We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, terrible bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, terrible bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Cabo, and stayed at the Bahia. We loved everything about this hotel except the beds. By the last night of our stay,we stayed four nights, we were hurting so bad, we couldn't wait to get home. We may as well been sleeping on concrete, it was so hard. I asked if all the mattresses were the same, and was told yes. It's a real shame because otherwise we'd be back in a heartbeat. The staff is awesome, we loved Ricardo the bartender, and the food was great. Also the location is great.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 136, right off of the pool, the pool rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    220
    85
    30
    22
See reviews for
94
302
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at the Bahia Hotel with a friend of mine. The location was great - easy to walk to beach, restaurants, shops, etc. We ate at the restaurant as well - nice atmosphere and live music some evenings - good place to start the evening with a drink here or even have a nice dinner. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalon, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My two brothers and myself recently visited Cabo for a few days of fishing. We found the hotel staff very friendly. Since we were blessed with a 220 lb. yellow fin tuna we needed help in freezing and transporting the tuna to the airport. One employee in particular was a real standout. The head bellhop Matthias (not sure how to spell it) was a real professional in helping us to feel right at home. He took our catch to the walk-in freezer and helped us to weigh it so we could calculate shipping charges. Thanks for your help.
We found the hotel to be lacking when it came to using the internet and the telephone service, and found out later that we could have requested a microwave oven and coffee maker. But overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is perfect, its so close to the beach, every single member of staff is friendly helpful and great to chat to, they are knowledgeable about the trips they offer, they helped us not to do zip wiring but to do jet skiing instead. Karim one of the managers is so lovely and always ready to help. There are safety deposit boxes so you know you're valuable items are always safe. The room is super spacious with a charming balcony, and kitchen was fully kitted out with pots pans and plates. Cannot fault this hotel, we stayed 5 nights in a single plan room and it just wasn't enough. Definite highlight is the pool with swim up bar, the lemonade is wonderful and so is the food, and the food is much cheaper than if you eat at the restaurant attached to the Bahia. The drinks are pretty expensive though, so watch out, we ended up with a large tab as we spent a day by the pool and didn't realise just how many diet cokes we went through! Already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently stayed at the Bahia Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Right in the middle of town close to everything. Walk down the hill to the beach. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent. Food was deliscious,especially the pizza!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I actually ended up extending my stay for 3 days.This hotel just has a nice vibe to it! The bar is jumping at night. Can't wait to go back, I will definitely be staying at the Bahia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. You are not the first to extend his say and i hope you are not the last. We enjoyed have you and your friend in house. I love for a New Yorker to make a comment on the pizza!!!!
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We are compulsive travelers and have traveled to hawaii/carribbean/europe multiple times with kids...however this was our first trip to mexico so my review of the hotel may be a little biased since I compare against the other places we have toured.

We stayed 4 nights in the 2 bedroom suite at Bahia...Our suite was huge but really old - tube tv, really old electric coil cooking range, problems with drainage. There is a separate living & dining area downstairs and the 2 bedrooms are upstairs. The bedrooms are really tiny - 8 ft x 8 ft with a slanted ceiling that is less than 6 ft high on one end! No views to the ocean/beach since casa dorada resort is right in front. I was expecting more since the 2 bedroom suites run at $250+ per night.

The hotel has an all inclusive "foodie" option to eat one item from the menu at their restaurant...we tried that for one day and the food was really good at their restaurant. But any drinks you order is extra....the hotel has one pool & one Jacuzzi....pool was quite cold and not kid friendly...now to the best part about this hotel - its proximity to the only swim-able beach in Cabo & the polite staff. On check out we were actually charged an outrageous $5/water bottle that we consumed from the "mini bar" (fridge) in the room. But when we pointed that we were never told how much the water costs the hotel staff was kind enough to waive it off.

Overall - this is an average hotel but I would try one of the many fancier hotels in the area if travelling with my kids again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the older rooms/suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Recently stayed here on a girls trip to Cabo ------ we went for the "adventuresome" non-all-inclusive choice and were so glad we did. Cabo is a perfect place to do this - there are so many great restaraunts and bars to experience. The BAHIA is in the perfect spot - you can walk 3 minutes to the beach where you can eat at a number of nice places or catch a boat over to Lover's Beach, or just enjoy the ocean. You could also walk 5-10 minutes and you are on the Marina or in the heart of Cabo's downtown.
The staff at the Bahia went our of our way to be friendly, helpful, and make us feel comfortable at any hour of the day/night. The pool was a little on the cold side - but in 35-40 degree weather - it was welcome. The poolside swim-up bar was a great place to hang out during the day to get away from the crowded beach. Their wood-fired pizzas in the restaraunt were delicious and a great value at around 10$ each.
The air-conditioning was a little on the weak side and a bit noisy - but the rooms were spacious and authentic - you felt like you were in Mexico. The Wi-Fi was a little disappointing - you couldn't get service in your room - but you could on the balcony or poolside and it kept making you sign-in repeatedly - but hey, you are supposed to put that away on holiday anyways right??? ;)
The beds were very comfortable - the showers were nice (no bathtub in our room though so if that is important - check before you reserve.)
Overall - great value, great service, perfect location.
We LOVED the Bahia!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.