We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels we've stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar to your Saves list
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels we've stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great time staying at this serene property in Decemebr 2011! We stayed in the first building while the second building was being constructed. Not too much noise, just a little during the day. The pools and the property were breathtaking. The rooms were very nicely furnished and we had everything we needed to cook in 3-4 nights. Very central to everything (down town and costco and walmart). We had a car and wouldn't stay here without one. I liked being away from down town. Feels safer. Security was good here, there was always staff around, even late at night when we would get back from a late night. It was very quiet and peacful at the pools during the day. And it was great to have the private beach to walk to and snorkle in. I would definitley stay here again when we go back to Cabo. Also we did the timeshare presentation, and it wasnt so bad. I suppose it depends o n the person you get, but our guy wasnt too pushy. It was work the prize, if you can negotitae for cash instead of coupons, it make it worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    161
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
214
534
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The property is in a fairly secluded location on the edge of the Sea of Cortez with a view of Lands End. Not the best view, but definitely a beautiful view in general. The property was clean and the views are beautiful. They have a private beach below and offer a lot of free snorkeling gear for the beach and other amenities. They have a lot of planned events and we particpated in the Friday Fiesta, which was fun.

This location would be good for couples or families, but not the location for an adult partying trip.

We were able to watch the Mantas and Whales jumping out of the water every morning from our balcony, while having out coffee. Rooms are set-up for people wholike to cook some of their own meals while vacationing and there are Costco, Sam's Club, and Walmart near by. I recommend those stores, becuase all other stores near proerty are priced for tourists.

Taxi to town and beach was usually very convenient and cost about $15 USD each direction.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean with the swim-up bar worked out well for us. We did not utilize the massage or spa service dureing our trip, but enjoyed snorkleing at Lovers' Beach and the nightlife on Saturday night in Cabo Wabo area.

We also took part in their timeshare presentation to get the free tour to San Jose and Cabo. Presentation was about 3 hours, but it was not bad. We are not currently ready for a timeshare investment and did not feel pressured.

The location is about 10 minute drive out of town on the highway and the little road to and from the street to the property was a little scary at night. Buses are available from street/highway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week on a recent trip to Cabo. What a wonderful little resort! You can watch the whales and the strange jumping sting rays right from your balcony! (Take your binoculars!) The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable.The food was excellent, though the service was a little slow in the restaurant area. Their little private beach was awesome. Going to sleep every night listening to the crashing waves, was one of the best experiences! While it is a ways from Cabo San Lucas itself, $15 taxi ride..we only went in to town once. There are lots of activities for kids and adults alike, right at the resort. GREAT STAFF!

Room Tip: All rooms and balconies face the ocean. You can't get better than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this property after seeing such high rating on Trip Advisor. We have never been to Cabo before and booked for 2 days of our 4 day trip, mainly because we didn't know what to expect.

To be honest I don't know what all the fuss is about. Our room was rather dated, the shower needed upgrading, and the floors just felt dirty. The plus side was the fact there was a washer, dryer and full size fridge in the room. Location wise its a good couple of minute drive down an informal road which was pitch black at night. We booked a room for 3 people only to find the second bed was the sofa, so we weren't too impressed. There isn't much nearby and you have to take a local taxi everywhere.

The pool has a great view and a swim up bar which we enjoyed. The gym is new and the restaurant food was pretty good. All in all it was a pleasant enough stay at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humlebaek, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was here for a week with my wife and two girls (age 9 and 12). What a great experience. Magnificent view, great pools, great food, great service and great rooms with all you need. We had an apartment with nice, fully equipped kitchen, nice bathroom and really great balcony. It's a little away from Cabo San Luca (15 minutes in taxi), but the good thing is that this more relaxed and not so crowded and touristic as closer to the city. If you book tours (dolphins, whale watching, horseback riding etc.), they will pick you up at the hotel anyway. At the hotel they arrange for nice cozy barbeques at the pool, snorkeling in the sea and even Spanish language and salsa courses. This hotel is an ideal combination for families that want both the luxury and still also room for kids - far away from the terrible all inclusive places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are Starwood members...use to two kind of rooms...1 bedroom and efficiency.
We booked our 1 bedroom through Interval at the Welks.
When we got there we found that we had a 1 bedroom...but was really an efficiency with a door at the 1? bedroom.Small bathroom...small LD/DR...gally kitchen.
When I asked at the desk they said they have 2 different 1 bedrooms...a 1 bedroom delux? and a 1 bedroom premire.
If you expect a true 1 bedroom ask Interval.I have not called Interval yet to see if they even know this.
We are an middle age couple and really didn't mind but my wife was upset that we had sent my daughter there for her honeymoon and they got the smaller room.We wanted it to be special for her and no one ever told me(at Interval) that there was a difference(both times I booked).
Had we exchanged from a "cheap " resort...maybe it would have been OK...but Starwood?

In any case...now for my 5 Star Rating.
The place is beautiful! VERY clean...staff is fantastic...treated us as special guest.
I have read other reviews and we felt the same way about the pools and deck areas.They kept telling us the place was full...were was everyone?
I estimated that if there were 2 people in every room there would be a total of about 150 people.Toco Tuesday(which was GREAT) I counted 75 people at the height.Every other time around the pool...maybe 25-30...maybe? We loved this...sit anywhere you wanted.
View from balcony is FANTASTIC! You see the arch and sea...whales everywhere(although we never saw one breach...really spent time watching).
We love(and use) the kitchen/BBQ for breakfast and sometimes lunch or dinner.We like having the washer dryer(every year I bring less cloths and still end up wearing the same things).

We had a car and did visit two other beaches up the road...one a Welks is OK but small for walking and because so rocky we felt uncomfortable trying to snorkle there.Santa Maria was great for that.By the way Sirena Del Mar has masks for loan(no charge,no fins though).We found we did not need fins..and the beautiful fish are everywhere.We went down to Sirena beach,stood in 2 foot of water...dropped in some bread and there they were...beautiful fish.

The staff is great...Gabriel/Antonio and Mario at the front desk...Domingo and Francisco outside(got our car and welcome people) and Angel at the bar.I mention them all because they were all so helpful and friendly.

I would recommend this place to anyone(unless you have children),better for couples.

Happy hour at the pool is not lively...maybe because of lack of people.

We went to relax,get some sun,read books and see the Cabo area.PERFECT location for everything(15 min.from downtown...$15 cab ride.

Go to Sirena Del Mar and enjoy the wonderful place!

Room Tip: Get an "A" room...Premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and very much enjoyed this resort. We were given a room in the new section and it was spectacular: modern, spotlessly clean, and well appointed… all with an adjacent small private beach (beach shoes recommended since the sand is coarse and there is a picturesque area of rocks to explore). Our room had a balcony and we left the sliding glass doors open so we could hear the ocean waves all night long. The pool area, grounds, and ocean view were wonderful – plus, it was a nice surprise to see whales in the distance. The staff here are very professional with everything from the service we received to restaurant recommendations and excursion advice (we rented a car and did a lot of exploration on our own). Antonio, the front desk person who greeted us, was just great and made us feel warmly welcomed.

If you want to completely relax with family or someone special (or even a good book) this is the place to go.

A few tips:
We are healthy eaters and enjoy cooking so the well equipped kitchen was great for leisurely preparing and enjoying a few small meals “at home” (Costco and WalMart are good for purchasing veggies, fruit, tortillas, and roasted chicken). Healthy food is not easy to find in Cabo but we did very much enjoy The Healthy Restaurant (see our review).

If you plan on renting a car, be forewarned that the low advertised internet price is not always what you end up having to pay, and the car you receive might be ‘well traveled’. Try to confirm a final daily rate beforehand with all mandatory insurance included otherwise your rate could increase significantly once there.

If you are able to visit the town of Los Cabos, do so. It is a very walkable town with neat stores, a good grocery store, an elaborately adorned cemetery, restaurants, resorts, beaches, and other sites.

Bypass the folks at the airport who are trying to aggressively sell timeshares (unless, of course, you are interested in buying into one). Some will even go so far as to say that they are there from your hotel or car rental place to pick you up (or simply help you out) just to get your information or persuade you into a timeshare presentation. We politely declined and kept on about our business.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is ocean front. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca Las Palapas restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. 2011 Tripadvisor #2 Romantic hotel/resort in Los Cabos and 2012 Tripadvisor #1 2012 Cabo San Lucas hotel and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.