We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bungalows Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bungalows Hotel to your Saves list
The Bungalows Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Charros, Lienzo Charro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free night!
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A boutique hotel tucked away in the hills surrounding Cabo but within walking distance of downtown, The Bungalows offers everything a discriminating traveler could want. With just 16 rooms -- 4 luxury suites, 6 additional suites, and 6 rooms, the staff is able to treat every guest as part of the “family”. Ask for anything and they will explore every possibility to see that your request is promptly and graciously fulfilled. In short, the service is beyond excellent.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, one of the luxury suites. The decor is perfect with beautiful handmade tile, charming painted sinks, and rustic wood furniture. The suite has a bedroom with a king size bed and separate dressing area, a spacious bathroom, a functional little kitchen, and a smallish living room. But who needs a living room when the suite has a huge private terrace?! We were at the traffic-free end of the third floor with a view of Cabo and the Bay of San Lucas. Most days there was a gentle, cooling breeze that rustled the palm fronds, Please note, there is no elevator so be prepared to walk off some of your delicious meals by climbing a few stairs.

Each morning begins with a delicious breakfast, beautifully presented. The first course is strong coffee (tea and decaf coffee are also available), an exotic fruit juice, and a plate of three fruits, artfully arranged. Every day we stayed this included perfect papaya -- a treat well nigh impossible to find in the U.S. Then be prepared for a very generous serving of the entree of the day -- always delicious and frequently surprising. The reviewer who complained of scanty portions must have stayed elsewhere!

Eric, the host, is gracious, convivial, and your best friend. He is also very accommodating of food allergies and dietary restrictions. Breakfast the first morning was banana pecan pancakes. While they looked scrumptious, I am allergic to wheat, so Eric suggested scrambled eggs. What he served me was scrambled eggs AND black beans, avocado, handmade corn tortillas, and salsa. With this bounty I made soft tacos -- and I didn't feel one bit deprived!

For dinner, Beto recommended La Fonda. Beautifully decorated with an extensive and varied menu, we suggest you dine there at least once while you are in Cabo.

The Bungalows at Cabo San Lucas -- the best little hotel in Cabo. Forget the huge all-inclusive resorts and the sprawling chain hotels! Stay at The Bungalows and experience incredible personal service, beautiful surroundings, and unsurpassed comfort.

Bob and Deanna
Tennessee

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is everything you could ask for. If it's not available or to your taste, tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    69
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
77
278
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Even before we arrived the staff offered valuable information as to how to avoid the timeshare vultures waiting at the airport and the best mode of transportation to The Bungalows.
When we arrived we were treated like family. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Breakfasts were fantastic. Each morning we were served fresh fruit and either a fresh fruit smoothie or fresh juices such as watermelon or mango but the real treat was the breakfast itself. Each day was a different treat; apple walnut pancakes, eggs benedict, banana walnut pancakes, cinnamon french toast with cream cheese filling, vegetable omelet to name a few. I can't say enough about the outstanding cooks at The Bungalows.
The Bungalows was a short walk to everything we wanted; the beach, marina, town square.
Can't wait to go back. One of the most relaxing vacations I've ever had.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a nice view on the bay and a covered outdoor seating area with hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from Cabo to attend a Wedding...great place for a destination wedding!

Most of the wedding party stayed at two beach resorts, but I just couldn't bring myself to pay those prices without looking around. Found Bungalows...reviews were hard to ignore, so I thought I'd give it a try. We were not disappointed.

You can read a lot of the details from others, but for us, I had a family emergency and instead of arriving with my wife on Thursday, I arrived Saturday. Without even requesting it, they reduced our hotel bill the two nights my wife was there without me!

The breakfasts hit the spot and the recommendation to eat at Captain Fish, just around the corner was a bull's-eye...a place we would never have gone to without encouragement, but a place we went back to for an authentic tacos and fajita lunch.

Erik gives you a big hug when you arrive and that breaks the ice and helps you feel at home.

If I had to search for an improvement, it would be that I was surprised that my wife's room was not "made up" when I arrived in the afternoon for a quick change for the wedding (she had already left). Since she was gone all day, it wasn't a big deal for her; however, if you "need' to have your room cleaned in the morning, you should probably specifically request it. There were certainly rooms being cleaned before Noon.

...and that's about the only constructive criticism I could make.

I realized that it would be hard for The Bungalows to get a bad review. If you did not like the warm greeting and the friendliness of the staff, your review would really sound quite odd...so those folks probably don't write anything.

I'd recommend it without hesitation to anyone who wanted good value for their money, who likes to be slightly off the beaten track, and for those not valuing the "step out your door and you can be drinking by the pool or on the beach" scene.

We walked twice a day, at all times of the day and night, and my wife did this alone before I got there, from Bungalows to Casa Dorado and NEVER felt unsafe. Got our exercise, saw the main Cabo scene and marina, and felt great about how smart we were to pick the Bungalows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time back to the Bungalows. We like that it is not on the main streets of Cabo. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the marina. There are no Time Share pushers or any obnoxious sales people. It is family owned and they remember you when you come back. The service is wonderful. The breakfasts delicious. The owners are friendly and very helpful. It is not a 5 star palace but rather a quaint authentic relaxing place to stay. We love it and will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

One of the most enjoyable stays we have had anywhere. Treated like family from the moment we arrived till the day we departed. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff provided wonderful recommendations to help us find our way around town and helped us make the most of our time in Cabo San Lucas. Located within walking distance to everything we wanted. The breakfasts are an experience that should not be missed. If you are seeking a quite relaxation and a layed back vacation seriously consider The Bungalows.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite has a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Look, if you want to stay in a resort that is in the center of everything, had expansive grounds, sits on the beach, and offers many other services, then don't stay at The Bungalows--it isn't for you. Anyone who books this hotel expecting the above deserves to be disappointed for not doing their research ahead of time.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute stroll from the heart of the tourist area. It is 20 minutes from Medano Beach. One thing to consider, though, is that the things you get at a resort come with a price--room rates will be much higher, all those extras (like spas) cost extra, and you will constantly having hotel staff trying to do the most menial things for you in order to earn a tip. Also, breakfast won't be included with your room rate, and it certainly won't be as good as what was served at The Bungalows.

I read the negative reviews before staying here, and all I can say is that some people out there will always complain about something. Nothing on The Bungalows' website is misleading. One negative review complained that there is no cable TV, only DVD. First of all, why are you complaining about lack of TV while you are in Mexico. Second, their website lists all of the amenities included with rooms. It is accurate. Don't get upset that something that ISN'T listed isn't there! Several reviewers complained about the safes not being bolted down. Really? Lock your door if you aren't there! The grounds themselves are only accessed by one front gate, locked after 9:30 (they give you the access code upon check-in), and anyone coming in during the day walks right past the office. Nobody is carrying a safe out of there without being noticed. Someone else complained about traffic noise. It is in a neighborhood, so yes, cars drive by, but what you won't hear are the thumping speakers of several clubs that are open until 3 am--you WILL hear these from the hotels closer to the tourist area. Another person complained about privacy around the pool. Huh? How much privacy would you expect at a larger resort's pool? If anything, The Bungalows' pool is more private because the only people around during the day are hotel staff, and they are busy working.

What you CAN expect from The Bungalows is the following:

Excellent service! The hotel took care of arranging a private SUV to pick us up at the airport, meaning we didn't have to worry about getting suckered in by a time share rep posing as a taxi driver. Our SUV driver was waiting outside with a sign and a smile, and told us about things we saw during the ride. The hotel doesn't get any kickbacks and uses this company because of the good service it provides. Upon arrival we were greeted by Eric who gave us a big hug and said "Welcome home my friends!" And he means it, too! Restaurant recommendations from the staff were honest--one staff member sent us around the corner to this little shack that made some kick-@$$ shrimp/fish tacos--$5 gets you three good size tacos. When we asked about kayak/snorkel excursions, Estella (the owner) recommended we actually rent a car instead, drive to the best snorkel beaches (about 20 minutes outside of town) and enjoy them on our own terms. Not only did she handle the booking of the car rental (through Budget), but lent us some snorkel gear that she had on hand--she didn't have to do any of that. She would have hooked us up with an excursion had we insisted, but she understood what we really wanted and we enjoyed our trip much much more for it.

Excellent breakfast! The breakfasts are very good. It is my favorite meal of the day and I am a foodie; consequently, I'm a little critical. I was definitely happy with what was served. Each breakfast begins with coffee or tea, fresh juice or all fruit smoothie, and a plate of sliced fruit (always 3 types). The main breakfast was excellent. Because they have a 2 hr breakfast window, your main course is made for you when you arrive. It is fresh and hot. My wife has a gluten allergy--they were happy to make her a different breakfast that she could eat (fortunately, my wife loves eggs). Estella actually offered to send one of her staff down to an organic market that sells gluten-free bread so that my wife could still enjoy the breakfasts from their menu! If you have an allergy, they want to know! They will do what they can to make sure you are happy!

Hotel rooms with character! These are not cookie cutter hotel rooms. They are decent size, nicely furnished, and comfortable. I read some complaints about mosquitos. Yeah, there were some because we had a hammock suite with the thatch roof, and they are not super sealed up. If you are concerned, get a cozy-suite or a first floor bungalow suite. This will take care of the problem. Our room was very charming, the bed was comfortable, and the sheets were super soft! We loved having the hammock on the patio, and it held both of us without breaking! (we are not fat, though) No, there are no views of the ocean, but again, if a person does their research, they should not expect one.

Beautiful grounds! The property is not large, but the way the different buildings are situated keeps it from feeling cramped. The pool is also not big, but whatever, anyone who says they want to swim laps on vacation is a liar. The grounds are full of native plants and trees, and as a result beautiful birds are always flying around. It really did seem like a little oasis.

The Bungalows Hotel deserves its high ratings. The owners really do care and are more than happy to do what they can to make your stay more enjoyable. My wife and I stayed there for four nights and we were sorry to leave. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The thatch roofs can be noisy at night when the wind blows (which is often). If you are a light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were so glad we stayed here and not in some big all-inclusive resort! This little gem of a hotel is so intimate and pretty we almost didn't want to leave each day to wander the streets of Cabo! We had beautiful spring weather (mid April) so the weather couldn't have been better - not too hot, not humid, breezy, and no bugs!! The pool was kept sparkling clean and warm. Actually the whole property was extremely clean. Our breakfast each day was wonderful, with fresh fruit juices or smoothies, and a delicious entree that you could have seconds on but I was filled up just right with one serving. Our host Erik was unfailingly cheerful, greeting us each morning with a big hug, singing in the kitchen preparing our food. He gave us great suggestions for restaurants, with each one we visited being awesome! Our toilet was leaking one day and he had it taken care of immediately. Every employee was friendly and helpful. Kudos to the Bungalows Hotel for making our trip much more pleasant and memorable than we ever expected!!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Camino Charros, Lienzo Charro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bungalows Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful. brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bungalows Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.