We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized Service and a Beautiful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bungalows Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Bungalows Hotel to your Saves list
The Bungalows Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Charros, Lienzo Charro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
5th NT Free/Lowest Rates!
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Personalized Service and a Beautiful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked a last minute end of summer vacation before our boys went back to school. After searching on several different websites it was clear to us that we were not interested in a big-on the water-over-hyped-over priced sky rise hotel. The Bungalows is exactly what we were looking for!

We are so happy that we stumbled across the reviews for The Bungalows! Every post is true! Erik, Ale their staff Claudia and Celia and others were are amazing hosts and made our stay feel at home and well, like family!

The hotel itself is quaint, beautifully decorated, the grounds are kept up daily the pool was maintained daily as well...I know that is expected but believe me we have stayed in hotels with some murky water!!

Like I said we had looked into a few other hotels in the area, and well I mistakenly thought that our room came with a stove/oven so before checking into our hotel we stopped by Costco and picked up a pizza to warm up in the "oven" least to say once we checked in I realized MY mistake however Ale and Erik were both so understanding and offered up their oven! The room comes with a mini fridge and a microwave, the kitchenette is stocked with plates, cups and utensils. Traveling with 2 teenagers and a 9 yr old we have to be sure to have extras and snacks!!

The hotel is close to shopping, great local restaurants 15-20 minutes walking distance from the marina and shopping. We rented a car so we were in town in no time at all!

We will definitely be staying with Erik and Ale again!! I mean if only for the gourmet breakfasts!!

Room Tip: If you aren't sure about dinner ask Ale and Erik!! They recommended a delicious mariscos (mexica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    71
    20
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
292
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Bungalows was our second stop in Cabo after a week of all-inclusive resort action. We wanted a quiet, romantic little suite that was close enough to downtown to walk places, but far enough away that it wouldn't have all the noise, hustle and bustle. We were not disappointed. Upon our arrival Erik and his staff made us feel like treasured family, greeting us with hugs, fresh cold watermelon juice and a surprising upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite. It was beautiful -- a comfy king size bed, beautiful sitting area, kitchen with some amenities, lovely tiled bathroom, and peaceful outdoor plant-filled patio with hammock, table with chairs, bar with stools, and lovely fountain that attracted doves every morning. Each morning we awoke looking forward to the day's phenomenal breakfast, always served with smiles and hugs! This laid-back paradise on the hill served to relax my boyfriend and I tremendously with its comfy loungers, rockers, and inviting saltwater pool. The service and romantic ambiance in this rare hideaway is so unique! It has an old-world, rustic feel that speaks to the soul! Thank you Erik, Ally, Junior, Beto, Claudia, and Soccora for taking such good care of us! I didn't want to come home yesterday! Frank and I will see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This little family owned hotel more than made up for my unpleasant experience using Expedia to book the trip. Contrary to my thoughts, booking a package thru Expedia was not easier, less stressful, nor cheaper than booking everything direct. Lesson learnt!
The bungalows hotel is small, quaint with an authentic old-world style and is situated on the top of the hill overlooking down town Cabo. What i liked about The Bungalows is you actually feel like you are vacationing in another country, a far cry from the impersonal Vegas style all-inclusives on the beach. The walk into DT is around 10 minutes, 20 to the beach. I walked it everyday but if you don't like exercise this maybe isn't the place to be.
The staff are really lovely, so personable & they go out of their way to make a difference in your stay. The breakfasts are on parr with any 5 star resort, if not better. The free wifi made a huge difference to my stay for business, & the free juice & fruit in the afternoon was much appreciated.
I was a single female traveller & i felt completely safe the entire trip. I had an absolutely lovely time & i had no idea what to expect prior.
The only reason i would not want to write in & give a review of the Bungalows is because i want to keep it my own secret little get-away.

Room Tip: Email direct. It is a very small hotel but If they can accommodate you they will. The rooms are old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The bungalows is a wonderful place to stay if you're looking to stay in Cabo close enough to all of the downtown action. My husband and I stayed in the garden bungalow for 4 days before heading for a week long stay in Todos Santos. The staff is wonderful - and helpful. Their breakfast was awesome! It's a super laid back property - none of the hassle and craziness of a mega resort - we loved it so much we've already planned our next trip there. It's an easy walk into the heart of Cabo -should you want to taxi it back - its relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDEnce
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked The Bungalows for our 20th anniversary trip to Cabo the first week of Juine, and couldn't have been more pleased with the room, the breakfast, the staff, and everything else!
Erik is the best. Everyone comments about the hugs, but he can also arrange any activities you want, with trusted folks, and at the best price, so you don't have to worry about wasting time looking around for yourself.
My wife is kind of a "foodie" so part of the reason we booked The Bungalows was so that we could try out lots of different places, instead of feeling like we had to eat whatever they serve at the AI places, because we already paid for it. We were not disappointed (for the most part - i.e. Cabo Wabo) with any of the places we ended up, and Erik and Beto were great at recommending wonderful places. Plus the breakfast every morning on the shady patio, was always amazing.
The location was also perfect, far enough from the center of town to be quiet, but close enough to go anywhere you want quickly.
Finally, the room was great. We had a King Suite on the 3rd floor, and despite the stairs, really loved it. Great bed, which is always iffy when I'm not home on my memory foam. Lots of space. Clean. And the hammock right out the front door was a joy to relax in as well.
OK, they get no TV signal, so you have to watch DVD's if you want to watch something, but who goes to Cabo to watch TV? The only thing I could say could be improved is the shower was a little awkward. No real ability to adjust the shower head, and for a bigger guy, it was hard to get coverage. But that was a small price to pay for such otherwise excellent accommodations.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Bungalows was the perfect place to call home for our week in Cabo. Erik and Aletse were amazing hosts - warmly welcoming us when we arrived, and helping us arrange everything we wanted (snorkling cruise, car rental in the middle of our trip, medicine for our kid who got a bee sting, etc.) What a great brother and sister pair! The entire staff went out of their way to take good care of us, and were warm and personable.

Our apartment was elegant, comfortable, and clean, and the beds were excellent! The mattresses were perfect, and the sheets were super soft. Our unit also had a hammock, which our kid practically lived in. He loved the pool and the mangos that dropped, ripe, from the tree in the courtyard. He loved the breakfasts as well - juice, smoothies, amazing pancakes, waffles, french toast, eggs benedict, and on and on. And we loved the coffee... dark, rich, with plenty of cream and sugar, and available all day.

As a same sex couple, we were treated as warmly as all the other guests, and brought right into the family love Erik and Aletse share with all of their guests.

More than just a place to stay, being at The Bungalows was a highlight of our trip. We loved chatting with Erik, who is hilarious, and just enjoying the space - it really is a beautiful place, with lots of character, spirit and love.

Room Tip: We had a second floor unit, and loved our high palm frond ceiling. The one night it rained we got to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Incredible, laid back atmosphere where the owners treat you like family. Had a birthday cake waiting for my girlfriend when we arrived. Private, Old Mexico feel... Breakfast was absolutely amazing! Can't say enough good things about this wonderful place! We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
#28 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#5 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Camino Charros, Lienzo Charro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bungalows Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful. brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bungalows Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.