific coastline.

All in all it was an amazing trip! We can't say enough about the Bahia (a beach view would be tops, but we knew going in that wasn't available), and all of the staff there. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your insight for future guests and details of where to go and what to do. The hotel has a partnership with CABO sup so try it next time!,,,
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife, Joanne Mitchell, and I just got back from our wedding week in Cabo... A good majority of our guests stayed at the Bahia hotel - i believe we had over 20 rooms there. Their service and staff were top notch. Adrianna Hernandez helped out with reservations and ensuring our guests were taken care off at all times. Each and everyone of them were treated cordially and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. The restaurant, Bar Esquina, was exceptional. Food and drinks were excellent. And if ever there were any problems, they took care of us. The staff also made sure that we were recognized outside of the spring break crew that had descended. A+++++++. The rooms were perfect for our guests. The pool had a great scene. Proximity to all of our wedding activities and beach. Can't say enough. We will definitely be back. Thanks again Bahia hotel for ensuring everything ran smoothly! Especially Adrianna!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.