We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Timeshare Hustle Will Diminish Your Overall Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. La Marina Lotes, | 37 y 38, Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Timeshare Hustle Will Diminish Your Overall Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Own its own, the Hotel is 4-5 star but the relentless timeshare and attraction sales hustle really took away from the overall potential. From the second you get your luggage until the day you leave someone is trying to sell you something. Once you have your bags at SJD airport you have a choice to exit the airport as a local resident (to the left) or as a tourist (to the right). GO LEFT! You can get all transportation options either way. If you go right you walk into the teeth of money hungry sales people.

You will need $30 cash for two people to get to the hotel via shared shuttle or $70 cash for 1-4 people to go by private taxi. When I say "cash" I mean cash. Their credit card machines mysteriously won't process. In fact, even though many places claim to take credit cards most places only want cash.

All local attractions are very negotiable! Never pay posted prices. Negotiate with attraction directly to save 20-30%. They all pay commissions to street sales people. The only attraction we paid for was a sunset sailing cruise that was very fun and relaxing. Although you are technically on a sail boat, do not expect to see the sails being used.

I have an AT&T iPhone and added an international plan for voice, text and data. The total upgrade for the trip cost me $50 to insure no surprises. I paid $5.00 to get .59 a min instead of $1.00 per min, plus $10.00 for 50 outbound text messages and $30 for 120mb of data. I used 90mb even though the hotel had wifi.

The hotel requires you to wear a wristband the entire time of your stay. They might as well taped a $500 peso bill to my back. Even though the all-inclusive price "includes tip" you still should tip to get the best service.

Although most water is served in a bottle, me nor my wife had any issues from ingesting non-bottled water i.e. brushing teeth, shower etc.

The Google English to Spanish translation tool was very help in getting past words of phrases you may get stuck on while trying to shop.

Room Tip: We were in room 323 which is a Jr. suite. It had a great view of both the pool and Marina. The eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaFiestaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi TheRhyneFamily,
Thank you for reviewing Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa and sharing your feedback with our team. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we can improve in order to make our guests' experiences better.

We apologize for any inconveniences you were caused throughout your stay, as it is not our intention to make our guests feel uncomfortable when learning about our <<memberships>>. Should you wish to share any additional information regarding your trip please feel free to email us at BLANK EMAIL and a member of our staff will be in touch with you immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    304
    102
    70
    48
See reviews for
176
370
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location on the Marina. Quick access to fishing boats or fun to sit on the deck and watch the boats. The timeshare people are not very friendly if you do not attend their presentation but it is fun trying to get them to say hi to you after you have told them no. The Bell Boy, Antonio, was a lot of fun. He was very helpful and had a great attitude.

The room was great and always cleaned. The pool was cool which is good when in Cabo. Resort manager was very good to us when the Baja Lobster restaurant tried to ruin our vacation. Our least favorite thing was the Baja Lobster. Bad food, bad service, and an even worse manager. The resort does have a partnership with them but I do think the Baja Lobster does very little to help out the Marina Fiesta's reputation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My friend and I booked a 4 night stay in a junior Suite at marina Fiesta... Before leaving I got so nervous with all the bad reviews I was dreading going to the Resort... I have to say it is not the best Resort in Cabo by any means however, the people who worked and served us were the most helpful friendly people there. We totally loved our stay , the ATV boy Ivan was so entertaining he was able to get the crowd going with the music and having a blast while laying by the pool... The bell Boys Antonio, Isidro, and Jesus where totally helpful anytime we needed something. The resort is cost effective and you really get to enjoy your stay. I miss it already

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I can not say enough about this resort. People are so nice, resort is beautiful and in a great location. The food is amazing! I already have our next trip booked there and let me tell you I never go the same place twice but Marina Fiesta was so awesome we had to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a wonderful first experience and impression of Cabo! Everyone at the resort was very friendly, especially Rodrigo and Cesar, close to activities in downtown Cabo San Lucas, the beach, and enjoyed all the inclusive specials.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back from 5 days at Marina Fiesta, Cabo. The staff was etremely friendly and accomodating from the bell boy, Antonio to the front desk and the wait staff at the pool/restaurants. The all-inclusive package was a great deal and the food in the restaurants was very good. We had sushi for lunch daily!! The pool was lively and friendly (more 30 and 40 somethings than 20 somethings). The location was convenient. It's a short walk to the beach, downtown and great restaurants on the marina. The only downside to the trip was the tropical storm that rolled in our last night but, the folks at the Fiesta promise that they won't let that happen again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaFiestaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi Chris S,
Thank you for reviewing Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa. We’re happy to hear that you had an amazing five day stay with us and enjoyed the daily sushi for lunch. It sure is delicious! We're sorry for the tropical storm and we'll try to make sure it stays away during your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been to Cabo before although this is our first stay at Marina Fiesta. So long as there is a room available and an "All Inclusive" rate, there is no need to shop around. They have everything you want and especially for those going for a short stay. Location, Location, Location. But not just a great location, we experienced superb customer service at the front desk by the manager and our bell boys Carlos and I think the other one was Arturo. We tell everyone about our stay at this place and we no longer will go to Cabo every 2 years...more like twice a year if Marina Fiesta will have us!!! Tim and Anna McCarthy (1st Time Trip Advisory Rating)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaFiestaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi TimandAnna949,
We're so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time during your most recent vacation with us here at Marina Fiesta! Our staff is always available to make sure our guests are being accommodated and we thank you for pointing out their efforts. We always wish our guests could visit multiple times of the year and look forward to your many vacations with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. La Marina Lotes, | 37 y 38, Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Fiesta Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Fiesta Resort And Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.