We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I just spent our anniversary at Palmar in Cabo. Our room was very nice and the service for the room was excellent - very friendly staff. The location of the Palmar is excellent with beautiful views of the beach and the rocky arch. It is also fairly close to town. We had the all-inclusive which is definitely a good deal. Breakfast and/or lunch at the Bella California is wonderful. The buffet dinners were ok but not fantastic. The concierge staff and the outdoor service staff are fantastic - very helpful and friendly. While we were there one of the pools was under repair but was finished just as we left. All in all we thought Cabo was a great vacation spot and the Palmar was a very fun way to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We would like to thank you for having choosing Villa Del Palmar as the ideal place to spend such special occasion. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff offered you with the level of service you deserve. We hope that on your next vacations you would give us the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,002
    386
    237
    147
See reviews for
882
1,003
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We make an annual trip to Cabo and have stayed at Palmar all but one time. Reviews that are speaking about rooms that have inoperable a/c, "odors", etc., are most likely part of a timeshare exchange or perhaps purchased off a wholesaler. "Owners" have very nice accommodations and great service. I have had both experiences - exchange and ownership. As I have seen posted - this is not a 5-Star resort but it is a nice place to stay and relax.

The Palmar is a favorite because there are more activities on the property than you will find at the sister property although you are free to use pools and other amenities on either property. "Liz" at poolside is an absolute joy to be around and, quite frankly, all of the staff at the pools and entertainment venues are a lot of fun and do what they can to help you have a great time.

I don't recommend the all inclusive option because I think you can have a much more enjoyable and cost efficient trip by trying restaurants in Cabo as well as the Palmar buffets. If you drink large amounts of alcohol, maybe the all inclusive will be good for you.

You can walk to the shopping and entertainment area - 20 minutes tops or take a cheap cab ride (keep in mind the drivers may or may not stop at stop signs and lights). Jet skiing on the Sea of Cortez is awesome! There is much to do but I'm all about playing tennis (courts and pro on-site), sitting by the pool and walking to "town" for dinner in the evening. I book my next trip before I end the last one.

Room Tip: I think when you book online through a wholesaler (Priceline, etc) you are going to get what you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the resort with other. We are glad to know that your stay with us was more than pleasant. We look forward to your next visit and to make your stay a memorable experience.

Best regards,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the the Palmar. This is not a 5-star, 4 Seasons type resort. If that is what you are expecting, you will be disappointed. However, my wife and I went in with no illusions and were very pleasantly and happily surprised. We had the 'all inclusive' deal (SOOO worth it). Breakfast buffet each morning (made to order omelettes and excellent chilaquiles) had more than enough variety not to be repetitive after 5 days. Lunch could be had either in the restaurant or brought to your chaise lounge by the pool. Dinner at the ocean-front restaurant was good for a couple nights, but as expected, we went in to town for a couple dinners as well, just to change it up.
I read earlier reviews about 'weak' or 'watered down' drinks... I must disagree. All of the drinks were great (sometimes too strong) and waiters and bartenders were fantastic and hard working. I never really waited to be served, and somebody was always asking if I was OK, or if I needed anything. Yes, I had the 'all inclusive' wristband on, but I still tipped a couple / few bucks here and there and I believe that goes a long way towards good service anywhere.
Overall, we had a very nice experience, at a VERY reasonable price. The Palmar is is bit old, especially if you compare it to the Los Arcos down the beach (the newer property). But we spent about 20 minutes a day in our room, when not sleeping, so it was not an issue. The staff was great, the food was pretty good, the grounds were clean, the pools were nice and the view(s) could not be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and to make Villa Del Palmar your Home away from Home.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We vacation SEVERAL times a year. We have been to Cabo San Lucas twice this year and I was NOT impressed with Villa del Palmar. The rooms had a terrible odor. Our air was not working. We moved rooms TWICE during our stay and still had several problems. We had no hot water for several hours. The pools were all disgusting. Full of hair and grime in the water. It was nasty. We own through the Villa Group and I was embarrassed because we brought 4 couples with us and we were very let down by this property. The food inside the bar area was bad, my burger came out basically raw. It was an overall bad, horrible, no good experience for us and the other 4 couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we offer you our most sincere apologies for not providing you with the quality and service level you have come to expect. Do believe action are been taken to correct any service issue. We hope that in the future you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back and change this past experience.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by Naomi she was very helpful. Monica our concierge was very sincere and straight forward with her intention without pressure. Liz at the pool side restaurant was wonderful to us. And Sunny at the theme dinner was a great host/waitress.
We enjoyed the convenience of what the property had to offer. They have a onsite grocery store, deli and arcade. No cash policy was a little of an inconvenience, you pay at the end of your stay. We strongly recommend the all inclusive, well worth your money. If you prefer to go non inclusive you do have the option of going to Walmart or Sams Club across the street to stock up on food and drinks.
Overall the property was beautiful and pleasant. However due to it being off season they did have some construction/maintenance going on, which was noisy at times.
To the manager please get the morning chief some shade. Seeing her hot, sweaty and uncomfortable is unappetizing.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom on the 7th floor, room 2704. Great view of the resort and ocean. Wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We thank you for comments and observations. Do believe they will not go unnoticed. We hope that on your next vacations you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay at Villa del Parmar. It was the first half our vacation (the remainder spent at the sister resort, del Arco). What a great start to a fantastic vacation.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Perilla at the front desk. She was kind, gratious - and very patient with 5 guys who couldn't wait to get to the pool and claim a beer inhand. As we were checking in, Silva also greeted us from the member services group (yes, we are UVC vacation club members - 8 years and still enjoying it), gave us a quick run down on the resort, and we were off.

This resort became known to us as the "fiesta" resort - always something happening. That was due, in great part, to the awesome treatment afforded us by this very gracious and accommodating staff.

The resort is undergoing some major improvements - many of the websites out there still carry the older pictures of the resort. This is still a work in progress, and we had what I understand to be one of the older rooms. Despite the fact that the resort is older, however, it is very well maintained and to us, it was gem.

We slept 5 in a two bedroom/sofabed room. With 3 separate bathrooms, it was more than spacious for our needs. Our only disappointment was that the room did not have inroom laundry. There is, however, laundry service provided, or, if you prefer, a laundry facility onsite. Other than that, the rooms were large, very clean, with VERY strong air conditioning (which felt good on a couple very, very sweltering days). I found the beds particularly comfortable. And the housekeeping staff did a fantastic job keeping our home away from home spotless throughout our stay.

Along with the room rennovations, there was some pool work going on (the maintenance is meticulous here). It may have been a little noisy at times, but we were never inconvenienced. We were too busy enjoying the company of the new friends we'd meet each day by the pool. The guests here were exceptionally friendly. It was a great mix of families, singles, older adults, friends traveling together, and couples. My partner and I really enjoyed meeting folks from around the country - especially the girls from Las Vegas and our new friends from Washington State.

The food was excellent. We really enjoyed the Italian restaurant - great offerings and reasonably priced. But we really enjoyed our poolside service in the afternoons. They can customize any desired wood-fired oven pizza you could conjure up. And the seared Ahi tuna salad was fantastic.

The service was exceptional. Countless thanks to our friends who took tremendous care of us at the pool. We never went thirsty. It would be difficult to imagine service better than what we received from Angel, Enrique, and Norman - they were simply the best. Always swift, always with a smile, and genuinely concerned that we enjoyed our time by the pool. And from what I remember of those afternoons, while indulging the all-inclusive package, we did - time and time again. There are many others who were very attentive to us - I wish I could remember each an every name. That's what makes it difficult - usually there are one or two folks who make your vacation memorable. Here, each of the folks who catered to us poolside, on each day of our stay, no matter how many times we ran them back and forth in our party of 5 (which could be very demanding after a long day of drinking) - they met our needs with a smile, greeted us each day by name, and made us feel as if we were a welcome guest in their home.

During this week, tropical storm Lorena decided to pay a visit. The hotel staff didn't miss a beat. From the maintenance staff, to housekeeping, to food and bar staff, the front desk, and the entertainment staff - everyone one of the folks we encountered made certain to make that day appear as nothing but normal - as they went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable day.

That brings me to that entertainment staff - Roberto, Chewey, Rolfi, and the rest of the crew - great job! Each day, morning till night, they kept the resort humming. Water volleyball, poolside shows, theme night shows, games - we had a blast. Bingo? Can't tell you when the last time was I played bingo poolside at a resort - or enjoyed it with a rowdy crowd as I did here.

As I mentioned earlier, we are UVC club members - which includes this and the del Arco resorts. We typically don't attend presentations but every couple years. Not everyone vacations the same way - but this membership works for us. I'd be remiss if I didn't acknowledge four folks who treated us exceptionally well during an owner update (so much so that we upgraded our membership). Hugs out to newest friends Sandy and Megan. And thank you Jason and Manny for helping us pull it all together. Next time I promise to make it out for Karaoke night at one of the local hangs - I'll avoid an afternoon of musical chairs at the pool to ensure I'm ready to go (funny, I don't remember tequila being a part of that game as a child...)

We really enjoyed this stay. Thanks to the remarkable staff for a very enjoyable vacation. Can't wait to see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
On behalf of the entire Villa Del Palmar team, we thank you for the time spend to share your experience at the resort with others. Your comments are valuable to us. We look forward to your next visit at your Home away from Home.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultan, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent four wonderful nights at Villa del Palmar. Had a lovely room on the second floor that was very comfortable, quiet, and convenient to everything. The wait staff was outstanding. We were treated like VIPs although we were just there on cheap tickets from CheapCarribean.Com. The food was first class and plentiful, the drinks were great, and the entertainment was enjoyable. I would like to commend two members of the wait staff especially. In the sports bar, Santago does an outstanding job and in the Tortuga Restaurant Veronica does and especially commendable job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We thank you for having shared your wonderful experience at the resort. We are glad that this two members of the staff provided you with the level of service you deserve. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.