We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bungalows Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Bungalows Hotel to your Saves list
The Bungalows Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Charros, Lienzo Charro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Gourmet Breakfast!
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Erik and Estella are very welcoming and answer all your questions. They give great advice on restaurants and places to go. We took the bus to San Jose and it was easy to do. It cost less than $3.00 U.S. each way. Estella told us how to catch the bus and when we got on, the bus driver told us where to get off. The restaurants were all amazing. We were very impressed with the quality of the food and the prices were very reasonable. We walked to the Marina, downtown and to the beach. However, keep in mind that if you are elderly or disabled it is a difficult walk. The roads and sidewalks are very eneven and the walk home is mostly up hill. If you need anything at all Erik and Estella will help you. We wanted to play cards in our bungalow so Erik and another employee moved a table and 3 charis into our bungalow. We felt very safe in Cabo San Lucas and very safe at the Bungalows. We usually go to an all inclusive resort but the food and restaurants are so amazing in Cabo I am glad we didn't do an all inclusive resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    61
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
66
250
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Estella and her son Eric are the world's best! The breakfasts are right up there too. The hotel is removed from the bustle of Cabo San Lucas by a 15 minute walk somewhat up the hill, but we like that, following some of the huge meals we ate near the marina.
Contrary to what the web site says, there is no TV or internet in the rooms, but Estella let us read the news from our local paper on her iPad. We recommend Pochos on the marina and Los Borillos for great meals, but were surprised that TA's highest rated restaurant, Hacienda Comida y Cantina had so few fish dishes. Don't fall, like we did, for the offering a a discounted cab ride from San Jose to Can Lucas, plus free breakfast. You have to listen to a 90-minute sales pitch after breakfast. We asked for and got our money back, refusing to endure the sales pitch. The boat ride out to the "arch" is well worth the price, which is not too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travel alot! My husband for work, I work for an airline. We love to stay in family run places when we can because we often stay at big chain properties.
We loved The Bungalows. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast was awesome, and the staff was excellent!
The neighborhood is safe, and quiet. It only a short walk to town and we never had a car or taxi while in town.
We actually stayed here a year ago, Febuary. I am researching another trip with free points we earned and I realized I never wrote a review. If I were not getting a free room with my points, I would stay here again!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We leave tomorrow after a fabulous stay at The Bungalows. This is an oasis in a resort area. I really can not add to the comments of other guests. Queasy clean, great location (easy walks to beach, marina, and downtown Cabos), heated pristine pool, delicious breakfasts, and most of all the most friendly, helpful staff we've encountered on our many vacations in all parts of the worl. Thank you Estella and Erik!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location and atmosphere. If you are looking for high end, this is not for you.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite from 2/26 - 3/2. Comfortable king size bed. Small kitchen & couch in entry area. We didn't spend much time inside except to shower & sleep. The unit could have used a little more storage space and a clock in the bedroom. There was a TV & DVD player in the bedroom. No cable, but we did not mind.

The outdoor balcony was private and had a view of the water. We liked hearing the roosters while having coffee in the morning. The foliage was lush and had a tropical feel. The management and guests were friendly and breakfasts were excellent. The breakfast area had a nice social feel where other travelers shared their tips. Estella, Eric & Alexa made you feel very comfortable. Easy walking distance to downtown. We really liked the Bungalows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We picked this hotel based on the excellent reviews and ratings it received; however it was a bit disappointing when we got there. While the place has a lot of charm - lots of coconut and mango trees making pretty rustling and swaying sounds with the sea breezes, a courtyard with a pool in the center, lots of plants and flowers everywhere, etc., everything is much smaller than it appeared on the promotional video in their website. The "honeymoon" suite which we had, though cozy and had lots of fresh plants here and there, and had a small kitchenette with a small refrigerator and microwave, plus a small sitting room, was not adequately equipped for a really comfortable stay. There was only one side table in the bedroom with a lamp so low, it could not serve as a reading lamp. The other side of the bed had a tall stand of fresh plant. There are only ceiling lights attached to the ceiling fan in both the bedroom and in the small sitting room. So when you are having a bad night, or you just want to read yourself to sleep, you cannot do so. The ceiling lights are too bright. Reading lamps in the bedroom and in the sitting room would have made a lot of difference. I think people can only do so much "honeymooning."
The hotel is very close to a major, very busy road. Lots of traffic noises all through the night. It is also in a residential area, so one also has to contend with dogs barking, roosters crowing in the early morning, and people talking and laughing loudly. One has the choice of closing the windows and using the ceiling fan, which, fortunately, was enough for this time of the year, though the noises were still not completely blocked off. The air conditioning unit is also very noisy, and even if you don't use yours, you can still hear the one in the adjacent room. Obviously, I am very sensitive to noise, and so these things matter a lot, but for those who can sleep through all these, then, yes, it is a good place to stay, especially for families with young kids. The pool was very popular with the children. The bed was comfortable, and the unit was very clean. A simple breakfast is provided consisting of fresh fruit juice, 12 pieces of very thinly sliced fruits, a one-egg omelette the first day, waffles the following day, which we did not like. We asked for scrambled eggs and toast instead, and we were accommodated. It provides safe and adequate parking for cars, and is also walking distance to the center of town where there are lots of good shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at the Bungalows because it was recommended by my tour guide Whale Watch Cabo. I was not disappointed. From the moment I checked in it felt like home. The breakfast is outstanding and rooms are very cozy. They are located off the main drag but within a 5-10 minute leisurely walk from it. The owners/operators Estella and her son Eric are/wonderful people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Camino Charros, Lienzo Charro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bungalows Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful. brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bungalows Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.