We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ME Cabo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added ME Cabo to your Saves list
ME Cabo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa El Medano S/N, Zona Hotelera, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked an exchange through Interval International into the ME Cabo. We had seen the reviews and it looked like a fun place to stay. However, there were many things that turned this into a disappointing stay.

Immediately upon arriving in our room, we found numerous problems. The first was that there was a huge puddle of water on the floor, right in front of the refrigerator. The unit had stopped working and the little freezer portion had melted, causing the puddle on the floor. This was not something that could have occurred in the last few minutes; it had to have been not working for quite a while for all the ice to melt. Someone should have seen this puddle.

Next, we found that the safe was not working. When the maintenance man checked it, he said the batteries were dead. Not going dead, but totally dead. Once again, this is something that should have been noticed prior to releasing the room for occupancy.

We later found that the bathtub stopper was malfunctioning, and when you took a shower, the tub filled with water when it should have drained. Maintenance was unable (or unwilling) to fix the problem, so I took matters into my own hands and pulled the stopper out of the tub. Magic, it now drained!

Another issue was the simple quality (or lack of) of the room. First, it was quite small, even for hotel standards. There were only 2 of us, but it was very cramped just moving around the room. Second, the room was in drastic need of maintenance. The paint was chipped, the countertops were chipped and stained, and the whole room was in need of a makeover.

The next issue we encountered was that you were not allowed to take food or beverages into the pool area. Everything you consumed had to be purchased from them. That's not totally uncommon for hotels, but when you exchange a timeshare, being able to bring your own food and drinks is a major part of the timeshare experience. The food and drinks were decent, nothing spectacular, but was EXTREMELY expensive. Very disappointing.

The last issue we had was with a couple of bartenders. We ordered some margaritas from the pool bar, and when I gave the guy a $100 bill, he said that he didn't have change and couldn't take it. I told him that was all I had, so he was gonna have to get change. He made a big production out of having to find someone to get change for him, and I overheard him complaining to his co-workers (I speak enough Spanish to know what he was saying, and it wasn't pleasant!). After about 15 minutes he came back with change, laid it on the bar, and walked away. He didn't say "Here's your change", "Sorry for the delay", or anything else. Just sat it down and walked away. Well, no tip for you!!!

The bartender was an isolated incident, as we found the rest of the staff (especially the people working at the front desk and the front door) extremely friendly and helpful.

The resort is pretty, but not superb, like some neighboring resorts. The location is pretty good, right on the beach and an easy 5-10 minute walk into downtown Cabo. Overall, we would give the resort a 2 out of 5 rating. We would not recommend this hotel, as there are much better resorts in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecabo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ME Cabo, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Cdckc

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced and for not meet your expectations, I would also like to thank you for investing your valued time and letting us know all your comments and suggestions. We strive to constantly improve our quality of services and to do so thank you very much for you feedback.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    271
    125
    91
    105
See reviews for
67
444
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My sister and I chose to stay at ME Cabo for its proximity to the beach, restaurants, clubs and Nikki Beach - we were not disappointed and had a fabulous stay!
The hotel itself is located on a beautiful section of beach and is close to all the restaurants like "The Office" (not to be missed) etc. As we are more beach people than pool people, we really enjoyed the beach lounges and attentive beach service. The pool looked quite dirty and uninviting anyway.
Our room was beautifully appointed and very clean with a lovely balcony and exceptional view.
Overall, the hotel does look "tired" and in need of a spruce up, but all in all, we had a great time and would recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecabo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ME Cabo, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Bbriedis

We want to thank you very much for your positive comments! As other reviewers have mentioned, our great the location in the heart of Cabo San Lucas made ME Cabo one of Cabo’s favorite vacation spots.

Also we want to thank you for your feedback will help us to further improve our service.

I hope that you could give us the honor to host you again, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The perfect place to getaway, to unwind, relax and enjoy! Location is excellent, right on Medano Beach, walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and clubs. Service was exceptional. The rooms well furnished, spacious and comfortable.
Best staff we've ever encountered. Jorge, Eduardo, Alberto, Giovani and our concierge Mariel made our experience at the ME seamless. They were kind, helpful and willing to bend over backwards to accomodate any of our requests. Our check in was smooth, and all of our reservations and excursions were made effortlessly. They truly left us with memories to be cherished.
Food - everything we had from room service and on grounds was great.
Pool - Lots of fun, great music. good looking people
Drinks - Delicious, wide variety, strong!
Nightlife - Passions lounge - great music, dancing
Amenities - All there

We can't wait to go back!
Aakash n Richa

Room Tip: If you want quieter - choose higher floor, or corners. If you want to be in the party, choose a jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecabo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ME Cabo, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear ooavaoo

We are very Glad to know you enjoyed ME Cabo concept, the perfect match between the best parties in town, and place to relax with a sophisticated atmosphere with great location in the heart of Cabo San Lucas.
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments in general of ME Cabo. Specially the attention and friendliness of our staff Jorge, Eduardo, Alberto, Giovani and our concierge Mariel
It will be an honor to host you again, in the not too distant future, at su casa in Los Cabos.

Best Regards!
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Look to start off we had a great time while staying at ME CABO. From the reception through to the bartender, all were great, we got there on a Monday and was very quiet, which suited us at that time. We used the facilities but were disappointed with the service that we got from the restaurant so would not use it or recommend is as found the staff to be indifferent to their tables to the point of being rude. Jamie (bartender) was outstanding as was Shelia on front desk and Giovanni - concierge. Can laugh about it now but upon leaving the resort we got to the airport to find that my wife had left her passport in the safe, no one could locate it so after $160.00 round trip from the airport back to the resort I personally retrieved it from the safe after apparently three other staff had looked in the safe (did feel that they did not take it seriously enough even though it was our fault for leaving it in the safe). But overall a great resort, located well for walking into town or staying on the beach, would seriously consider it again when visiting Cabo.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecabo, Guest Relations Manager at ME Cabo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear jacejen

Thank you very much for your comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and delighted with your praise of our staff especially with the attention received for Jamie, Sheila and Giovanni they are more than happy to read your great remarks.
We really appreciate your valuable comments about the Restaurant services and your passport incident. We strive to constantly improve our quality of services and to do so thank you very much for you feedback.

It will be an honor to host you again in not distant future!
Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from a great trip to ME Cabo. Had stayed there twice previously but not for a couple years. Had read some mediocre reviews and was nervous to go back.

I was blown away at how great it still is. I would venture to say for young people or couples who like a good time there is no place as much fun in Cabo as the ME. Loud music, party atmosphere and cool sense of community are all around.

The service from the wait staff was always great and super friendly. Carlos, Heidi and Lewis by the pool took first care of us. The concierges (Mariel and downstairs guy with cool glasses!) were so attentive helpful and courteous. Made great reservations for dinner and arranged transportation for us. Also stopped by at the pool to make sure we we're having a good time. Even the pool concierge Hugo was super friendly! A+ for service!

The food was very good but the good thing about Cabo is there are so many great restaraunts that you get out and see the town and eat gorment off campus. Food wasn't bad at all though but we never ate a dinner there.

The location is the best due to being able to walk downtown or to restaraunts but still have the secluded beach.

I will definately stay here again! If you like fun you should too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecabo, Guest Relations Manager at ME Cabo, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Greg N

We thank you for selecting ME Cabo for your recent Cabo vacation! We really appreciate your preference and we are very glad to read your wonderful comments in general of ME Cabo. Specially the attention and friendliness of our staff Carlos, Heidi & Lewis ,Concierges Mariel Gio and Hugo our Pool Concierge.
Thank you very much for taking you valuable time to write such a detailed and abundant review! We are very pleased to know that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and that the room’s, the services and facilities, quality of food & beverage and OUR Privileged location at Medano Beach the best beach in Cabo, met or exceeded your expectations. Great!.

I hope that you could give us the honor to host you again, in the not too distant future.

Best Regards!
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My first trip to Mexico and Los Cabos, and ME hotel; but I've gone to Cuba and Dominican republic. That's a much better location. 5-10 minutes walk from clubs, great restaurants like "The Office" at the beach. Friendly staff who speak English well. Excellent room service, a real 5 star hotel with clean and spacious rooms. Only 2 restaurants in the hotel but there's lots Of options nearby! Adults only resort mainly 25 plus, couples and singles. Tourists are usually American or Canadian. Spa is perfect, gym is ok. Music is perfect on weekends with DJ which is mostly house music. I cannot wait to go there again, even I got some time sharing from Casa Dorada which is attached to ME Cabo.

Room Tip: Some rooms have in wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecabo, Guest Relations Manager at ME Cabo, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Amirkh

We are very Glad to know you enjoyed ME Cabo concept, the perfect match between the best parties in town, and place to relax with a sophisticated atmosphere with great location in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, made ME Cabo one of Cabo’s favorite vacation spots.

It will be an honor to host you again, in the not too distant future.

Best Regards!
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I took his daughter and friend to Cabo to celebrate her 30th birthday. I asked her to give me a list of what she'd like in a hotel, so I could find the perfect place and surprise her. First I did ask her if she'd like to stay in a luxury resort a little distance from town with its own beach. That would be a "no". In looking for a place that would be fun for very fun girls who wanted a lively pool scene, beach and walking distance to town coupled with our advanced 50's and 60 something ages was not easy. I read the reviews of Me Cabo and time and time again, came upon the reference of how this is not for the older crowd. In fact, that we'd be ignored. The other disturbing comments were about the out of control drunks, loud noise all night and rooms. we like our luxury lodgings. Hence, the surprise.
Med Cabo was a huge success for the four of us. My step daughter, whom I adore, and her friend loved the place. We got them the Nikki Suite while we got the corner suite with an expansive patio. Our room was very very quiet (I wake up so easily). The rooms were beautiful and in the perfect location. The pool was very lively and service was fantastic. We had such a great time meeting her and her friend down by the pool every morning. First it was breakfast on our patio for the four of us late morning. Again, we'd meet for drinks on our patio before heading out to dinner together each evening. The view was stupendous!
This trip was so much fun. We spent so much time together which was a nice surprise. It was perfect for walking into town every day. David, the manager, made arrangements for dinner, zip lining, spin class , champagne - cabana - he did it all!! We couldn't have had a better time with the girls and each other. We loved our suite, they loved their room and being right by the pool and all the entertainment and action. It was a short distance - few minute ride into town after dinner where we had a great time dancing each evening. While I agree, no way would I bring young children here or even younger teenagers, this is the perfect place for young adults. If you are making it a special occasion for that young person in your life, come here. Get the luxurious suite away from the noise and have some fun. Save Ventana for just the two of you. We were told over and over again how this was the perfect place and how much fun they had by the girls. Worth it!

Room Tip: If you are not a young party person wanting to go wild all day and night, spend the extra money and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecabo, Guest Relations Manager at ME Cabo, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Terrie K

We want to thank you very much for your awesome comments and great feedback! And for give us the opportunity to prod what ME Cabo really is about in your own words a GREAT SURPRISE. David was more than happy to be at your service and very glad to know you had a great time.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at su casa en Los Cabos!
Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ME Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Cabo

Address: Playa El Medano S/N, Zona Hotelera, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ME Cabo 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the finest stretch of beach, as one of the premiere Cabo San Lucas resorts, ME Cabo resort steps down to the sea, its 155 rooms and suites arranged in a terraced embrace of free-form pools and gardens, Bali beds and sunshine. Well known for being a midweek Lounge hotel & a hip-sexy-cosmopolitan weekend Party Hotel Me Cabo holds a cool hypnotic groove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Splendia, Melia, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your ME Cabo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Cabo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia San Lucas
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Me Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Hotel Melia San Lucas
ME Cabo Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ME Cabo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.