We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos

Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos
Carr. Traspeninsular KM. 6.3 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Puerta Vieja Restaurant Bar)
52 624 1043334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 340 restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Howe, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We ate here for the first time tonight with friends and were not dissappointed. The four of us had the whole red snapper, two filet mignon, and a chicken enchilada dinnner. Everything was cooked to perfection and was delicious. After dinner we ordered double chocolate cheese cake and carrot cake to split amongst the four of us. I only had very minor complaint and that was that our waiter took a very long time bringing us our bill for the dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our menu at The Restaurant!
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    113
    51
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The view, the pace, the food, the service...que bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our second visit to Puerta Vieja was October 2012. We returned because we remembered the view of the harbor, the pace of the meal, the quality of the food, and the attentive service...and we were not disappointed.
For us this is a "last night" dinner--a time to sit and relax before the hectic travel the next day, an opportunity to chat with locals, and to eat well-prepared local cuisine. We sat on the deck/patio and listened to the soft flute and well-tuned voice of the performer. Our waiter was a young man with limited English skills, which, matched to my limited Spanish, made for additional entertainment--a real joy to get a bit silly and know that he was trying very hard to please us (he did).
Our meals, again, were excellent. We tend toward fish while in Los Cabos, and Puerta Vieja does not disappoint. We chatted with a few others and the opinion was the same: wonderful setting, good service, great food, right price (you get what you pay for here).
(Getting off and on the carretera [freeway] is a bit confusing, so get a good map and directions from a local. The road is safe in both directions. Park in the back of the restaurant; it's a bit hidden.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed at the Restaurant. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back.
Hasta Pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful view, and awesome service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the second time we visited Cabo and we had to go back to experience this great place. We actually had our small wedding reception at Puerta Vieja in July 2011 and that was great but we wanted to go back and experience it more intimate. No disappointment. The food was delicious. they had a great flute player who played some great music and the sunset view just made it a very special night. We will definitely be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated.We make everyday a special occasion. It would be a pleasure to have you back with us on your next trip.
See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

there were 8 of us and the evening was perfect! We had a great view of cabo- the staff was very attentive and happy! The owner was very hands on and a added bonus was the live music from Rosalia!!! Made the night special she is a true talent- the food was fresh -maybe a bit heavy on garlic if you like but love love this place!!! Recommend for romantic table for two or large group! great wine room also! A must while in Cabo!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.

Thank you for your high recommendations and beautiful description of your experience with us, your opinion is very important.We try our best every day to be the best restaurant in Cabo.!
Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

While in cabo we ate here twice. And i ate the same thing .. Prime rib and lobster tails. Mmmmm.. High cielings make the place look bigger but actually pretty big.. Excellents views of the arch.. Huge open windows gave a great breeze once the sun went down.. Staff very attentive.. Turned us on to don julio coffe tequilla .. If i stayed longer than 2 weeks and didnt want try all of cabo would have eaten here a third time

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rst4954, Guest Relations Manager at Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
¡Happy New Year!.. We´re sorry we took so long to respond.
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our menu at The Restaurant!
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta Vieja Restaurant/Bar Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.