We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo San Lucas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort
Save
You added Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7, Manzana 10, Punta Ballena, 23410, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Loveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Misiones resort. We rented a top floor room in building 4 thru vrbo.com. The resort is quiet, very well kept and beautiful. With pocket sliding doors that opened the full width of the room, the views and ocean sounds were incredible. Great place to relax and only a few miles from town. We rented a car and went into Cabo for boat cruises and dinner almost every day. Good burgers for lunch or early dinner at the pool bar. Sunset point restaurant is right on the property and has great sunset views but kind of expensive.

For the price, I don't think you can find a better place to stay in Cabo than Misiones.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    22
    12
    12
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here this past April and loved it so much we decided to rent another condo for our trip in Nov. We love it so much here we are looking to buy in Misiones now. If you like a clean quiet well maintaned property this is a great place - 5 minute drive to downtown and Wal-Mart. Costco just across the road. The only down side to this place is that the hotel is now closed. You can only rent condos here now.

Room Tip: Elevators only in 4 - the rest of the buildings have only stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed there in March 2011 and it was very nice, the hotel was very clean and the view was perfect, we booked the cheapest room and got upgraded once we got there to a better room, with small kitchen, living room, separate bedroom and nice bathroom, the view from the balcony was nice, the only not too good thing is that it has no beach, you can walk to the a close rocky beach were people use to surf.. Very nice swimming pool, we enjoyed our stay there.. We rented a car which I think was a good decision since the hotel is not very close to the avenue and you will need to take a cab to go to the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed here on a timeshare exchange March 4th-11th 2011.

Check in was easy. They tell you right up front that they clean the room once during your stay (They do bring towels and TP most days, however).

Resort was empty, I think people own down here and probably don't come very often. The pools were always clean. Both bars were generally setup but normally had no one at them. I felt bad for the bartender/cook. The drinks were normal priced but the food (tacos and omlettes) were way overpriced at $4 and $6.50 each respectively. The staff was very friendly though which made it better.

Everything was always clean, grounds crews were always working and keeping grass cut and watered.

Views were incredible of the arch and at sunset, there were constantly buses coming in and out with tourists to see the view. If you can make it up to Sunset Point or Sunset Da Mona Lisa at sunset, that is a must. Great staff.

There are two close beaches in walking distance. Monuments and....Cabo Bello? Monuments is rough and good for surfing/exploring. Cabo Bello is calmer but rocky and good for snorkeling. There are palapas there but you must BYOB and chairs/food/towels/everything.

Our only real complaints:

They use real keys to unlock the doors. If you lose them i'm sure there is a large fee. They only had 3 keys on the property for our room, and we had all 3. One night a small group came back and forgot a key and resorted to banging violently on our door to wake someone else up to let us in.

It isn't close to town and taxis in all of CSL are absolutely ridiculous. We bargained down to 200 pesos for 6 almost every time but they generally wanted $4 usd per person. The last few days we hiked the drive up to Hwy 1 and paid 8 pesos for the colectivo. That is roughly 60 cents folks. The colectivo passes Villa Serena and Cabo Bello then circles back towards down. Just tell them where you want to get off before you start to head north into downtown too far. This worked GREAT.

The Wifi only works in the reception area and is fairly slow.

We saw the prices for if we hadn't done an exchange and they were quite high for the location and level of service.

An entire case of bottled water was stolen from our room.

One day for about 16 hours we had no hot water.

The previous two were big for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens,ny
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I spend 2 weeks at Misiones in February. We rented 2 different condo's from owners from Vrbo. Both units were beautiful and well maintained with great views. It is a quiet resort with 2 pools and beautiful views of the arch and sunset. 2 miles from Wallmarts and about 3 miles from town. taxi's and buses reliable. Some great restaurants within walking distance and a fish truck that delivers fresh fish, lobster tails and shrimp on Friday's. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpella, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This was our second stay at Misiones through a private VRBO.com owner. We brought our friends with us this time and had a fabulous time! We love Armando and Sylvia, bartenders at the main pool. Everyone is so nice, from local expats to other visiting families. A lot of improvements have been made from upgrading the pool restrooms to adding palapas on the private beach and the market is now open, nice to have when you don't want to deal with running in to town for water, etc. The grounds are beautiful and very well taken care of. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone that has done the crowded resort thing and is looking for something...different. Also, make sure you do the hike from Monuments Beach through the desert to Medano Beach. It is a beautiful hike with a couple of secluded beaches. Very cool!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I just got back from my first stay at Misiones del Cabo. I stayed for a couple weeks. The resort is primarily owned by individual condomimium owners with about 10% time shares. It is set on a point about 4.7 kilometers from Cabo San Lucas set back on the ocean about 1/2 a mile off of Highway 1. There are two swimming pools at the resort one on the east side that has a swim up bar. Silvia and Armando are the bartenders with another lady making the food. They have a variety of tacos, tostadas, quesidillas and other snacks for lunch and omelets and other dishes for breakfast. The prices are reasonable $2 for chicken tacos, $6 for omelets. The drinks are five dollars for mixed drinks. not sure what the prices are for beer. I usually just bought a couple six packs and put them in my refrigerator. (All the units have airconditioning, color tv (cable), refrigerators and stove tops. Most of the units have washer/dryers. Almost every unit has either full ocean views or partial ocean views.

I stayed in two units over a couple of weeks. I stayed first at 1303 at small one bedroom with a great ocean front view. Nice facilities, washer/dryer, televsion, refrigerator. great deck with incredible views. No oven, just a cook top.

When my wife, my son and my daughter in law arrived I transferred to a gorgeous two bedroom unit #4201 with a partial ocean view, tennis court view and pool view. This unit has been recently remodeled with what looked like spanish tile. Two terraces once that seats two with a hammock for two and another with a dinning table for four with a barbecue. This unit had a refrigerator, oven, cooktop, washer/dryer, large flat screen tv in the living room with color tvs in each of the master suites along with individual bathrooms. The living room has a foldout coach with a full bed; both of the masters have king size sets.

You can walk down the stairs to beach on the south side of the resort. There is a small beach that has about six or seven palapas (permanent structures with palm fronds for shading. My son went snokeling with his wife and reported seeing several type of fish including small rays and puffer fish. You can walk up the spriral stairs to the Welks Resort that has a fine restaurant with a great view for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Right in front of the resort between the beaches are rocky tidepools with many critters including crabs and lizards. Make sure you bring suitable foot wear such as river socks/shoes to walk around these tide pools.

On the north side of the resort is the famous Sunset Mona Lisa Restuarant that has great views of lands end and Los Arcos. They serve excellent Italian cuisine. It is a little bit pricey but worth a dinner reservation at sunset for a little bit of romance. Also at the north end of the resort is the well know Monuments surfing beach. If you don't surf use the wouth beach it is closer and is more scenic.

At the entrance to the resort is a wonderful restaurant called Puerta Viegas. They serve lunch and dinner, great view, good prices, great!!! chile rellenos nice place for a romantic dinner. Also down highway 1 about a mile towards San Jose Del Cabo you will find the entrance to Villa Serena restuarant. This place has a great ocean view, excellent food, a pool for children and a small recreation facility for the children also. I like to come here for breakfast.

Sorry this review is so long but this is a great place the units rent for about $100 for a one bedroom to $150 for a two bedroom. There are some larger units for rent on the penthouse level that are considerably more. The best place to get rental info is the VBRO web site. You will need a car unless you take the bus or taxis. I always rent a car. There is a Costco and Home Depot with in a couple of miles and a Walmart about three miles away, all are on Highway 1 between Misiones Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. Have a relaxing stay! I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7, Manzana 10, Punta Ballena, 23410, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Misiones Hotel & Beach Cabo San Lucas
Misiones Hotel And Beach Resort
Misiones Resort Beach
Misiones Del Cabo
Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misiones Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.