We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met and exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar to your Saves list
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save 65% Off
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Arlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Met and exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 10th anniversary in Cabo and decided on Sirena Del Mar based on reviews we read on Tripadvisor. What an incredibly romantic place for a honeymoon or an anniversary. We stayed in the very spacious and lovely 1 bedroom suite. The huge balcony is a great plus for viewing the waves crash into the rocks below. I would suggest getting a room on the upper floors so that you can keep your windows open and listen to the waves throughout the night. The weather was incredible during our stay so we seldom closed our windows. We rented a car for our stay (please read below for tips on renting). Parking and valet service is free of charge (gratuity is not included). Francisco was an excellent and friendly attendant and is more than willing to help with all your needs.

Frida at the concierge's desk was very helpful. I was worried about a strong push on timeshares for the resort but we were only given an option of a free breakfast and a free activity should we attend the 90 minute presentation on the resort. We declined so I cannot say one way or the other on how the presentation is.

Although we took advantage of the full kitchen in our room and restaurants in town, the times we did eat at the hotel we were treated to great food. The fish tacos and guacamole are excellent. I would not pass on the Mexican Fiesta on Friday nights. The food is amazing and the DJ and dance group put on a fabulous show.

The two infinity pools are kept a bit cool but they are bearable once you get into the water. We were told at the end of our stay the thermostat was reading 75 degrees but everyone was cold in the pool. I would suggest you approach management to turn up the heat if it is cool. That is probably my only complaint and it really is minor as the pool was still bearable.

An incredible, romantic, and relatively quiet place to relax and enjoy Cabo. I could not imagine staying at one of the super resorts ever again. The resort is quaint and charming with 5 star service.

A few tips if you stay at the hotel or Cabo:

-Take advantage of the beach and remember that beach chair and snorkel equipment is available at the hotel.
-Driving from the airport and around Cabo is fairly easy. You'll be minutes away from Costco and one of the best Wal-Mart I've ever been in. What we saved in preparing our own food and drinks, shuttle service and taxi's easily paid for the freedom of the rental car.
***Just make sure to take you reservations with to the rental agent. They charge us 5 times what was quoted by expedia. We refused to budge and eventually got our price. Please note if you are using Dollar they will not honor insurance bought from expedia or other booking agents. You can expect to pay an additional $25 per day for insurance and 10% tax on the total. Closely inspect your car and take pictures before you leave the parking lot. They will charge your credit card if there is damage to the car - regardless if you cause the damage or not.
-Go to restaurants based on reviews here not based off of what a local may tell you. Make sure you check with tripadvisor and Fedra at the front desk is also helpful.
-Go to La Hacienda Beach Club for dinner (the best view and the best meal). -Go to Solomon's (at the marina) for an incredible breakfast.
-Go to Maro's is great for reasonably priced seafood with great service.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool have the best wifi reception. Pools on the upper floors can safely keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    159
    34
    11
    10
See reviews for
205
524
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

It is difficult to say enough good things about this hotel. Although listed as 4 star, it would put most 5 star hotels to shame.
From the moment you meet the bell staff you are treated like a VIP at Sirena Del Mar. All the staff go out of their way to enure you have a perfect worry free vacation.
All the suites front the ocean and all have fantastic views down to the arch. You can sit for hours and not tire of the view and the continual parade of water craft from jet skis to ocean liners only add to the experiene.
All rooms are suites with spreate living areas, but the larger one bedroom suites offer larger rooms and are well worth the extra cost . As the resort is only 3 years old and well maintained everything in the room is modern and has the new feel.
There are 3 pools with many sun lounges and plenty of sun umbrellas available. The views from the sundecks facing the ocean are sensational.
The restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner and a small store next to reception provides essentials if you don't feel like the 10 minute trip to town.Oxxo,Walmart and Costco are close by.
It you want the beauty of Cabo, without the crowds and noise, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Go for the larger one bedroom apartments with the "A", after the room number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this resort. It is a 4 stars resort but I will give a 5 stars, away from all the big noises, but not to far from the marina where all the activities are.We rented a car witch is recommended if you don't want to depend on taxi or bus. If we go to Cabo again, the resort that we gonna stay will be Welk Sirena Del Mar. Thanks to all the hotel staff for the awesome work that you do. See ya!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This resort is a hidden gem. The location, rooms, facilities, pools, food, & staff were all excellent. There is a beautiful beach that is accessible by a neat spiral staircase that is cut into the cliff. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, but only 5 minutes from downtown Cabo if you want some nightlife. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Most importantly, they don't pester you to buy a timeshare every day. I would recomend highly recomend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sirena Del Mar is a great place to escape to in Cabo. It is a 10 minute ride from downtown easily accessible by the bus (very cheap) or a taxi ($10US). The staff are great friendly (especially Carlos) and looking after your needs. The rooms all appear to have ocean view. Great pool and good food in the restaurant. The bar was a little inconsistent with less alcohol content in pm better in am. It has good access to a small quiet beach with snorkeling (they provide equipment). There is a great restaurant near by (walking distance) called Sunset Da Mona Lisa with a fantastic view of the arch of Cabo. Do this at sunset! This is also a time share but they are NOT pushy about it at all.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view lower floor (3) has king size beds and balcony all the suites are on u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This tip of earth is the center of heaven, and the staff are its angels. Stand anywhere, the view is breathtaking. Order anything, the food is mouth-watering. Dance, drink, chat, relax, and be stilled by the incomparable aesthetics . The Sirena Del Mar is the best possible place for it all.

No one can welcome you into this haven of peace and beauty like can Francisco. He offers an infallible first impression. See Carlos at the bar for the first drink of many. He is funny and friendly. His drinks are perfect - and so is his smile... Manny, the Friday night Fiesta MC, will arrange all fun things the Sirena Del Mar has to offer (and there is plenty!). Dance, snorkel, Ping Pong, cook with the chef... You name it, he's on it. Find Jorge and have a conversation, he'll bend your brain! You'll begin to feel like you're more than simply a guest, you'll feel like a friend among friends.

I've been to many places in the world. This is the spot to be.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

For a trip to Cabo you could not pick a better resort! The staff is very personal and friendly from Carlos behind the bar (who makes incredible drinks) too Manny the activity advisor who lights up the place with his happy and friendly attitude. There is a private beach right next to the hotel which is great for anything from snorkeling to just relaxing and soaking in the sun. Bottom line is this place is amazing and after being here for only a week it leaves me wanting more and I will be returning!!

Room Tip: They have two separate buildings I suggest the newest building because it has the best view from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is ocean front. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca Las Palapas restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. 2011 Tripadvisor #2 Romantic hotel/resort in Los Cabos and 2012 Tripadvisor #1 2012 Cabo San Lucas hotel and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.