We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Cabo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tres Gallos

Los Tres Gallos
20 de Noviembre Between Morelos and Leona Vicario | Cab San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
+52 624 130 7709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 342 restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Los Tres Gallos is a culinary experience for those in search of the true aromas and flavors of traditional Mexican cuisine
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best meal in Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We wanted some authentic Mexican food for our last night in Cabo, and we were not disappointed. Absolutely delicious food at reasonable prices. Not only the best meal we had in Cabo, but also the best service. Be sure to order some guacamole and nachos.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    580
    136
    38
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bayarea
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best dinner of the week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The ambience of the place is authentic Mexico, sitting out in the courtyard under the stars with grass and dirt as the floor. The food was authentic southern Mexico which some people might not be accustomed to. Both my family and my friends family were very happy to eat there and we all remarked that we were glad we finished off the week with a dinner there.
I had the quesadilla appetizer and the chile relleno entre. Both were very good.
Earlier in the week my wife and daughter had attended a cooking class that focused on southern Mexican cuisine. They both remarked how much the restaurant reminded them of the class.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Horrible tasting enchilada verde. The dish smelled funky. I don't know if it was the cheese, as one other reviewer mentioned, or something else. And it had no sauce, so it was mostly chicken, tortilla, and cheese. Since 3 of the 5 of us had this dish, it really messed up our entire dinner.

The chile relleno was average.

Now for the positives - good guacamole, very tasty quesadillas, and nice ambience.

I would skip this restaurant, or, if you do go, don't get the enchilada verde.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“wonderful lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

i had made a list from trip advisor of places to eat in cabo and we were directed here after a man who directs cabs outside a mall went through the list. only 3ish blocks from the marina. we were the only people there our entire lunch, which may have been early, 12:00. our server was excellent as was our food. i had 2 appys, a sope and a pollo quesidilla and my husband had a beef wrap, which he created from the ingredients on the plate. those dishes came with 3 different sauces in bowls. our corn tortilla shells were cooked on the open grill on the patio were we sat, under a canopy of trees. the coffee was the server's grandmother's recipe, and amazing, made with cinnamon. mexican music played in the background. a wonderful experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Authentic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely dinner under the trees and stars, featuring high quality mexican dishes. Attentive staff and efficient service. The lamb was really great. Drinks (margaritas) well made with interesting flavor selection. Price reasonable for the quality and nonstandard menu. Our party of 5 was impressed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tres Gallos also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Los Tres Gallos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tres Gallos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.