We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Cabon trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Marina Lotes 9 y 10 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    438
    339
    153
    104
See reviews for
222
555
112
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Wyndham for 2 nights Jan 18-19 from our stay in San Jose. We took a local bus and found our way to Cabo San Lucas. When we first got to the Wyndham, check in was fast but we were quickly approached with Timeshare people. We refused all invitations and went on our way. Our room was 354. The view was facing the Marina... awesome! The room was very small but the bed and bedding was the most luxurious from all the hotels we visited in different parts of Mexico. The only issue we had, which took us a while to figure out was when we turned on the air conditioning a bad sewage smell would fill the room. Thankfully we were out most of the time and we were only there for 2 nights, we also left our patio door open!

Breakfast was included but nobody told us to go downstairs in the lighthouse restaurant for our free breakfast so for the next 2 morning we went to eat upstairs on the rooftop for $5 US each which wasnt too bad (Sundays are more expensive because they give you Champagne) The rooftop patio and pool was very nice and clean. Cabana beds cost $50 US for the day but there are plenty of lounge chairs for free.

All and all it was very good and we would return to the Wyndham because the location is great and the price is good. We would also change room if we smelled sewage!

Room Tip: Facing the Marina for a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, RDM; jmeza@wyndham.com at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I am appreciative of the reviewers feedback, it is through such feedback that we can continue with our ongoing Excellence in Service Program, we will heed the reviewers kind feedback in order to enact improvements in these areas. We appreciate the reviewers patronage and hope to host him again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We traveled as a couple the last week of January from Toronto via Air Canada.
We arrived at the airport around 7pm. The number one lesson from that airport is that you immediately run into timeshare people who disguise themselves as your tour representative. Just walk a little further outside and you will get the right people.
We arrived at the hotel around 8pm.
Check in was easy, but we had to find our own rooms and carry our own bags. Our room was on a floor with a huge flight of stairs just to get to our door. My wife phoned the front desk and requested a room without stairs to the entrance.
We got another room within 15 minutes, again having to lug our own luggage around.
The new room was much larger and turns out better location. View of the marina and closer to the pool.
We went for dinner that night in town and easily found a nice meal for a good price.
The next morning we went down for breakfast.
We were bombarded by the timeshare lady in the lobby. She was relentless!
Then we went for breakfast at the place where it was included. It was horrible! The food and service was so bad, I figured they did it on purpose so people wouldn't eat their free breakfast.
We ate there the next day just to see if it was bad on that given day, but it was bad again. Best word to describe, putrid! Go upstairs and pay the extra 5 dollars and you will see where they put the time and effort in.
The breakfast and timeshare lady where the major negatives.
The pool was beautiful and clean. Sometimes the whirlpool would stop but they would fix it fast.
The hotel itself was nice and clean, upgraded!
The room itself was clean. We always had hot water, good pressure.
No bathtubs, just a shower.
The most positive about this hotel? The location to everything in town.
The further away from the marina, the better the prices!
One thing we noticed is that when the cruise boats came in, the prices shot up. The shops and restaurants on the pier even have different price boards for that occasion.
We loved Cabo, liked The Wyndam, hated the timeshare lady. (we actually saw a timeshare guy closing a deal to a senior, 86 years old)
If you want to explore, be close to town and not on the beach, this place is good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, RDM; jmeza@wyndham.com at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I thank the review for his generally positive review and truly regret the apparent fact that in this instance, we did not meet the needs and preferences of this particular patron in our F&B Outlet, we offer our most sincere apologies for this and for the alleged aggressiveness of our sales representatives. We will act in consequence of this important feedback to enact improvements in these areas. I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and can assure you that upon your return you will see the improvements which you have helped shape with your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed one full month with a 9 months old baby and we had a WONDERFUL time. The people working in the hotel are very friendly and do a good job trying to change the previous "Tesoro" into a proper Wyndham. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, here you get only the basics, but with excellent value.

The downside of it was the timeshare people but that is not part of the hotel, even though they are located in a spacious office close to the entrance of the hotel... We got into two presentations, just for the free stuff. If you are there for a month like we were, it really is worth it, unless you end up buying some timeshare ! If you are there for less than two weeks, don't even bother, it will make you angry that you lost so much time with these guys. And believe me, they don't take no for an answer. And it doesn't last "only two hours" like they say, but the entire morning. Anyway. We got some good deals after all, like a car location at 28$/day and some free boat trips.

The best of best of the hotel is the pool, newly renovated, with GREAT staff, and GREAT set up. We actually enjoyed the pool at least two times a day with our baby boy, morning and late afternoon. It was perfect, even when they tried to "pimp" it during the weekends, with loud techno music and lots of young partyers hanging around the jaccuzzis. The music was actually very good and seeing those guys was funny!

The location is abolutely fantastic. We went out in the city everyday, with the stroller, during the whole day. If you are staying at the hotel, you might want to do your grocery since there is a small kitchen in every room. The best place is the El Gallo supermercado, just two blocks behind. It's hard to find but you can ask anyone that is not a tourist and he or she will know... The other places are very expensive and further away.

My favorite staff : Alex from the pool staff and the nice lady who cleaned our room. They were both always helpful and friendly.

We would definitely go there again, if we were the kind of people to go twice at the same place. Yep, we like to travel!

Room Tip: Of course, in this hotel you HAVE to get a room with a view on the marina. For me it was the most be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, RDM; jmeza@wyndham.com at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are so pleased that MarijoLanglois chose the Wyndham Los Cabos for her one month visit to Cabo and thank her for having submitted her kind review. We are glad we were able to provide a WONDERFUL time, that she found our staff friendly and truly enjoyed our newly renovated pool . We strive to offer excellence in Service and Guest satisfaction is our main concern. We value greatly your review and repeated patronage. We are looking forward to host you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham. They have just purchased this property and making improvements all the time. We had a "bay front" room with a wonderful view of the marina. The suite was simple with a balcony and comfortable beds. Air conditioner worked well, WiFi was a little spotty and kept going in and out but over the course of a week was OK. The location is great if you want the marina as your destination. Many great restaurants and the mall within a quick walk from the hotel. They do have a great pool area but the lack of a beach was the only thing that keeps me from giving this top marks. It was our first trip to Los Cabo and this was a good place to camp out and get the feel for what is here. It appeared the hotel will be catering to Spring Breakers in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, RDM; jmeza@wyndham.com at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are pleased that the reviewer enjoyed her stay at the Wyndham Los Cabos, we thank her for having submitted her kind review. We strive to create memorable experiences for our valued guests and truly appreciate her patronage, we will most certainly heed her valuable comments regarding our WiFi in order to enact improvements in accordance with our pursuit of excellence in service. We do not have a beach as described in our Web site, we are a Marina Hotel, nevertheless we compensate this with our brand new renovated great pool. Looking forward to host the reviewer again. Please feel free to contact me directly for I would like to personally oversee your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Awesome experience, the people who work down at this hotel is very polite and helpful i will definately return for an other fishing experience and enjoy to stay again at the Wyndham hotel, I want to thank everyone especially the front desk staff they are always there for you with a big smile on their face.. Thank you again

Room Tip: In the middle of the action
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, RDM; jmeza@wyndham.com at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are excited that Mark G had an awesome experience at the Wyndham Los Cabos. We thank him for his valuable feedback and for having submitted his kind review. We specially appreciate his assessment of the service provided by the Front Desk. We sincerely hope to welcome him again in the near future as we value greatly the reviewers patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We love this hotel and it gets better every year. Right on the marina and walking distance to everything we desire to do. Lots of places to eat and be entertained. Activity is happening all the time. Love it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamCSL, RDM; jmeza@wyndham.com at Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are very pleased that repeat guest Jane A is happy and noticed the undertaken effort to provide a better stay every year at with the Wyndham los Cabos, We thank her for her valuable feedback. We strive to create memorable experiences for all our valued guests and truly appreciate Jane A´s comments and patronage, looking forward to host her again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort

Address: Blvd. Marina Lotes 9 y 10 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Cabo San Lucas offers the perfect location for the active traveler, with panoramic views of our beautiful marina and the Sea of Cortez, the city center and a beautiful desert landscape in one of the world’s most beautiful and exclusive tourist destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Costa Real Cabo San Lucas
Tesoro Cabo San Lucas
Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.