We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bell Captains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San ramon
1 review
“Bell Captains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

If you need a recommendation for local dining, be sure to talk with Bell Captains Ivan, Dago or Edgar; they will steer you in the right direction! They all speak excellent English and will send you to some delectable dining spots where the locals frequent. They will let you know the cost of cab fare so you'll always know in advance what your cab fare should be. These guys work very hard and don't make much money, so a modest 10 peso tip will surely be appreciated...and rewarded with more awesome recommendations!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are pleased to know that members of the staff assisted you during your visit and provided you with exceptional service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your next vacation.
Sincerely,
Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    663
    732
    314
    218
    139
See reviews for
622
731
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

we own a fixed unit on the seventh floor,we love our room location and the floor plan.it does need some real updating,the room and the resort,but we keep coming back for a great time in cabo.i really have to commend the whole staff.our room gets cleaned nicely every day,the front desk staff is very nice,and the servers are especially nice.one server really stood out to us.he is a pool/beach server and his name is norman.he is really a top notch server with a super attitude at all times despite the very hot days he just took care of us and others to the max.he handles large groups or just a couple like us very professionally.he has a vast knowledge of the area and gave us some great and useful info about activities such as a turtle preserve on the pacific side.we went there and enjoyed it very much.thanx a lot norman.i hope he is still there when we return again in october.and we will be back.ken and mary from oregon

Room Tip: just insist on ocean view.they should'nt even have those rooms facing the paking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and that Norman and other members of the staff provided you with the quality and service level you had come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Best regards,
Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The best part about staying at VDP/Cabo is getting off the property. We took an amazing whale tour with Pancho Panza....reasonable price and very experienced guide with personal service. No sitting with 25 others on a banana boat. Good food and fun at Desparados and Salomon's Landing. A day at Lover's beach allowed us to relax and catch our breath from the frustration we were experiencing at the resort.

As a time share "member" with the Villa group for 5 years, I previously experienced the benefits of membership. By far the best place to stay within VDP is the Flamingos resort in Nuevo Vallarta. There the service is outstanding, the resort is impeccably clean and the entertainment is fun.

Visiting the Cabo property changed everything. Our one week stay at VDP/Cabo was by far the worst vacation I have ever taken. It was supposed to be a celebration of birthdays, Christmas and college graduation. Rather than a celebration it turn out to be a aggravation and frustration.

Prior to arriving, I notified the time share folks that I was very concerned about having chosen the Cabo location because of all the BAD reviews I read on Trip Advisor. They assured me (in writing) that we would be treated with the best possible service and room amenities. So much for any value of commitment from management and the group.

When we arrived, we were given a room directly below the time share sales office whose schedule goes like this: 7AM - the sales secretary arrives wearing her stilettos and paces back and forth overhead until the rest of the staff comes in. Promptly at 7:30 AM they begin their sales pep rally with fight music and rally cries of motivation for the days ahead. Not sure what goes on up there during the night, but there was a lot of moving and noise through out the night.

Pool and restaurant staff was non-existent. We had to get our own drinks, ask for coffee multiple times and even made several requests to have broken glass cleaned from the pool area.

We were deceived when it came time to book tours...pricing was never what was promised. Shuttle service when up from the time we arrived until we left (7 days) even though, again, the membership people quoted us the price in advance.

Entertainment....ahhh....if you like bad Kareoke....this will be for you. EVERY night there was some type of entertainment where the decibel level of the show rocked thru the walls. There was no such thing as sitting out on the balcony to enjoy the sound of the surf. With our patio door closed, the sounds till boomed thru the building from 7-9:30 PM.

And what a fond farewell we received....the stench of backed up sewerage for 3 days. Somehow the thought of tropical flowers and salt sea air was only a dream as we walked thru the property that reeked of sewage.

If you've made it this far, you must be asking if there's anything good about staying at VDP/Cabo. What we found is that the staff that didn't rely on our money, was wonderful. Martina our housekeeper and the bellman were kind, caring and wanting to be of service. The water/beach was very clean.

Decide for yourself. But I'm still kicking myself for not trusting what I read on Trip Advisor. I should have believed what I read.

Happy and safe travels to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We came here on an e-mail special as an "all inclusive" trip. Typically we are very skeptical of such things but decided to give it a shot. Getting through the airport was the first challenge as there were various other reps from other resorts trying to lure you away from your intended resort. We called this the "shark tank" as you feel like a piece of bait here. We did find our intended bus driver and made it to our destination where we were met by a del Palmar rep and we were given our ocean view room aka junior suite or studio as well as our wrist bands which identified us as all inclusive guests of the resort. We thought the room was very nice and came with a small kitchen. Less than a mile from the resort is a Wal Mart and Sam's club so if one was not inclusive they could get their food and beverages and be just fine. The resort has various pools and hot tubs for your use and pool side service at all of them. We arrived on a Sunday anxious to find a place to watch the playoffs and was again pleasantly surprised to see a sports bar with numerous televisions to watch the game. While the bar was pretty full we had no problem finding great seats and were served our drinks and meals while enjoying the game. Of note, everyone we encountered be it staff or guests during our six day stay seemed very happy which led to the overall positive atmosphere of the resort. We would have issue recommending Villa del Palmar to any of our friends and family wanting a Cabo vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are also glad to know that the staff provided you with exceptional service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your next visit to Cabo.
Cordially,
Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It does need updating but still in good condition. The staff is very nice.

The pool staff is awesome. Good drinks and the food at the outdoor restaurant is wonderful

Great views Great Beach

Met lots of new people

Room Tip: ask for ocean view in the garden because it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you once again soon.
Sincerely,
Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel needs some serious updating, starting with the rooms they are dark and smelly! Originally, I was suppose to stay at El Arco, however the rep said that there were no rooms available. Five days before departing I so on Expedia that there were rooms available. I offer to pay and my payment was not accepted. The money I had paid in advance was not refundable. I had no choice but to stay there. I must say the staff (Jose Reyes, Jairo, Paula, Mayra) at the pool, beach were awesome. Once I told them what happen, they did everything to make my stay better. Overall I do not recommend this property nor do I plan to come back and stay here! Yes beware!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are sorry to learn that we were not able to fulfill your expectations and for the inconvenience you encountered before your visit. Please, do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenient we caused to you. We truly hope that on your next vacations you could give us the opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay at Villa Del Palmar a memorable experience.
Cordially,
Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel needs some serious updating, starting with the rooms they are dark and smelly!
We are gold members with villa del palmar group going on 10 years and this is my last time staying at this Location for many reasons, starting with the floor plan, we got a 2 bedroom.
The floor plan does not work the rooms don't get enough light, the bathrooms smell like mildew.
The sofa bed is very comfortable, the mattress is very thin.
I made several complaints to the front desk, I ask if they could move us their new resort next door.
They said they are booked and can't move us ( I can't believe we have to to stay here for the whorl week! )
Also we went for an update ( time share update ) I was hoping by that for us going to their horrible presentation they will move us. Instead he wanted more money from us and no breakfast!
They gave us so call continental breakfast after we walk around the property for over an hour, my two yes ended up leaving because the kids were hungry and could no longer concentrate on their boring presentation.
Overall I do not recommend this property nor do I plan to come back and stay here!
Yes beware!

Room Tip: Please don't stay here, instead stay at villa del Los Arcos! It's newer clean and fresh not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We offer you our most sincere apologies for not providing you with the quality and service level you deserve. Rest assured that actions will be taken in order to correct any service issue and provide our valuable guests and members a memorable experience. We truly hope that you could give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and change this past experience.
Respectfully,
Jorge Herrán
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.