We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for the Spectacular View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off villas rate
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for the Spectacular View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our first time in Cabos and at Sirena Del Mar. We were not disappointed by the property. We stayed in the smaller 1 bedroom in the newer building on 2nd floor end unit infront of the ocean. There was so much privacy while we were on our balcony that it was fantastic. The view of the ocean and the sound of the pounding waves were absolutely impressive.

The king sized bed is extremely comfortable--not too soft and no sags anywhere while they used foam pillows which i liked. My only suggestion would be for them to provide a duvet instead of a blue wool blanket encased by 2 cotton sheets. Mind you the sheets were very smooth and comfortable.

The safe inside the bedroom is a very small one so it will not fit your laptop but the property felt very safe and there was no daily maid service unless you are willing to pay more $. Plenty of towels were left in the washroom along with amenities like shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap. It was nice to have the double sinks.

The kitchenette had a good sized microwave, full sized fridge, and a dishwasher; but there was no oven. One can find all the pots and pans, cutlery, and dishes here. The coffee machine is just a regular drip machine that uses basket filters which they provided at least 7 filters but with only 2 bags of coffee. Luckily we brought our own coffee from home along with our own creamers/sugar. They even provided rags, dishwashing liquid, sponge, dishwasher powder, and extra garbage bags. I should mention that there is an automatic ice maker in the freezer which came in very handy and it was safe to consume the ice.

As for the room itself, it is a long rectangular shaped with the sofa and 4 chair/table kitchen table and tv as soon as you enter the room. As you continue to walk forward, the washroom is on your left while the washer/dryer are on your right. Then at the end of the room is the bedroom with the gorgeous balcony with 2 cushioned chairs and table over looking the ocean.

On property are 2 infinity pools both quite shallow. One is up to 4 feet while the main pool is only 3 to 3.5 feet deep. Music is broadcasted at the pool area until about 5pm daily. If you like the older 70s and 80s music like i do, then you will enjoy the pool area very much. There is even a swim up bar in the main pool. The water temperature of both pools are just right...not too cold and not too warm. The water was crystal clear and everything was kept so spic and span. For the gigantic hot tub, you would need to descend a flight of stairs to get to and there is even a cold water cascading waterfall behind the hot tub if you need to cool down.

There are many lounge chairs all around the different levels of the property and there are plenty of towels put on shelves for easy access. There are also plenty of umbrellas. On the one end of the pool level are 2 barbecues for the guests to use anytime and I see the staff cleaning them on a daily basis so it's very clean.

The dirt road from the hotel to the main highway is a good 10 min hike but if you are in fairly good shape, it is not bad at all. I would not recommend walking up this little hill if you have any issues with mobility. I would also not recommend walking on it in the dark as it is not lit.

The restaurant on the property is very convenient but the prices are quite high. $8 for a margarita that is served in a warped green plastic cup and american breakfast is 170 pesos. In the evenings there are also themed nights for USD$38 pp. For ex: Thusdays from 6 to 9pm is Seafood night, Wednesday night is prime rib night, Friday is Mexican Fiesta with all you can eat and drink for $38. On all the other nights, other than Fridays, it is NOT all you can eat. Although we did not eat here for dinner, we were told by many residents that their food quality was just mediocre.We did have the Taco Tuesdays by the pool for only $2 usd/taco--fish, pork, beef, and chicken. they were a good size and Taco Tuesdays run only from 12 to 3pm so don't miss out. I had 4 tacos and I was stuffed.

There are no wild spring breakers here and not hardly any screaming children. I would say the clientele is mostly in their 40s, 50s, and 60s. Many of the people we met are repeats that come year after year since its opening. The staff on the most part are extremely gracious and friendly with the exception of one of two bar tenders.

We would definitely return to Sirena Del Mar if the price is right as we got a fantastic price via Expedia for March, 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    153
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
198
514
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the wonderful bellmen (Francisco and Gabriel) to the registration desk, the concierges, wait staff and housekeeping, everyone was absolutely pleasant, patient and accommodating. The site is beautiful, every villa having a beautiful, unobstructed view of the Sea of Cortez. The rooms were meticulously clean and beautiful. There was nothing better than falling asleep to and waking up to the sound of waves crashing against the rocky shoreline below our balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Welks Sirena Del Mar Resort is located a little way out of central Cabo on the tourist corridor. The airport shuttle driver got a little lost on the way, but we got there eventually. The resort is down a small dirt road at the edge of the cliff side, so can be tricky to find. It’s about 180-190 peso cab ride away to the Marina or the local transport bus stops up on the main road a few minutes’ walk up from the resort and can be used too...although most will choose the ridiculously expensive taxis

Do read previous reviews; definitely NOT a hotel/no daily service; BUT you do still get charged a resort fee of 87.50 pesos per night at check out.

The property itself is lovely and the views are stunning. Stick around for the sunset and you'll be amazed by the show of colour. All the apartments are sea facing so everyone gets a view. Depending on the time of year, you can also watch the whales direct from your balcony like I did during my visit in February.

As it's off the beaten track, if you're staying a little while, I'd recommend going to a supermarket on Marina Blvd or one of the giant U.S superstores like Walmart and Costco to stock up.There is what the resort feels is a "market" right next to reception but the stock is very limited and extremely expensive.

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the ground level to the right of the main building. It was beautifully presented with all the mod-cons you'd expect, as well as a washer/dryer too. The resort has treated the water so it can be drunk but for those still unsure, there are lots a various waters in the market mentioned earlier to stock up on. The only downside of the room is the shower head. I thought I'd gotten away from this particular type of shower head after leaving the U.S but alas, it haunted me in Mexico too. It may just have been my room, but it seemed that any task in the shower was made longer and all the more difficult by poor water pressure or water spurting out in different directions instead of straight at you. If it was meant to be a water saving tool, then it failed outstandingly.

The staff are very friendly...and sometimes, for a solo female traveller (even with a wedding ring), a little too friendly. But that's Mexico in general I’ve found so you deal with it.

Having only been to the Cancun and Yucatan Peninsula side of Mexico before, this was my first trip to Cabo. It's a little more "American" and dare I say it tackier than other parts I’ve visited, but come for the ocean/sea/resort activities and not too much culture and you'll still enjoy yourself. I like to think of Cabo San Lucas as ranging from the rich and famous to the debauched and shameless. It has a little something for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sirena Del Mar is a great resort! Wonderful location for whale watching (we saw whales at least 30 times in 6 days) and convenience to downtown. The resort is well maintained. The units are well appointed and clean. I have already recommended the resort to several family members and friends. We will go back for sure.

The hardest working guy at the resort is Manny. He is awesome! Tries his tail off to make sure people are having fun. He is a true asset for the Sirena. Also, Alex was awesome. Always had the pina coladas ready to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place is beautiful and we loved it! We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. The price was great and much better rates are given over the phone than on the website, so call! All the rooms have an ocean view, but the higher up you go, the better.

Yes, it's a time share, but all you have to do is tell them no when you check in. No hard sell. There is no daily maid service, but we liked that. No one was in the room when you're out, so that was fine with us.

The concierge at Sirena del Mar warned us about the time share people at the airport. We were very thankful that she did. We had a private transfer set up in advance, when we walked out of the customs area we were approached by MANY people trying to "mislead" us!! They told us they were our tranportation, some told us there was NO transportation outside (where our car was waiting for us) and they won't stop!! You just have to walk straight past them and get outside.

The food at Sirena del Mar was good, the drinks , not so much. They need more pool service, but the waiters were great, just sometimes hard to find.

The view on our balcony was great and the whales were everywhere!! It was amazing and we could open the accordian doors on the balcony for a full view!!

The drive up to Sirena del Mar will make you question your decision, but don't worry , it's worth it. I would not get a rent car, taxis are always available and reasonable.

There is a private beach. They have a very nice spiral staircase to access it. It is a little racky, so we didn't snorkel. Some did, but it looked a little dangeous, but great to sit and enjoy the beach and shaded areas. There are beach chairs available at the desk.

Overall, it was wonderful and we will definately return to Cabo and stay at Sirena del Mar.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, higher up rooms probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all, this is a time share resort, not a hotel, so you make your own bed and tidy your kitchen (or not). You can get rooms most of the year but January through March can be difficult for more than a few days. There is lots of space around the pools and it is easy to lay back and relax. There are no wild parties for entertainment (except the occasional evening wedding reception on the point, oh, and Fiesta Night on Friday). The exercise classes in the pool can also get a little boisterous at times. The Sea of Cortez, the pools, the beach, whales, dolphins, sea eagles, hawks, brown pelicans, boats, and El Arco views can be distracting if you are trying to read or have a high level discussion. You do have to walk down a spiral staircase to get to the beach and cove but at best, there are only fifteen or so people there; sometimes nobody. Also there are no beach vendors to sell you warm beer, blankets, shirts, toys, and other things you need at the beach, so you have to rough it. And it is about 5 kilometers to the downtown Marina area, restaurants, and the shenanigans at Medano Beach.

BUT if you can live with all of these issues, THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY. This was our fourth year staying at Sirena del Mar for one or two weeks at a time and it gets better and better each year. The staff is outstanding from top to bottom, the best we have ever encountered. For breakfast and lunch, we generally alternate between eating in the room and the restaurant. We then go out for dinner (we like to try new places). However, the restaurant is now open for dinner seven days a week, so you do have a choice. The food is excellent and priced in line with other restaurants in the area. We prefer to have a rental car for dinners, shopping, and day travel as far as La Paz but you can have a wonderful vacation with low key activities and never leave the resort. Another note of caution, margaritas taste even better sitting on your balcony in the afternoon watching whales, boats, boats chasing whales, and the sky turning beautiful colors at sunset. Sirena del Mar is the number one destination on out A-list for many, many reasons.

Room Tip: The rooms in the current two buildings directly front the sea. The higher floors have a longer view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Sirena Del Mar in October 2012 through a timeshare exchange we own in Las Vegas. We were a little hesitant to stay out of town but so glad we did. We rented a car and this made it so easy to go back and forth into town. Sirena Del Mar is right on the Ocean; however you can't swim directly in front, you will need to walk a very short way to get to get to the area you can swim at--but there pools are so nice you won't even care. Each room has an Ocean view and loved waking up each morning to the most beautiful views.
The staff is very friendly and gracious. You most likely will be invited to a timeshare presentation, which we did attend because they paid for our entire weeks care rental plus two excursions! We felt no pressure to buy what so ever!!!
Our next trip to Cabo will be spent at Sirena Del Mar.
If your looking for a party atmosphere stay in town, but if you want a nice relaxing romantic stay, Sirena Del Mar is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is ocean front. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca Las Palapas restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. 2011 Tripadvisor #2 Romantic hotel/resort in Los Cabos and 2012 Tripadvisor #1 2012 Cabo San Lucas hotel and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.