We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off villas rate
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at the Welk Resort Sirena del Mar. We have never been to Cabo and were nervous about picking a good hotel. My wife and I loved it. Thanks Tripadvisor reviewers for the help. We had a Deluxe Ocean Front One Bedroom Villa from what our reservation said. We thought it was a very nice room and set up well. The kitchen & washer/dryer were nice to have, and the bedroom was nice with a king size bed and private balcony overlooking the ocean. Being a smaller property (2 buildings, 65 or 70 units I think), there are not a ton of amenities, but it had two pools, a big hot tub, an exercise room (with great view) a restaurant and a swim up bar, and also little things to do like ping pong, billards, foosball and free use of a computer. Really, what we liked was the way it was all set up, kind of in a semi circle framed in by the two buildings with everything overlooking the palm trees, rocks and ocean. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The beach down & off to the side of the resort is nice and not crowded. We did not snorkel, but the hotel has gear to borrow. Our concierge tried to get us to listen to the timeshare presentation, but after our initial "no" on the first day, she did not push the issue. The staff was fantastic, friendly & helpful. Even the quiet/shy employees were polite and acknowledged us. I can't remember all names, but Manny the entertainment director was fantastic (proud to say I beat him at ping pong), as was Alex and Carlos, whether bartending or serving at the restaurant. Others were great, too, I just can't recall names. The two guys at the front desk were great, as were the two people at the concierge desk. Jazzie was our concierge and she was fantastic also. I have nothing but good things to say about the staff. Some previous reviews were only so-so on the restaurant, but we never had a bad meal, most were very good, but we are not foodies, so what do we know. To us, it was great. Maybe a bit on the pricey side, but so is the rest of Cabo and what do you expect for staying on-site. Taco Tuesday was a good deal and tasty, and the 2-for-1 happy hour from 2:00 to 3:00 at the pool bar was a lot of fun. Puerta Vieja restaurant located on the main road just a couple hundred yards toward town from the hotel was a very good meal. Also went to The Office at Medano Beach for a meal, which was good food and fun people watching. We recommend both of those places to eat. The market in the hotel lobby is small, it has a few things, but not much of a selection. We went to town twice and Walmart for groceries once. We took one cab ride on the way back from Walmart, but otherwise took the bus the rest of the time. It is 20 pesos for two people and easy and takes only about 15 minutes. Look for the white school bus. The walk up to the main road is a bit of a hike and steep in some places, but do-able unless you have difficulty walking in the first place. If you go after dark, it is safe, but dark, so bring a flashlight or use your phone's. Overall, this was a great experience for us and we would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "B" building (off to the right if facing the ocean) are quieter, as the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    154
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
196
512
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Rey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just spent 5 days at the new Welk Resort Sirena Del Mar. We were on the 1st floor of the first
building and watched the dolphins playing in the morning from our lovely patio. Later in the day,
we watched the whales breaching from the pool area and also the fitness center. Wonderful
surprises. Since cabs are much higher than any place in Mexico, $10 each way to the market,
we stayed at the resort and hit the happy hours,and a great Taco Tuesday. Took the shuttle fro
the airport which saved a lot over cabs - arranged by the resort.
The room (small side) was great but the shower is better on the large side. Everything is first class, no towel cards at the pool, jacuzzi a great 1/2 round separate from the 2 good pools.
Barbeque area was really nice and guests were using it.
We plan on going again next January and will go to the market and use the barbeques etc.
This is truly a fine boutique hotel at the end of a dinky "alley" type road off the highway. They
need to add more snacks in their "market" for people that don't want to eat in the nice restaurant.
We didn't see the need to go into Cabo San Lucas as we are going to do a cruise stop there
next week on the way to South America. - It is a $15 cab ride!
Great boutique resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the resort. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and nicely appointed. The pools are gorgeous. We ate dinner there three nights and the food was excellent! However...a real blemish on the experience was meeting with the time share sales person. I've never done this before and never will again. An hour and a half meeting was three hours. Low pressure was not. Though we were told we could stop at any time and "start our vacation", we were redirected and discouraged when we tried to, even when I blatantly said I wanted to stop the presentation and start my vacation! We felt held hostage by getting the "free" gift, such as when we tried to leave and were told to go sit down again while the voucher was prepared, then presented with another "package" offer. I would happily pay for my sunset dinner cruise to recover this 3 hours of my vacation. I highly recommend the resort with the caveat that you decline to meet with the sales representative (unless, of course, you think you might want to buy a time share).

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, though some look out over the pools. "B" suites are studio st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The resort is AMAZING! It sits up on a cliff and every room is ocean front! The resort only has 70 rooms, so its on the small side, but absolutely perfect for us.We stayed in a "Premium" room, which has a full kitchen, dining area, living room and separate bedroom with a king size bed and Jacuzzi tub for 2. (The Deluxe rooms are more like a studio). The infinity pool area is large and also ocean front. There were always plenty of lounge chairs available at anytime during the day. Jan and Feb is whale season in Cabo and we saw whales from our balcony and the pool area daily. There is a nice private swimmable crescent shaped beach next to the resort, with a concrete circular staircase leading down to the water. Many beaches in Cabo are un-swimable due to the severe undertow, so we were fortunate we could swim in this one. There is no life guard or services on the beach, but that didn't affect us. I would suggest taking water shoes because it is rocky as you enter the water. Great place to snorkel and the resort has free equipment. We rented a car for the week from Cactus Car Rental (as seen on Trip Advisor). Antonio at Cactus Car Rental was great. We pre-arranged the rental price with all taxes before our trip and it was a very easy transaction with him. We bought groceries at the super Wal Mart down the street from the resort and there is a Costco and Sams Club in the area too. We ate at the restaurant a few times, but mostly cooked in our room or grilled at one of the nice BBQs. The resort has free valet parking and it was an easy 8-10 minute drive into town-Marina area. You can park your car in the mall parking lot for $1.00 and walk around the Marina, which we did for approx 3 hours then couldn't wait to get back to our quiet-ocean front-vendor free resort! We will definitely go back to Sirena Del Mar!

Room Tip: Every room is ocean front, but choose a Premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for five nights. We upgraded to the large suite and it was massive. Bedroom came with its own tub and the shower was the nicest shower I've ever been in. Resort is pretty small, but everyone is extremely friendly and the infinity pool and gym are top notch.

This resort is a 10 min drive away from Cabo, so it's good if you want to stay away from the craziness of the city, but if you plan to head into town everyday, it's a bit of a hassle. Given its location, the one thing this resort could do to make it the best resort in Cabo is to offer a free shuttle into town. If that's not possible, just a shuttle to the main road would be a great, as it takes almost 20 min to walk up there just to take the bus into town.

All in all, a great resort to stay at, with no downsides except for the location. If you are going to stay at Sirena del Mar, I would recommend getting a rental car unless they start offering shuttle services. If you don't feel like renting a car, I would recommend staying inside Cabo or at an all-inclusive resort so you don't have to worry about going into town all the time.

Room Tip: Large suites are like individual apartments. They are big enough to host a large dinner party and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San mateo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The room was huge and the grounds were very well maintained. Every one was very courteous and helpful, especially the bell boy Francisco. Just a few things of note:

1) there is no daily room cleaning service - we didn't mind cleaning after ourselves as we were never in the room very much, but just know that you have to do it yourself
2) washer / dryer in the suite with free detergent came in handy, especially after ATVing
3) we didn't rent a car, but I would recommend renting one if you stay here. The bus system is very easy and cheap (about a $1 each way), but it is a 3/4 mile walk up a big hill to get to the main road. It would be great if they at least had a shuttle to drive you to the top of the hill. Taxi cost about $20 to Cabo San Lucas
4) they didn't push the time share thing, which was nice
5) really nice gym
6) lots of mosquitoes - we were bit every morning as we were getting ready
6) hotel lets you borrow snorkel gear, umbrellas, and chairs for free to take to any beach you want (cost lots of $$ if you rent at the beach itself)
7) restaurant was not so great. But if you stay here, Sunset De Mona Lisa is < 10 min walk away on the beach and cannot be missed! There is a casual pizza place and a more upscale Italian restaurant. The view is amazing.
8) beds are super comfortable
9) amazing showers - it was the one where you have 3 heads at you at once. There was also a nice tub/Jacuzzi

Overall we were happy. We got a much better rate by buying a package with our air tickets, probably about $130/night for the very large suite. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponte vedra beach, fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Huge upside surprise for our first visit to Cabo. Our kids are 13 and 10 and they loved the foosball, billiards, and ping pong, plus snorkeling at the private beach. Every room has great ocean views and are quite comfortable. The only minor detraction was the pullout sofa bed that our kids called a torture rack. This was rectified after the first night by a very accomodating staff. Guest should either rent a car or factor in about $50 per day for cab fare, as the walk up to the bus stop from this hotel is painful. Also, the best meal is breakfast, with the pepe burrito being the star. Overall a wonderful, safe stay which we will duplicate in the near future.

Room Tip: book in the new wing, top floor preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is ocean front. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca Las Palapas restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. 2011 Tripadvisor #2 Romantic hotel/resort in Los Cabos and 2012 Tripadvisor #1 2012 Cabo San Lucas hotel and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.