We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place should not miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Cocina y Cantina

Hacienda Cocina y Cantina
Calle Gomez Farias S./N Int | Colonia El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
01 415 259 4170
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hacienda Cocina y Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Hacienda Cocina y Cantina, the signature restaurant at the Hacienda Beach Club & Residences at Medano Beach, merges traditional Mexican architecture with casual beachfront dining for an elegant, laid back experience. Perched on the most beautiful quarter-mile of beach and overlooking the iconic rock formations of Land's End, this restaurant features open air indoor dining, outdoor dining on the terazza, a beachfront palapa bar and the ever popular "tables in the sand". The menu showcases the different regions and flavors of Mexico through expertly crafted authentic dishes using only the finest local ingredients.
San Ramon, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A place should not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor, and this restaurant is listed as #1 in Cabo. So when we were around Medano beach and thinking of dinner, this is the first place pop up in my mind. I would say we are totally not disappointed for the food, view and service.

The food is awesome. We had the seafood pot in family style for two, and my daughter had their favorite orders. Put it this way, my older daughter finished her food as fast as possible, and with the plate clean as new. The waiter was puzzled about whether it is a clean plate or to be collected, and where her food is.

The view is awesome. The lands end is just across the bay, and right in front of any seating inside or outside. It looks more like a gigantic painting than a real surrounding. I can't think of any other place with the combination of food, view and the feeling of an upscale restaurant.

Price is not cheap, but acceptable. Excellent place for any party, event and romantic theme. And the space is big enough and kid menu is well planned.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    1,078
    194
    59
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bayarea
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good location, good facilities and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate here our second night in Cabo. If there is a cruise ship in port like the night we were there, then the view is mostly of the ship. Luckily during our dinner the ship left so we could see the ocean. Don't expect to see the sunset like we did as you are facing the wrong direction.
The food was good and everyone enjoyed what they had. I would rate this restaurant 3rd or 4th place out of the other one's we ate at but it is still very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I love that this place can balance being contemporary without ignoring its Mexican culinary roots, if that makes sense. The menu offers a twist without compromising its rich Mexican heritage. Of course, while in Cabo, you'd be a fool not to get as much fresh seafood as you can. The complimentary jicama with chile appetizer is a nod to the street food enjoyed by locals. The ceviches are exquisite and for the entree, the "cazuela de mariscos" is perfect with the homemade tortillas with which its served.

I know there's a lot if pressure to keep up with the tastes of Cabo visitors but I hope this place stays as true as it is right now. And of course, let's not forget the breathtaking view and the hospitable service- they made us feel welcome even when accompanied by 2 small children, unlike many places that blatantly forbid kids in their restaurants as if they're a bunch of aliens! Thanks, Hacienda del Mar- you have a loyal client in us!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahmekyah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This has to be hands down one of the best restaurant in Cabo San Lucas. The ambiance and service is second to none. Took the family there for dinner and everyone enjoyed their meal. Lots of different thing to choose from to eat. My favorite is the calamari and octopus appetizer. Price point is pretty decent; a tad bit more expensive that advertise here on tripadvisor, but you get what you pay for. Be sure to make a reservation and if you can do an early dinner (around 6:00) before the sun sets, you will enjoy the view. Great for a romantic evening. Plan on returning if ever in Cabo again!! Well worth the visit and a must do in Cabo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“To die for food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Unbelievable food: from the margies, to the guacamole, to the steak or carnitas tacos, to the flan and churros, this place is amazing. We went for dinner and had to come back for lunch the next day...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Cocina y Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Been to Hacienda Cocina y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Cocina y Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.