We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. La Marina Lotes, | 37 y 38, Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Read this one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Cabo. This resort has great staff, Alejandro and Mario were exceptional. Their incredible sincerity and warmth during our stay really made us feel special. But of course they do it for everyone! If they were faking their amazing attitude they deserve an Oscar. Tip them well, they deserve it. They aren't the only goods ones there though, so be generous. One of the downsides is they close the Palapa bar by the pool at 6 pm. That was disappointing. But you can head out onto the expansive walkway of the Marina.

Being right at the Marina gives you instant access to lots of restaurants and bars. However, as many tourist places, be prepared to be bombarded by sales pitches from numerous locals. The key is to avoid eye contact and learning to say "Nada". Unless of course you want to go on one of the numerous activities. Daren talked to Luis just outside the resort and the four of us went on a smaller 26' catamaran boat for fishing and whale watching. Just the right size for four, it had two large outboards that gave us the ability to get around quickly. We were very lucky to have had a fifteen minute show of whales breaching very near us and also had an amazing experience with dolphins riding the bow of our boat. Oh ya, we caught a number of fish. Skip the sardine packed whale watching boats and go this route. It's worth the money.

All inclusive is the way to go here. The best restaurants right outside the resort are the Baja Lobster, Omono and Pesto's. Don't waste your time at Jack's as the service is very, very slow. Ask for Luis when you go to the Baja Lobster and get the flambe desert. We went so many times he asked me to help him on the last one! Get the strawberry and banana one at the same time, its a great show. Tell him CBC says hello. Maybe he will remember.

The other restaurant to go to is a bit of a hike and not included in the inclusive but well worth it. A fifteen minute walk, La Taverna is on the other side of the marina near the port authority. Its very small but Justo is a master chef who prepared our fish that we caught. WOW is the appropriate response. We all agreed that we ate a masterpiece made by an incredible artist. You may see other restaraunts that offer to cook your catch but I guarantee you wont get this. And if your lucky you will be served by Jimbo. Arguably the best server in Cabo and also a master of specialty coffee. BRING YOUR CAMERA...this is a showman at his finest.

BAD REVIEW We went to the number one rated Ediths. The service was the worst we had and the food was not worth the money. I was compelled to speak with the manager on duty about our server Carlos and was very diplomatic in my approuch but did not feel like he cared at all. Will never go there again and will tell everyone I run into that is going to Cabo.

Have a great time in a great place.

Hope you have a great time in a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    345
    114
    79
    53
See reviews for
206
406
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great people at Marina Fiesta Resort and Spa. My wife and I have visited there for 21 years escaping the harsh Twin Cities winters. Their friendly staff have always given us great service. The ambiance is unmatched in Cabo. Hats off to Lenin and his staff.

Larry & Patty Miskowiec
Fridley, MN

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our first time in Cabo, and we had a perfectly nice stay at the Marina Fiesta. We booked this hotel because of its central location, which paid off. We were able to safely walk to bars and restaurants - no car, no taxi - and the beach was a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. That said, the insanely pushy solicitors right outside the hotel (and on Medano Beach) got very old, very fast.

The hotel was a nice refuge from the tourist trappings. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our newly remodeled room was clean, comfortable, and had a small kitchen, so we were able to cook breakfast every morning (we didn't go with the all-inclusive). The pool was relaxing and warm (although strangely, one of the hot tubs was ice cold). Best part - we ended every night watching the sunset on the rooftop "Solarium" where the hot tubs were hot and toasty.

A quick note for those who have never been to Cabo before: it is surprisingly not very Mexican. In fact, it's like a cruise ship crashed into the Mall of America. Some people seem to be excited about the Super Wal-mart and the Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and the Johnny Rockets. We chose to explore more local places - which got annoying with all of the desperate sidewalk sales pitches. If you can, however, try Mi Casa. We had the best traditional meal there.

What truly saved Cabo for us was the natural beauty - just incredible! We went whale watching with "Cabo Dolphins" - highly recommend - and took a water taxi for a day on Lover's Beach / Pelican Island Beach. Definitely worth the $30. We should have done this every day because it was the quietest place in all of Cabo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I traveled here with my husband from Jan. 18th-Jan. 24th. It was amazing!! I loved that the food was at several different restaurants right below the hotel. It was great atmosphere and good food. The location was PERFECT. I was worried we would be too in the middle of things, but that is not how it is. There is still plenty of private or quiet places to be and if you want to go out everything is right there. I was also worried about not being ON a beach. The beach was less then a 5 min. walk. Very easy to get to. It wasn't a big deal at all. The room was beautiful and big. It has a fridge that they filled each day. Staff was mostly friendly. Pool was great, never too crowded. I really can't say enough good things.
I did have just a couple negatives. One is that after about 10 or so everything with the hotel is closed. So if you want to continue to eat or drink you have to go to a local bar or restaurant. Everything is close so it isn't a big deal, but it would have been nice to have the hotel bars open later and possibly have room service open 24 hrs. When you get back from the bars you want something to munch on and we had to plan ahead for that because everything at the hotel was closed. Second, they make you sign for EVERYTHING. This was annoying. I just wanted to eat and leave, but you had to wait for your "bill". We got chased down 2 times and they actually called our room to have us come back and sign. It was a pain, but I guess once you figure out the process you get used to it. It would be great if they changed that though.
Overall both my husband and I had a great time and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a king bed, they face the wall of the next building... not the view you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It has been 30 years since i have been to Cabo San Lucas.Wow, lots of changes but I thought it was great.This hotel has a great location,walking distance to most everything, shops,bars and the marina.The service was great, the staff was very helpful in helping answer all questions.Most all rooms have views of the pool area and the marina.The rooms are nice,has everything you need but we spent lots of time on the patio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaFiestaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We hope you come back soon and share your experience with your family and friends. Best regards from paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was my second time staying there. Great resort - right on the marina (literally 20 feet). No need to take a shuttle from the various resorts outlying the area to access Cabo. All inclusive means free drinks, free meals at the hotel and 5 offsite restaurants as well.

Room Tip: ask for marina / pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

All other people's positive feedback is accurate.
Location is great, staff are friendly and helpful. Wendy the concierge is particularly good.
This hotel could so easily become four star. Some fairly minor updates would do it.
I like the size of the resort. Not a huge impersonal hotel, rather mid-size with staff who are well trained to please. Great value for the cost.
Definitely a recommendation.

Room Tip: Request pool/marina view on second floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. La Marina Lotes, | 37 y 38, Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Fiesta Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Fiesta Resort And Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.