We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Cocina y Cantina

Hacienda Cocina y Cantina
Calle Gomez Farias S./N Int | Colonia El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
01 415 259 4170
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hacienda Cocina y Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Hacienda Cocina y Cantina, the signature restaurant at the Hacienda Beach Club & Residences at Medano Beach, merges traditional Mexican architecture with casual beachfront dining for an elegant, laid back experience. Perched on the most beautiful quarter-mile of beach and overlooking the iconic rock formations of Land's End, this restaurant features open air indoor dining, outdoor dining on the terazza, a beachfront palapa bar and the ever popular "tables in the sand". The menu showcases the different regions and flavors of Mexico through expertly crafted authentic dishes using only the finest local ingredients.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great food, beautiful views and a terrific value.

Be sure to add this to your list when you go to Cabo as some of the best restaurants start to get expensive and you will get the same quality of food from this cozy spot over the water.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,242
    228
    74
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was by far our best dinner in Cabo. We were there a week and Cocina y Cantina was tops. There is a reason they are currently number 1 on TripAdvisor.

We sat on the beach and experienced a delightful sunset. We had the Shrimp and Catch of the Day entrees and all three were wonderful.

Waiters were attentive, food was delicious, atmosphere was marvelous, and the price was reasonable. Don't miss this restaurant.

BTW - thanks to TripAdvisor and the excellent reviews. We would not have found this jewel without TA's help. This website rocks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax &have enjoy lunch with beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I was excited about trying out this restaurant because of reviews on trip advisor. Food was very good. We had Platon Mexicano (chip with black bean salsa with guacamole), carnitas tacos, churros with caramel & chocolate sauce. All the food was very good but I would go out of my way to get the churros with caramel sauce if I had a craving. Delicious.

Staff was friendly but could have been more attentive. We got our appetizer quickly but had to wait a long time, then had to remind them of our order and they weren't even busy. I think our waiter forgot to put in the rest of our order. That was disappointing since its connected to a resort. Prices were reasonable.

The view was beautiful, right on Medano Beach. We watched water taxis, parasailers, submarines etc. Its close to El Arco but more behind it so couldn't see the actual arch. We chose to sit on the couches overlooking the beach but you could also sit right on the beach at covered tables if you wanted. I'm sure its beautiful at night too.

I would go back again and would recommend it to others.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our best meals in Cabo by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent last week in Cabo San Lucas and had dinner at Hacienda 4 times. We managed to sample most of the menu and didn't experience a single clinker of a dish. The Ceviche Verde of Sea Bass was a favorite starter, and the Arrachera to share was just an amazing steak dish. The Molcajete was a sampling of several items and another of our favorites. The views of the beach are just amazing, too. We were recognized as returning guests on our 2nd, 3rd and 4th (yes, we liked it that much) visits, and the service was lovely. It feels like an expensive restaurant, but the entrees to share ($24-$28 to feed two) are generous, and we felt like we got much, much more than we paid for. Don't miss this gem!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow! views, setting and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Your rating as the #1 restaurant and the reviews were all accurate. Atmosphere was perfect- we sat outside on patio facing the "Arch". Service was attentive and experienced. Had the tamarind margaritas, shared 2 appetizers- the ceviche verde and the pulpo cantina (octopus/calamari) and 1 plato-arrachera (marinated grilled skirt steak, black beans, grilled spring onions.) Went this past Saturday night and will go again before we fly home in 5 days. San Francisco caliber.
L and L Monin from SF Bay Area

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Cocina y Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Hacienda Cocina y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Cocina y Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.