We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY RELAXING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you are looking for a change from the all inclusive resort consider Bahia in Cabo.It is a wonderful hotel with approx 80 rooms and very well appointed with comfy rooms, fridge and nice and clean.In the past we had gone the way of the all inclusives and well this place is much different.You wont have to get up a 6.00am to reserve a spot at the pool you won't have a problem getting a cocktail at the bar and you wont feel crowded as quite frankly at times felt like you were the only ones there.

We liked it this time as you make you own schedule of when you want to eat where and at what time.It's a block from the beach and walking distance to a large variety of restaurants close by or a 5 min walk to the marina which has more eateries than you can imagine.
My only complaint was while eating at Bahia's restaurant they ask if you want sparkling water or regular and we opted for the water out of the Fiji bottle and saw a charge for it for $8.00 on the bill.They came and dropped off bread but we weren't charged for that.It was removed from the bill but just a heads up that it is standard policy to charge for water in some of the nicer est.
Otherwise it is a world class restaurant as the food is to die for.Order the chicken.

Room Tip: We were able to upgrade to a poolside room at no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HALBY0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in a classic single room in early January. The room itself was nice and clean. It was a decent sized room for the price you pay. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and the town. The hotel lobby is very trendy and recently renovated. We spent some time around the pool in the cabana and found the cocktails to be well made. They have a two for one deal most days! I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something a bit cheaper than the main resorts on the beach. It's centrally located, a 5 minute walk from the beach, and 20 minutes from the marina.
The only problem we encountered was that the package we bought included a "gourmet breakfast" and when we showed the front desk our booking upon check in, the man looked confused and stated that no we could only get a takeaway muffin & a coffee, not sit down for breakfast. I found this to be very misleading, as obviously a muffin & coffee takeaway is not a "gourmet breakfast". One of the reasons I chose this hotel was for the breakfast deal, and was very disappointed to find out it wasn't as it was advertised.
So I would recommend this hotel, but be wary of misleading deals & packages!!
So I would recommend this hotel, but be wary of the packages and deals with your room rate as they may not be what they seem!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool front or pool view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank faith_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for our last two nights in Baja at this hotel. Our room was huge, as were the two (!) huge beds in our room. This has a great location near the beach - the only disappointment was that the pool area was in the shade of the buildings in. The mornings. The restaurant was fully booked both nights we were there so I couldn't rate the restaurant. The staff were all very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road at the front of the hotel but there wasn't any road noise and the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the restaurant but it's been really popular with locals and tourists. This time of year the sun is blocked from the pool in the morning but the good news is when the beach is in the shade in the afternoon we have sun all afternoon. Hot tub time!!!
Great picture on your signature page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visited Bahia Hotel the week of December 10th. We stayed in a Deluxe room on the pool level.

Enjoyed the accomodations and service from hotel staff. This was my fourth visit to the Bahia in two years and this time i noticed what other guests have commented about - that the mattress seems a little hard. Is there a hotel industry standard on mattress hardness or is it a cultural preference?

It rained for two days, which unfortunately meant the lovely Esquina restaurant outdoor seating was not available. The staff moved the outdoor tables into the lobby area for dining. It was a little cramped but otherwise fine. I was wondering whether the cool weather would be a problem, because the Bahia like other hotels in Mexico doesn't have central heating in the rooms, but it was ok. Dined at the Esquina restaurant for breakfast each morning and dinner one evening and the food and service was excellent. Especially like returning to the hotel in the evening and having a late dessert in the Esquina restaurant and listening to small latin jazz groups.

Overall I rate the Bahia very highly if you're looking for a medium size hotel centrally located to the beaches, marina, restaurants and shops. The deluxe rooms have been nicely renovated, The staff is excellent and restaurant is perfect for entertaining.

I did have a problem at checkout. When I checked out, the room rate was more than the rate I was quoted on my reservation with Bahia website. After returning to LA, I noticed the discrepency and called Karim at the concierge desk and he was able to correct the discrepency. Thanks Karim.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xlagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes the unexpected rain has caused lots of contingency plans to go into affect.

I am not sure what happened at check out but I am so glad to hear that it was corrected as soon as you realized the mistake.

My name is Lee Vosburgh and I would like to say hello next time you are here if you don't mind. We at the Bahia like to get to know our guests and appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REnton, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This experience is only about the hotel itself, no other factors outside of this experience.
In March we booked a 2 bedroom suite, that we researched using travel site's as well the hotel site. The room description on the hotel site was what swayed us to choose this room at this hotel; a large suite ideal for larger families or groups with 2 large terraces. Since there were 2 couples going we wanted to spend time together, but also have some separation.
When entering the property, you see the check-in area and a nice open bar/restaurant. Everything was clean and very open with nice decoration and this gave a super first impression.
While our room (226) was very clean, it is rather sterile, just white everywhere not even a piece of art on the wall. We ended up at ground level essentially, which was level to the front street. if we were wanting to opening the curtains the windows with bars across them, allowed people that walked by to see inside easily and did not allow for any privacy, and added some road noise late at night.
As far as a 2 bedroom there was one bedroom that was completely closed off, the second was opened to the living area, more of a studio style and limited privacy since the living room is a shared area. There was also no outdoor area’s at all that were connected to the room. Not having the terraces as described was a negative for us; because that was something we looked forward too as part of the room.
The beds were pretty far from comfortable, even after we asked to have the comforters added to the mattress as a top, it was still very much like sleeping on a box spring.
I think we really missed 20% to 30% of the room we were advertised. Again I booked my trip in March of 2012 for a two bedrooms suite. I also called prior to my arrival to ensure that the room described on the hotel website was what I was getting, and was assured I would be. I also sent 2 follow up emails as additions questions came to mind in Sept and Oct, but I never received a response to those questions email questions.
The pool area is nice, a little small but fits considering the size of the hotel. There were plenty of chairs, but you had to find the right spot if you wanted to be in the sun the majority of the time. The bar opened at 11 and the service was good; someone always seemed to be walking by asking if you needed anything. Also it helps to get to the pool early even before the sun is fully out, there are a few people who liked to play tap tap place back by leaving things in the morning and not coming back until hours later when the sun came out. That’s not the hotels fault, just something to point out if you really want to have some time in the sun at the hotel.
When I asked the front desk about the room not being as described, I was told they would get back to me after making some inquires. This was disappointing that no one ever did respond, call or anything. The next day I returned to the front desk asked again about our room not being what we booked, I did not expect much but at this point I was curious why there was no response at all, I was told there was nothing that could be done. I did not expect to be moved since we were checked in, but there was no concern from the hotel that this was not as advertised. Again this is disappointing to plan a trip so far in advance and do my diligence prior to arrival to not get what I paid for.
I have finally been able to reach the hotel but not thru there info email address, but to the reservations email, why the difference I am not sure. They have offered a 20% discount on my next stay plus amenities (I am not sure what that means) I am not sure how I feel about the offer of 20% off my next stay, when I received 20% less on this stay, and it took me a while to save for this trip, and I am not sure when I would be able to make another.
Before leaving I walked around the hotel I think our unit was the only one without a terrace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent Xmas at Bahia, and I can't recommend it enough. The staff are friendly and the rooms are hip and quiet. No screaming kids, and a great pool/hot tub area.
The restaurant is amazing. I am usually vegan, but knew that would be impossible in Mexico so I had the mushroom pizza - I normally HATE mushrooms, but they did something magical to them.Magic mushrooms.
Its not right on the beach, but its about a 30 second walk to it. (Note - its right next to the loud beach where its Spring Break all the time, if you walk over to the right a bit, which we did every day, its quiet)
Also a very short walk to the Harbor (which now looks like the Glendale Galleria, sad)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Bahia is a terrific hip hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas. The restaurant Bar Esquina is really good with great food and a good vibe. I loved the pizzas. The bar scene is really fun and vibrant. The rooms are a really good value and the beds are really comfortable. The management at the hotel could not have been more friendly or accommodative. We had a wonderful vacation this Christmas and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.7 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#81 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#46 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#42 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing