We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Bahia Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bahia for five nights before moving to an all-inclusive resort so that we could spend some time close to Medano Beach and the marina (where all the action is). We were not disappointed at all, just a few minutes walk to the beach and less than ten minute walk to the marina. The hotel is a cute, boutique style and the restaurant attached (Bar Esquina) is one of the hottest places in town - the food is amazing. The rooms are clean and very white! The service was outstanding. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Cabo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    180
    66
    26
    19
See reviews for
79
241
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our first impression of the Bahia Hotel & Beach Club was negative, since we were told that our room had been given to someone who was attending a wedding, so we'd need to spend our first of four nights at a hotel about six blocks away. We were disappointed, but we had no other choice, even though we had made our reservation two months ago. When we returned to the Bahia, we were upgraded to a much nicer room in the remodeled section with two queen beds. The sink that sits on the bathroom vanity is too big for the space, leaving little room for your toiletries. The water temperature in the shower sometimes runs hot then cold then hot again. A lot of water is wasted while you try to get a comfortable temperature.

The location of the Bahia Hotel is less than a block from the best beach (Medano Beach) in Cabo San Lucas. It is within easy walking distance to the Marina where there are lots of stores. Downtown Cabo is only a few blocks beyond the Marina where we visited Cabo Wabo Cantina that is owned by Sammy Hagar from the rock group Van Halen. There is lots of Sammy Hagar memorabilia found throughout the Cantina.

The pool at the Bahia is very cold, so there were no people in the pool for more than a few minutes. The hot tub was warm and crowded. The chaise lounges around the pool had comfortable soft padding. The soft double-sized beds around the pool were very comfortable. We had brought our own drinks to the pool, but we were told that we had to order our drinks from the pool bar. We were disappointed and surprised by this news. There were occasionally sewer-like smells while we were at the pool.

There were also cooking food smells in the lobby of the Bahia that came from the attached Esquina Bar and Restaurant. The lobby of the Bahia is very small and crowded. There are two small desks where you can sit while you check in and out. There are also soft couches where you can sit and wait until it's your turn to speak to someone at the desk.

The bedding at the Bahia is very nice, however the down-filled quilt is much too warm for Cabo's warm weather. The mattress pad is also down-filled. I thought I was being bitten a few times until I discovered the sharp ends of the feathers were poking through the mattress pad into my skin.

The lighting in our room was very dim. We would have wanted brighter lighting. The air conditioner worked very well and was not too noisy. We could hear the giggles and voices of people in the outer hallway coming through our door. We could also hear the heels of people walking across the floor in the room above our room.

Some of the many helpful, friendly people at the Bahia included Eduardo, the concierge, Karim, Ana, Vididianna, Dustin, etc.

During our stay we went on the Sun Rider Sunset Cruise that included drinks and a average dinner. The catamaran went to Land's End Arch, pelican rock, Lover's Beach, the sea lion colony, etc. When we went out into the Pacific Ocean beyond the arch the waves became very rough. We saw black images under the water that might have been whales. The crew on the Sun Rider tried to get people to join them in dance. They actually went around to everyone on the cruise and asked to have tips put into their blue box labeled "TIPS". We thought $59 was too expensive for this cruise. The taxis in Cabo San Lucas are also very expensive. It cost $10 to ride one-way from the Bahia around the Marina to Dock 4 where we got on the Sun Rider Sunset Cruise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the remodeled section of the hotel. They're much nicer than the older section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We will do this again! Thanks to a very attentive staff and owners, we did not feel like clueless tourists our first time to Cabo. They plug you right in, and we love their stand up paddle boards ready to go on the beach. Not to mention we had the best surf ever just a short drive away. Okay, and the pool bar--well, you think you won't be hanging around a pool much, but when your room opens up onto it, and you are at the end of a long, hot day, it's the perfect respite for something to eat and drink (and read on the shaded oversized platform lounges they have there) We met lots of fun people, some who come back time and again it seems--paddle boarders, surfers, fishermen, golfers. (I suppose there are some who only relax there, too!) And we appreciated the to-go coffee bar for our fast getaways in the morning and the restaurant Bar Esquina was beautiful with great food. They also have free wireless and hard-line calls back to the States, which was really nice and made it hassle-free to do just a bit of checking in on real life! Thanks all at the Bahia Hotel!!!

Room Tip: poolside is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked this hotel based on price and location, and it excels on both fronts and more. I was pleasantly surprised when I came up - it looks like a modern chic boutique hotel, vs the step-above-motel I was expecting for the price. We stayed in one of the two bedroom suites as we were traveling with a toddler and it was large and spacious.

Pros:
- Location can't be beat. It is a short block away from the Medano beach, one of the few swimmable beaches in the area. It is a five minute walk to the marina (tip: walk through the parking garage of the mall to get to the marina with no sweat and hills and shave off a couple extra minutes), and no more than ten minutes to walk to just about everything in downtown. We followed restaurant tips from Trappers Cabo List online and were never steered wrong.

- Affordable - for the price of a one bedroom at the Holiday Inn or other average hotel/resort we got a two bedroom suite at the Bahia. Sure we scored during a 30% off sale but their regular room rack rates are very reasonable, especially considering what you get.

- Free calls to US or MX - we didn't use this, but it was a nice perk. You no longer have to use only the hotel lobby phone, you can call from your room.

- Use of Medano Beach Club - while all beaches are technically required to be public, it was nice to have a spot to use lounge chairs and towels without feeling pressured to buy drinks. It's a short block from the hotel and right on the beach. No umbrellas when we were there though.

- No timeshares!! Believe me, after one day in the town and being asked by everyone if you want a timeshare (if you think those people approaching you in the restaurants are just being friendly, think again...you're walking into a tour or timeshare pitch), it was nice to at least come back to a hotel that offers no such thing. You can't say that about most of the big resorts out there.

- Comfy beds: international beds are notoriously firmer and harder than what we are used to at home or in American resorts, but these were nice with a good feather top pad on top of the mattress and thick luxurious bedding.

Cons:
- Wifi Internet: while they tell you it's offered in the rooms, it's really not; the connection is so poor that you'll never actually be able to do anything. The lobby and pool area is the only way to get a decent connection, so at all times of the day you'll see groups of people with laptops in these areas trying to log on (tip: sit as close to the kitchen of Bar Esquina and ask the staff for the bar's password - that connection is far more reliable than the hotel's). It's really in the hotel's best interest to get these connections in each room, as otherwise they will continue to see people like me who are in their pajamas in the lobby trying to check my email while the party crowds come into the bar in the evenings.

- Drainage system is poor - we often smelled backed up sewage every time we used the shower in the other bathroom, or out in the pool area (hard to relax by the pool when it smells of of rotten eggs). Not sure if its indicative of other hotels in the area, though, I know some areas are more affected by this problem than others. But every time we took a shower, the water would drain so slowly we were standing in a mini pool by the time we were done.

- Not kid friendly: not that anyone at the hotel didn't try to accommodate us, but it's just not a good resort for kids, especially toddlers. No kids clubs or activities; pool is non heated and starts at 3.5 feet deep; no bath tubs; carpet in the rooms with different level steps (even on a single level two bedroom which we requested) makes for lots of tripping hazards for a little tyke. Crowd here definitely leans towards couples and single travelers, which is great if you fit into those categories. If we were to come back, we would probably seek out a family resort as a result.

- Minor amenity skimping: no irons or hair dryers in rooms (have to ask front desk), two bedrooms have a nice bar area with refrigerator but no stove, and again no working wifi in rooms.

All in all though, it was a nice hotel that exceeded my initial expectations. The modern feel, great location, and cordial staff make this a wonderful value for a first time Cabo traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a wedding in Cabo last week and some of our guest and my husband and I stayed at the Bahia. The people who work there are incredibly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is chic and comfortable. The place is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The swim up pool bar is a perfect perk. It is a quiet place but only a block away from The Office and Mango Tango so if you want some noise you can walk a block away. When you are tired of the noise you can walk a block back and have a drink in the Bar Esquina which has the best wine options in Cabo. The meals there are the best in Cabo as well! You really can not go wrong staying at The Bahia! The front desk people are so helpful in getting a taxi, booking tours, helping out with anything you need. Not to mention very affordable too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in a spacious room on the 5th floor for $100 per night. Excellent value. I slept like the dead every night. Bahia has a wonderful swim-up pool bar where we spent most of our early evenings. 2 for 1 pina coladas, cant beat it. If you're solo, just ask Omar for a double, he'll make it nice. The bar/restaurant scene is very sexy. Having the World Series and Sunday NFL games on at the bar was a bonus. Do yourself a favor and make a res, they have become quite popular with the Dorada crowd from across the street and it gets busy for dinner. The front desk staff speaks excellent english and is very helpful. If you want to plan something extravagant (surf trip to Cerritos, fishing charter) ask for help from the owner/manager Lee, who is American, and knows everyone down there. He will put you on the right track. He also runs a business called Cabo SUP two blocks down the hill on the beach. Kayaks, stand up paddle, boat rides etc. Ask for Pepe. Tell him Max from New York says whats up!

Room Tip: The first two floors are renovated, so they are nicer. But they are more expensive. The less expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Words don't even do this boutique hotel justice. This will be our 4th time back and we fall in love with it every time we return. The experience is like that of a five star hotel. As far as we are concerned it is a five star hotel. The service is unbelievable everyone greets you with a genuine smile and is so very helpful when we need anything at all. We honestly feel at home when we return. Lee is one of the owners and he is always so friendly and makes sure that you are well taken care of. We travel a lot around the world and I have never met an owner of the hotel and one that makes you feel so welcome. The rooms are always immaculate and so beautifully decorated. This boutique hotel is so charming and such a wonderful to place to vacation. We are never ready leave, but I assure you we will be back. Thank you again to everyone at the Bahia for making our vacation perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We love having repeat guests especially ones that write such a wonderful review. I am very fortunate to be able to interact with the guests and assist my staff in offering a personalized and memorable vacation experience.
With our location and restaurant it has been fun to watch the Bahia family grow and our satisfaction rate climb.
We thank you for your support and contuing to make Cabo and the Bahia your home away from home.
Me Casa Su Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookIt.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.